This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba

Reviews of Chitabe Lediba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Lediba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Lediba.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

80% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

White Rhino

40% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs A
Northants.

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2011
"Superb accommodation and food, with really friendly and professional staff. We were really made to feel at home at this camp and absolutely loved the experience.

Expert guiding from Tuso (and work experience trainee Andrew) with a real willingness to seek out great game sightings without worrying how long the game drive was taking.

A great variety of terrain and habitat meant animal and bird sightings were really varied." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
W Yorks

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2011
"Our second camp was similar in size to our first camp but was very different both in luxury and experience.
We were met from the airstrip by the camp manager Jack, a larger than life character, who was a fantastic host who was full of stories and hospitality and who remained that way throughout our stay.

The camp had 5 tents but during our stay, only 3 were full. Chitabe had just been refurbished and it showed, with the tents having good design and finished to a high standard. Useful assecories like plug sockets and refillable water bottles were included. The weaknesses of Little Kwara were not in evidence here, with good natural light entering the tent and the outdoor shower being uncovered, with nice views of the surrounding area, whilst remaining private.

Staff were friendly and formal but lacked the family touch of the previous camp which led to a lesser but still a nice experience. Food was not as tasty or served as homely compared to Little Kwara. An evening meal in the Boma was a nice touch and lots of effort from camp staff made for a good evening.

The whole camp was built on stilts providing a safer environment but lost the sense of being in the wild a little because of it. The 'loo with a view' was stunning and watching an Elephant less than 10 metres away from it was surreal.

Game activities were game drives only and our guide was Ebes. The volume and variety of game was impressive and the terrain allowed much easier game viewing providing us with our best sightings, especially of Leopard and Cheetah of the whole trip. However the drives were not as fulfilling or as enjoyable as game drives experienced at the Kwando camps.

Game drives were at a much slower pace and despite the amazing sightings, we were left with a feeling of 'could have been so much better' due to unneccesary pauses in the drives, for example on more than one occasion we viewed Kudu from a far distance (over 100 metres away) when we had seen them earlier at much closer distance.

Our guide was a keen and talented bird watcher (his tracking of a Pels fishing owl was amazing) and despite having no keen twitchers on the Jeep, tried to to instil a bird watching mentality to the drives. This would have been acceptable, if there had been no signs of game around, but this was not always the case. A reluctance to go off road and track an animal, unless a visual had been ascertained was frustrating compared to what we had witnessed at other camps.

Brilliant sightings but one brilliant sighting was tainted by our guide leaving a leopard sighting to go look for his lense cap! Whilst the other vehicles followed the amazing cat we stayed still to search the vehicle for the missing camera equipment.

Overall, we enjoyed Ebes friendly and infomative guiding style and on other trips would have been raving about the sightings we saw whilst with him but unfortunately we were spoilt by the determination of the guides at the other camps to go that extra mile.
In summary the camp facilities were the best we stayed at during our trip and we enjoyed our experiences whilst at Chitabe" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"Chitabe Lediba review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2010
"We were only at Chitabe Lediba for 1 night because Chitabe main camp could not take us for all 3 nights. We had been to Chitabe Lediba in 2009 and my comments remain the same - great concession for game, especially predators, guides knowledgeable and friendly, staff welcoming and good food.

My only negative comment is the camp itself. We were told that it is due to be refurbished in 2011 and it needs it. Compared to the rooms at Chitabe main camp, the rooms at Lediba look very tired and the bathrooms are not the cleanest. Given the choice, I would stay at main camp until Lediba has been refurbished." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Dartmouth

"Marvellous game at Chitabe"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2010
"A relaxed, small and friendly camp with excellent game.

We saw 8 leopard incl cubs, on the ground and in the trees with their kill, 8 lion incl cubs, a cheatah and loads of elephant, kudu etc and a llarge herd of Buffalo" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Chitabe Lediba or Chitabe Minor?"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"Our final camp on which we lavished 4 nights. Game viewing was outstandingly good and the, incomplete, list of wonders included mating leopards, parent and young giant eagle owl in daylight, mud bathing bull elephant, a fresh lion kill, bat eared foxes and several hyenas......... In addition the bird photography opportunities were fantastic. However, like Jacana, the rooms are small by Classic standards and again the bathroom was open plan with a singe basin. One consolation was that it was in the netted area. They are to be updated this winter but to what?

A major missing item was a universal charging point in the room. There was a socket but to neither UK nor South African standard. This limitation is overcome in other camps by providing a universal adapter in each room as was available in the central lounge area. Our main criticism lies with the seeming subordinate nature of the camp to Chitabe Main. Our managers seemed to come and go. I think we had 4 in our 4 days. In addition Main seemed to be short of guides so our guide spent a lot of time popping into Main to pick up and deliver 2 guests who had no guide. One of the reasons we choose the smaller camps is that one seldom has 6 people in the Landrover. 10 guests means at least 2 guides for the camp and in theory never more than 5 in the vehicle. Due to the Main camp refugees we had 6 in our vehicle for most of our 4 days. Irritating with constant safety briefings and waiting for late comers but since the guides were not available not a matter for on the spot complaint. Lediba is sold as an idependant entity. We felt it is being treated as a reserve facility for Main camp.

Throughout all this Anthony was a terrific guide. We missed nothing and he is one of the best." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Wandsworth

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2010
"It ws slightly noisy from nearby staff accommodation. WC cistern didn't work but we understand that site is to be refurbished next January.

Relatively little game to see but still enjoyable.

As site faces south, there was little sun to sit in during the mid-day break." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"Great guiding and wildlife"

4 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2009
"The guiding and wildlife at Chitabe Lediba more than made up for the fact that the camp itself, whilst nice, is not of the same standard as Selinda and is in need of some updating.

Josie and Kenny were very good hosts and we were sorry to hear that Josie was leaving the bush as she will be a loss to the team. Staff were not quite as friendly as at out other camps but many were quite young and may have been a little shy. There were no service problems at all, it was just that service as not always with a smile.

Food was good - plenty of it and it was nice to be able to help ourselves at all meals so that we did not waste food. Everything seemed freshly prepared and meal times were sociable. We particularly enjoyed the evening that we had dinner around the fire with more traditional local food.

Our tent was perfectly adequate - clean and tidy and nicely furnished. We were told that the camp is closing for maintenance after Christmas and we would hope that this extends to the tents. They are a little tired, particularly the bathrooms areas. The completely outdoor shower was great though and surprisingly private and it was nice to sit on the terrace with babboons bouncing on the roof of the tent.

The guiding and wildlife were the best parts of Chitabe. Newman was our guide and we felt privileged to learn so much from someone who clearly loves nature and seems to know about everything. Newman was retiring and we were just about his last guests but he was still keen to get out early to show us things and share his knowledge. We saw a lot at Chitabe and it was rare to be out for long without a new and exciting sighting of something - baby hyenas at their den, 40 vultures fighting over a dead giraffe, a python wrapped around a poor baby impala and a leopard with her cub. In fact, we saw a different leopard each of the 4 days we were at Chitabe and felt very fortunate indeed." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Nick & Kate
London

"Stunning game in a great setting"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2009
"The lodge was lovely, rooms comfortable and always mosquito free at night. Good game viewing from the lodge, with elephant passing through on 2 of our 3 days there, allowing close up sights of a male pushing down a palm tree. The food was of a notably higher quality here than at the other 2 camps we visited. Staff, as ever, were friendly.

Guiding was competent rather than outstanding (here and elsewhere). It was unusual, however, to be asked to interrupt my close-up leopard viewing and sit back, to allow the guide to take photos (we don't take any photos ourselves). And once or twice the game wandered off as we sat there, while he reviewed his digiital gallery of recent shots! But we took it in good humour, as the overall experience was amazing.

We saw a pack of 20 wild dogs on 2 separate occasions; a group of 3 cheetah about to hunt, 2 who had climbed a tree to get a better view; 3 different leopard sightings, 1 by the camp at night, and one extraordinary encounter. We came across an apparently abandoned tiny baby baboon, and followed it until it led us to his mother's corpse. As we drove away, a leopard emerged from the bushes and dragged his new baboon kill off into the thicket and ate it in front of us - leaving the tiny baby orphaned and crying for its mummy. No sentiment in the bush. We saw plenty of lion too, honey badgers on the road at dawn, monitor lizard right by the car, and lots of elephant - including one lone male who joined us for our sundowner.

The only activities offered were day game drives, although a spotlight was held up as we returned after dusk to camp - prepare to see lots of scrub hares and not much else.

On our last night, the camp staff gave us a delightful surprise, welcoming us back from our afternoon drive with a private dining outside our room, complete with candles, oil lamps and personal at-table service. Very romantic and charming way to end our stay there.

The park was beautiful, with lots of green open spaces and water, to offset the dryer areas. All in all, awesome as the young people say nowadays." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr W & Ms E
London

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2009
"My only criticism concerns the young guide we had who was intolerant of our ability to remember names of birds. He kept saying ;' as I told you yesterday.'.. which is enough to put off anyone from asking further questions.

That apart, all was great." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Virginia

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2009
"This was also a wonderful camp. We had another amazingly good guide who hunted all over for big cats for us. We saw a cheetah stalk on a hunt, although it scared the impala too early so we never saw it run. We also watched a small pride of lions trying to stampede a buffalo herd so they could catch one. They too failed, but the battle between the lions and the buffalo was great to watch. One minute the lions were chasing buffalo, the next the buffalo bulls were chasing the lions.

We found lots of other animals here and the night drives were particularly productive, I think because the guide was so good. We went out with Newman.

The staff here went out of their way to be hospitable. For a couple of nights we were the only guests, and one night they surprised us with a candlelight dinner on our deck!

Spectacular place. Although Duma Tau rates right up there too, this was the best camp of the three for us." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 77
97%
77 reviews of Chitabe Lediba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
66
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


94% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa