This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba

Reviews of Chitabe Lediba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Lediba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Lediba.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

80% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

White Rhino

40% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D & Ms B
Toronto

"The camp we didn't get to!"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2009
"Imagine our surprise when, having just landed in Maun after the long flight from London, we were met by Brandon from Wilderness Safaris who advised us we would not be going to Chitabe Lediba as planned but were rather en route to Mombo -a significant upgrade we were told. Still a bit mystified, we went happily with the pilot who took pains to point out Chitabe Lediba as we flew over it. A short while later we were being welcomed by the terrific staff at Mombo as if they had been waiting to see us for months.

Mombo is a top of line camp with all mod cons yet still retains an open, friendly and informal atmosphere. The wildlife viewing opportunities are fantastic and the guides (in our case Lebo and Emang) go out of their way to seek out the uncommon. In our case, this was a chance to observe one of the white rhino recently re-introduced to Botswana and a very exciting sunset drive overland in pursuit of a wild dog who was honing in on a herd of impala. Then there was: the leopard ( in camp and another later in a tree with a fresh kill), the lioness with two new cubs not previously seen by the guides, the hippo who ambled past our tent ....etc.

Top marks, and all the better since we had not intended to be there.

Re Chitabe Lediba: during the course of our trip, we did meet other travellers who had been there, all of whom reported highly favourably on the camp and the quality of the wildlife viewing. The ratings above and below are for Mombo:
" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Norway

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2009
"We had an excellent guide in Oats who made sure we saw much wildlife including lion, leopard and cheetah and much more.

Josie and the camp staff made us very welcome including a special evening romantic dinner. A wonderful experience here." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Epsom

"Flawless"

3 nights Arrived 4 May 2009
"Again, your website description of this camp is precise & accurate. It exceeded our expectations in every respect. The unfailingly helpful, warm and friendly staff were natural & genuine, lead by Josie and Newman as particular examples. The 'tent' left us speechless, the food was exceptional, we stayed 2 nights and would have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms B & Mr S
Aberdeen

"Losing our hearts to the Wild Dogs."

2 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2009
"Incredibly welcoming lodge with lovely caring and interested staff. It set the tone for the high standards for all the camps. We arrived at late lunchtime, long after the Brunch had been served, yet were thoughtfully provided with a light meal. We can single out Tiny as a wonderful ambassadress for both Botswana and the Camp.

Our guide Newman obviously loves his job and he gave us great insights into the area and his special passion: the Wild Dogs. ( We had a thrilliing time following a pack. For the first 20 minutes I couldn't focus my camera or binoculars: my eyes were filled with tears!) We never felt that any of the species we viewed were 'pushed' or hassled in any way by the drivers.

One thing that might have been helpful in the public area is a prominent large scale map of the area showing the camp's location in the region and then an even larger one where we could plot where we had been on each drive. This would be true for all the camps we visited. Some did have maps but they were faded or too small for elderly eyes!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr &Mrs C
Ireland

"A great intro to the Okavango"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2009
"We found the birding experience at this camp excellent. Our guide, Newman, was highly knowledgeable about the terrain, birds and wildlife generally. We learned a great deal from him.

The camp team had a unique spirit setting an atmosphere which could not be matched elsewhere. Food was varied, freshly prepared and maintained at industry-recommended temperatures on the few occasions when our return to camp was delayed.

The main camp was lovely, the bedrooms comfortable. The downside is the slightly 'segrated' bathroom. This leaves a great deal to be desired and nothing whatsoever to the imagination! The management explained that an upgrading is imminent. It cannot be soon enough." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Solihull

"Chitabe Lediba review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2008
"Very welcoming. Eebs our ranger was excellent. He was a very good driver and extremely knowledgable.

My husbands bag was a day late in arriving but the staff were all aware of this and most helpful." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Drs
Washington, USA

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2008
"We loved Chitabe Lediba! The size of the camp was fantastic -- it accomodates 10 guests maximum, and when we were there the total occupancy ranged from 4 to 8 guests, which made the camp very intimate. The staff were very friendly, and we thought our guide, Andy, was great! At the camp, we enjoyed the fresh-baked bread served with every meal, which was particularly delicious!

We saw fantastic game at Chitabe Lediba! We had several excellent viewings of leopard, which seemed particularly abundant. There were lots of elephant (which we got to see extremely up-close, as they often wandered right up to our tent!).

We were very fortunate to get excellent sightings of the resident wild dog pack -- we saw 13 dogs, including 6 pups, on three separate occasions, and were able to observe the pups playing with each other and with a bone they had found! We also saw several interesting nocturnal animals, such as the serval, springhare, and porcupine." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L
Lancashire

"Chitabe Lediba, great staff, lots of leopards"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2008
"The guide (Newman) I had at this camp was one of the best I have ever had.

More than happy to go into detail of why things happen and how the animals react both on the drives or back at camp.

" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Little bee-eater
UK

"Chitabe Lediba review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2008
"Another warm and friendly welcome from enthusiastic staff. Kenny was charming and informative.

Luke (our guide) was another star.

Camp overall very different to Little Vumbura, which we preferred." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs I
Henley

"Tops for game viewing"

4 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2008
"Third visit to Chitabe and would put this Camp on the top of my list should I ever afford to return.

OT was an outstanding guide." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 77
97%
77 reviews of Chitabe Lediba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
66
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa