This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba

Reviews of Chitabe Lediba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Lediba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Lediba.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

80% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

White Rhino

40% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 71-78 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs I
Henley

"Tops for game viewing"

4 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2008
"Third visit to Chitabe and would put this Camp on the top of my list should I ever afford to return.

OT was an outstanding guide." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Jersey

"Game everywhere"

4 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2008
"The drive from the airstrip to the camp set the scene for our stay with an encounter with a herd of elephants, giraffe, more elephants, impala and did I mention the elephants.

The proximity of our vehicle to the animals gave us a taste of life in camp. However nothing prepared us for the cacophany of sounds when we tried to sleep that first night. We recognized the elephants and lions (although the nearness was slightly unnerving) but the sounds of other animals we still needed to identify. We soon became used to it all even when the elephant pulled branches down on top of our tent.

The time spent here was enhanced by our wonderful guide OT. He was incredibly knowledgeable and went to great efforts to ensure that we saw a huge variety of game including lion, cheetah, leopard, wild dogs and birdlife. He also had a wonderful sense of humour and made sure that every day was enjoyable for us.

The rest of the staff and the managers were always on hand to discuss our sightings and tend to our needs. They were very friendly.
We enjoyed the dinners when we were all seated at one long table and were able to meet and discuss the day's activities with guests from all over the world.

The only minute thing that concerned us were the steps going down to the camp fire area. 3 of our party experienced slight problems. These need to be highlighted in some sort of way as they may cause an accident. I think that the staff are already reviewing this problem.

Altogether our stay in Chitabe was a wonderful experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Drs
Brisbane

"Great game viewing, lovely guide"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2008
"Good guiding from OT, good variety of game viewing.

Quieter camp than Xigera and Little Vumbura.

Very comfortable, particularly good food." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Slender mongooses
UK

"Chitabe Lediba review"

4 nights Arrived 28 May 2008
"When we arrived at Chitabe , the camp seemed nicely small and intimate .It was only on the second day that we realised that that was in part because earlier in the season most of the communal area had been burnt down!! That the excellent team of staff here had made that so unapparent to us is just one tribute to their hospitality !

Hee our guide was Simon Byron accompanied by Chief as his tracker .Simon put David Attenborugh to shame with his astonshingly insightful guiding...it was not just a privilege to be in this remarkable place , but also to share the time with him .

In four nights we saw ( just to mention the exceptional ) a pair of 6 week old leopards ( we watched them for about 3 hrs) , a stunning cheetah ( we shadowed him for about 30 mins ) , Porcupine, a fishtrap full of Yellow Billed Storks , Pink-Backed Pelicans ,Marabou Storks , and tremendous nightime sightings ( very close to) of lions roaring territorially and of an adult female leopard.
Once again , we were torn apart to have to leave the place and the lovely people." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Meerkats
London

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 12 May 2008
"The best camp we stayed in on this trip" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

The Leopards
Jersey

"Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2008
"What a great little camp. Even though they had the fire a few days before we arrived this did not affect our stay at all. If anything extra praise should be given to all the staff for all their hard work in making the camp as comfortable as possible for us. This was our first ever safari and we really had no idea what to expect.

The impromtu 'lunch in the bush' and our campfire supper with staff entertainment were particular highlights. Not forgetting the game drives with our great guide Phinley. Elephants, giraffes, fantastic birds, gnu, warthogs, kudu, tsesssebe to name but a few - and the icing on the cake were seeing the leopards, mother and son, how amazing!

Huge thanks to all the staff for making this such a memorable stay - especially Alice and Josephine and the lovely Grace who looked after us so well. We would certainly return." See all these reviews: 7n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Lion
Maine

"Sunsets behind the palm trees"

4 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2008
"With only 5 tents, Chitabe Lediba was wonderfully quiet (and for the most part, there was only one other guest besides us). Both O.T. and Andrea were good guides with a strong knowledge of natural history. Our favorite drive was when we rode along the channel that marks the eastern side of the concession.

Of the dozen or so places we stayed during our holiday, this one had the best outdoor shower, detached from the tent, with a view over a floodplain to trees beyond.

We were told the supply truck was a week late and this may be why we were served rice, squashes and eggplant more than we might have been if the truck had been on time. But that's life in the bush.

If the guests are coffee-drinkers, instant coffee should not be on offer. A thermos of the real thing should accompany the morning game drive. But this is nitpicking -- our stay was exceptionally pleasant." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"A Return Visit"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2007
"It was good to return to Chitabe trails [Ed: this is the old name for 'Chitabe Lediba' camp] and see old friends, it was two years since our last visit and three of the friends we made then were still there and most of the staff were unchanged - this is always a good sign. The camp has been re-vamped and does not have that same small camp feel, i enjoy but i have to say the rooms, facilities and general layout are excellent and the staff are friendly and extremely helpful.

This camp still has some of the best guides around and they will go out of their way to ensure you see the best of what is avaialble. A good family camp that caters well for young people.

The view over the water hole mean that you should not take to long a break in the afternoon as this is the best time to watch the animals drinking, lions, elephants (large herds of) and buffalo (Aug-Oct) make great afternoon viewing, considering everyone else seemed to be asleep" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-78 of 78
97%
78 reviews of Chitabe Lediba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
67
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (185 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (88 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (68 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (65 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


94% (39 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (31 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (13 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


93% (8 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa