This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba

Reviews of Chitabe Lediba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Lediba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Lediba.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

80% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

White Rhino

40% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Mr L & Mrs O
Indiana

"Second Great Experience at Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2017
"You simply can't find a better camp. This was our second stay here, this time during the rainy season and it was just as fabulous. Great game viewing, a surprise bush lunch and dinner in the boma. Great leopard sightings, wild dogs and more." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Rwanda; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr A
Australia

"Chitabe Lediba review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2016
"Chitabe Lediba is a great camp and is set in a beautiful location. We stayed two nights but could easily stay more.

We were treated like long lost friends throughout the stay. The staff were excellent.

The game drives with our guide Luke were fantastic, a great variety of game and birdlife. We were very fortunate with all our drives and Luke did his utmost to make sure we saw as much as possible." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LB
Alderney

"A great time at Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2016
"A very friendly camp, accommodation was excellent and the guiding very good. We had a lot of sightings, lions with cubs, a hyena den with pups, a massive herd of Cape buffalo and a leopard as well as the 'usual', giraffes, elephants, zebra etc. We also enjoyed our lunch in the bush.

Our only criticism would be that whilst some of the food was excellent some was not so good. We would have preferred to have a roof on the vehicle as it did get hot late morning, but appreciated the ponchos in the morning when it was cold!

Overall we would certainly go to this camp again." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Chitabe Lediba Visit Three"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2016
"Our final camp did not disappoint either. We had always had the most wonderful sightings at Lediba and this visit maintained the record. Lion and leopard everywhere we turned including very young lion and leopard cubs.

In addition we had a feast of a full range of hyena pups from the very young to teenagers and sub adults. At the other end of the spectrum we had wonderful sightings of dwarf, slender and banded mongoose. In between we had a black backed jackal that was clearly intent of auditioning, with hippo and buffalo to complete the caste.

An absolutely terrific three days made possible by our wonderful guide Luke and a fantastic staff to look after our every need at the lodge. We loved it." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr d
Penrith

"Excellent all round"

3 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2016
"Such cheerful, helpful staff. Always unobtrusively on hand for your slightest need.

We were extremely fortunate to have sole use of a vehicle most of the time on the game drives. Luke was an exceptional guide - always willing to stop and able to impart his extensive knowledge.

Pleased to make use of the shop and something which could be available at all camps??" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr J & Mr E
New York

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2016
"Chitabe Lediba was a beautiful camp!

From the moment we arrived, we were blown away by the lodging, the staff, the food, and the game sightings. Overall, fantastic camp and spectacular experience." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
PA

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2015
"There were so many highlights to this camp, I hope I can remember them all: the team who sang to us upon arrival; the fact that we were the only guests which gave us the opportunity to get to know many of the team.

I loved that at both the camps we visited team members had name tags which facilitated getting to know them. Also at both we had meals with our guides which was a real plus.

The highlight of the entire trip ocurred here with our fabulous guide, Gordon. We followed 2 lionesses for 2 days and watched them interact with their cubs. One set of cubs was about 4 months old and the others were about 6 weeks old. Finding them was a magical although bouncy experience and watching them for at least an hour was a lifetime experience." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr g
Illinois, USA

"excellent small camp with abundant wildlife"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2015
"Another excellent safari camp experience. Camp facilities, food,and guides were all top notch with plentiful wildlife sightings everywhere. This was also an unfenced camp so wildlife could appear at any;;time, and sometimes did. Guides were very experienced and capable, and radio contact with the other guides (including the guides at the larger Chitabe camp) facilitated wildlife viewing for all guests within this private concession. At this camp, I also participated in two safari "walks", which added to the bush experience ( although not as a substitute for a drive because of the limited area that could be traversed in the time available).

Trackers were not utilized at this camp; however, I did not feel that this detracted from the ability to view wildlife." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Oklahoma

"Wow!"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2015
"The wildlife viewing and the luxury accommodations are just incredible here. The camp is beautiful and we saw so much! 4 different leopards (including two extended sitings of different females), Wild dogs (twice), many Lion. Elephants playing in the water.

Our guide (Duke) was incredibly talented and had a great sense of humor. When we had a trainee in the vehicle with us though, he and Duke would speak extensively to each other in Setswana, which was occasionally frustrating. Also, Duke would sometimes leave sitings we were enjoying without fully explaining why.

Food was delicious and the camp was very conscientious about my gluten-free diet. The rooms were the nicest we had in Botswana.

Was not thrilled with one of the camp managers. Ruby seemed to not like her job very much and actually we left the camp with her still owing us $4 change from a gift shop purchase that she couldn't be bothered to handle. She didn't handle questions well and I fear she may be in the wrong line of work." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr o
N London

"Chitabe feedback"

3 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2015
"We had booked Chitabe Lediba camp and this was confirmed with WIlderness Safari.

Upon arrival, we were given a room in Chitabe main camp however. No one asked/informed us about the change of camp, and we only realized this one day later.

We were happy with Chitabe, so not a big deal, but I could imagine other travellers getting upset about such sudden camp changes." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 78
97%
78 reviews of Chitabe Lediba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
67
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (185 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (88 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (68 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (65 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


94% (39 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (31 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (13 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


93% (8 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa