This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba
Chitabe Lediba

Reviews of Chitabe Lediba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

84 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Lediba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Lediba.
Lion

91% success

Leopard

91% success

Cheetah

82% success

Wild dog

73% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

91% success

Buffalo

90% success

Wildebeest

90% success

Roan antelope

20% success

White Rhino

20% success

Eland

10% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 84
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J.
Tring

"amazing wildlife variety"

4 nights Arrived 11 May 2019
"the rooms were excellent with two separate identical units both with good views and linked by decking and shared walkway" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs MW
W London

"Frustrated at Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"We were disappointed with the way our stay at this camp was managed. There were 7 people in the vehicle with the guide on 4 drives out of 6 when other vehicles were leaving the camp with only one couple in them. This was not what we expected at this level and made the drives often frustrating in terms of communicating with the guide, positioning the vehicle for sightings, having some level of spontaneity with photo taking, etc.

When we registered our concern with the staff, we were told no other option available. This also meant that we were restricted by flight schedules on 2 morning drives which had to be curtailed to get back to the airstrip. We did not have time to do the drive the guide had mentioned to the edge of the concession where the rhinos and cheetahs are. We did drive in that direction on the last morning and skirted the area.

It was a great shame as it was a particularly beautiful part of the concession and the guide did say that, had we had more time, he would have driven in much further." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr P M & family
UK

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 18 May 2018
"This was the highlight of our holiday. The camp was exceptional - the location, diverse landscapes, accomodation, staff and the food.

The game drives were excellent - we saw lots of game and bird life and the scenery and landscapes were beautiful. Our guide, Duke, was very knowledgeable and personable and we really enjoyed his company. Three nights was ideal here, allowing us to relax, see a lot of wildlife and enjoy the experience.

We would strongly recommend this camp and would love to return one day." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr G
Washington

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2018
"Rooms: This camp was very nice. We asked several times about who the host is and it was never clear who was the host. We found out at another camp that Chitabe Lediba is managed by Wilderness Safaris but is owned by Botswana hence there is no "management couple" on site.. The rooms are permanent tents which were in excellent condition and what we have encountered in previous Wilderness camps. The bad thing about the tents is that the floors are like ice and very slippery in socks. They should warn people.

We were able to use our CPAPs with no problem. We were never offered distilled water so we used bottled water.

Activities: The game drives were wonderful and we even saw one of the S. African black rhinos that have been relocated in Botswana - a rare sighting! Our guide was excellent and was able to point out many birds and animals. The highlight was we found that termites were coming out of the ground on the wing. We have the most amazing picture where by at the end of the airport runway we found on the ground - eagles, vultures, Kori bustards, and jackels all together catching the termites as they came out. There were Starlings above to catch the ones that escaped. It was one of the most amazing things we have ever seen on safari.

We also found out from another Wilderness camp that we should have received metal water bottles to take with us on safari. Instead we were given water that was in plastic bottles straight from a store. We thought it strange based on Wilderness Safari's commitment to eco-conservation.

Food: The food was also very good. It had a lot of variety, including local dishes for us to try. The staff who took care of meals, beverages and rooms were very nice and we enjoyed interacting with them.

Facilities: The main Lodge area was very nice and clean. Meals were done buffet style which was nice.

We heartily recommend this camp to others." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs CH
NW London

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2018
"friendly atmosphere, safari drives excellent, food excellent
swimming pool was disappointing -- very small = more like a bath
very little nice views" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Peacocks/LC
USA

"Variety at Lediba"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2017
"We chose Chitabe Lediba as our final camp because of it's reputation for high quality game viewing.

We experienced excellent management, a wonderful experienced resident guide in Duke, and a wide variety of excellent game. The terrain is an interesting mix of water filled channels, dry upland, and plains bordering the southern boundary of the Moremi.

Elephants were resident, the birdlife was exceptional as many species were feeding on aquatic life in the receding waterholes and channels, there were two resident lion prides, a female leopard and her cub, resident painted dogs, and finally a beautiful female cheetah. The journey along the northern channel was a "garden of eden" mix of impala, kudu, giraffe, zebra, warthog and elephant. Lediba would be exceptional in the Green season." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L & Mrs O
Indiana

"Second Great Experience at Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2017
"You simply can't find a better camp. This was our second stay here, this time during the rainy season and it was just as fabulous. Great game viewing, a surprise bush lunch and dinner in the boma. Great leopard sightings, wild dogs and more." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Rwanda; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr A
Australia

"Chitabe Lediba review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2016
"Chitabe Lediba is a great camp and is set in a beautiful location. We stayed two nights but could easily stay more.

We were treated like long lost friends throughout the stay. The staff were excellent.

The game drives with our guide Luke were fantastic, a great variety of game and birdlife. We were very fortunate with all our drives and Luke did his utmost to make sure we saw as much as possible." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LB
Alderney

"A great time at Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2016
"A very friendly camp, accommodation was excellent and the guiding very good. We had a lot of sightings, lions with cubs, a hyena den with pups, a massive herd of Cape buffalo and a leopard as well as the 'usual', giraffes, elephants, zebra etc. We also enjoyed our lunch in the bush.

Our only criticism would be that whilst some of the food was excellent some was not so good. We would have preferred to have a roof on the vehicle as it did get hot late morning, but appreciated the ponchos in the morning when it was cold!

Overall we would certainly go to this camp again." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Chitabe Lediba Visit Three"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2016
"Our final camp did not disappoint either. We had always had the most wonderful sightings at Lediba and this visit maintained the record. Lion and leopard everywhere we turned including very young lion and leopard cubs.

In addition we had a feast of a full range of hyena pups from the very young to teenagers and sub adults. At the other end of the spectrum we had wonderful sightings of dwarf, slender and banded mongoose. In between we had a black backed jackal that was clearly intent of auditioning, with hippo and buffalo to complete the caste.

An absolutely terrific three days made possible by our wonderful guide Luke and a fantastic staff to look after our every need at the lodge. We loved it." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 84
97%
84 reviews of Chitabe Lediba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
73
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (202 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (126 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (94 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (73 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (71 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (66 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (58 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (36 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


92% (33 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (13 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (11 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


98% (8 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


84% (5 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa