This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tafika
Tafika
Tafika

Reviews of Tafika

Wildlife sightings and reviews

271 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tafika and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 32 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tafika.
Lion

87% success

Leopard

94% success

Wild dog

43% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

97% success

Buffalo

94% success

Wildebeest

48% success

Eland

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 271
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P.
Chilterns

"Tafika review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P.
Chilterns

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"Magnificent throughout, and very civilised.

We had some 'interesting' moments but very well handled by excellent guide Stephen Banda." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"As noted earlier... [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"Tafika is our favourite safari camp..."

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"Ours second visit to Tafika and it was just as good as the first time.

We considered going to another camp but felt that Tafika offered us everything we were looking for and we were not disappointed.

Just the right level of comfort, excellent guides and fine food." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr +Mrs K
South Brent

"High class and run by very experienced people"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"Tafika is run by very experienced people who have been there a long time.

One of us was ill on arrival and the attention and support provided, particularly by Jen Coppinger, was exemplary. We were located, as requested, close to the Sitenje, making movement to and fro much easier. However, this did mean our veranda was very public, so we made little use of it in the afternoons. Otherwise, the room was very comfortable and luxurious.

The camp is well located with views over the Luangwa river, so there were plenty of sightings from camp of elephants, antelopes, hippos, crocodiles and birds. A Pels owl called behind our chalet, though we never saw it.

Our guide, Brian, had more than 20 years experience at Tafika and was very knowledgeable. We saw plenty of wildlife over our 3 days. Tafika has a strong focus on walking safaris. With no water based options, our activities were confined to game drives. As Tafika is outside the park, these became rather repetitive, with the same drive out along the river every time. Brian was reluctant to take the only other route, to the salt pan, in the day time, despite us requesting this, so we missed sightings of African wild dogs which we had particularly wanted to see. The lack of use of radios meant guides did not hear of unusual sightings elsewhere. We did have excellent lion, leopard, Thornycroft giraffe, zebra and elephant sightings, as well as a very shy Eland.

Food was generally good, though meat was often tough, even Zambian beef, which was beautifully tender in our other camps. The vegetables were a highlight and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing the wonderful vegetable garden at the back, which Nelson proudly showed us. For our taste, meals are somewhat formally hosted, so despite the excellent service and care, we never totally relaxed.

The exemplary service was finally illustrated by the couriering of a phone to our next camp which we had accidentally left charging in the camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr CB
USA

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"We loved Tafika. The staff were friendly and the accommodation were exceptional. We stayed in the family chalet, right on the river. It is spectacular, and very private. There are two separate showers, and two separate toilets, so our two teen sons were able to share with us, without feeling uncomfortable. Note that you do share twin sinks with one Fawcett.

We felt like we were among family, and were very sad to leave.

The guides were great, and the trip to the village was very enjoyable, with no pressure.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

9 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms Y
Oregon

"Outstanding Experience"

5 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"What a wonderful camp. The staff, Heather and Roni, our guide Bryan and spotters, John and Carol all made this a special place to spend time. All are professional but very friendly and work diligently to ensure that your stay is what you want it to be.

The rooms are private and inviting. The outdoor shower is lovely. The food is prepared with care and is very tasty.

The game viewing is superb and our guide Bryan did an outstanding job. We loved the game drives and looked forward to each as a new adventure." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

C Plowdog
Sydney

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2018
"We enjoyed Tafika. It's in a good location in South Luangwa on the river. Our guide Cooper was excellent. We were fortunate to see some excellent animals (Genet, serval, civet) at night.

Food was excellent; the room was spacious and there were other interesting guests." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

A & B
Larbert

"Fantastic Introduction to Safari"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2018
"This was our first ever safari and Tafika exceeded all our expectations. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and introduced us to Safari life by explaining in detail what to expect.

The guiding and game viewing were both spectacular, very knowledgeable guides and plenty wildlife. Although just outside the park in the GMA it is just a very short drive and invariably there were sightings on the drive to and from the park.

Food was really good and the vegetarian in our party was delighted with all the meals, perhaps it helps that Carol is vegetarian.

The accommodation although it may look rustic was very comfortable and private. We particularly liked the outdoor shower.

Would certainly like to go back. " See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Miss P
London

"Nobody does it better"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2018
"This was my fourth visit to Tafika (seventh to the Remote Africa group) and it was excellent as ever.

It was a last minute decision to switch to include Tafika in our trip, and so it was only possible for us to take the family chalet. We'd been a little sceptical about this but it turned out to be a perfect choice. The chalet has 2 separate showers and 2 toilets and a shared basin area, and it has a lovely position overlooking the river so it was nice to sit outside and chat in the afternoons and watch the hippos mating (yes, really!).

It was a shame to miss John and Carol, but Heather and Bryan were doing an excellent job in their absence. I love Tafika, it is still one of my favourite safari camps in Africa. Full of character and with a warm welcome and run by people who appreciate the important aspects of the safari experience. In a world where safari camps seem to be in a battle to "out lux" each other, resulting in an experience that is increasingly divorced from the natural environment, Tafika remains a beacon of authenticity. I wish there were more camps like it.

Game viewing was superb with some stand out leopard sightings, including a mother with 2-3 month old cub and the same mother chasing a younger female up a tree." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 21-30 of 271
98%
271 reviews of Tafika by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
250
19
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa