This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pumulani
Pumulani
Pumulani
Pumulani
Pumulani

Reviews of Pumulani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pumulani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Ms P
Abingdon

"Pumulani review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2015
"Everything at Pumulani is excellent - beautiful setting, stunning lodges, lovely pool and beach and staff who are extremely friendly and helpful. The actvities were great too with bike rides around the bay, the evening dhow sundowner trip and fabulous snorkelling in the Lake.

Thanks to Ellie at Expert Africa Head Office for all her help in organising my stay and travel in Malawi." See all these reviews: 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Crawley

"Relaxing Pumulani"

5 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"We had 5 nights at Pumulani after 2 very active safari camps. The location is stunning and the facilities are top notch (no wifi). The lodge was very quiet during our stay, so the atmosphere was somewhat low-key, but that is not to detract from the helpfulness and friendliness of the Managers and Staff. Compared to safari camps, the pace of life at Pumulani is slower - but no early morning starts, and plenty of opportunity to laze on the beach or by the pool.

One of the highlights was snorkelling in Lake Malawi (no bilharzia). The visibility is very clear and the cichlid fish are brilliantly colourful. The other outing we enjoyed, was visiting the orphanage in the local village. This is run by Loyce, a most remarkable woman who, in addition to her own 2 children and her job at Pumulani, has taken 20 orphaned children under her care. We gained much insight into the lives of rural Malawians, and felt very humbled after our visit. Robin Poe Safaris offer a lot of support to the local community, and this is a huge help for the villagers.

There is not a lot of wildlife, but the birding is excellent.

The food and wine are 5 star, and the rooms offer privacy and comfort." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Bottmingen

"A fine place to wind down and have fun"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2015
"This is a large property beautifully located in the national park.

Apart from Saturday, we had the place almost to ourselves, the kayaks and motorboat as well as other facilities were readily available. Guy is a good host and chef, very attentive and helpful, the staff cheerful and always ready to fulfil our wishes.

We particularly enjoyed talking to Louise who runs a small souvenir shop and produces craft work together with orphans." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"Relaxing at Pumulani"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2014
"Our second visit to Pumulani. Beautiful location, high above the lake, and excellent spacious accommodation with large bedroom and living area, plus views of the setting sun over the lake.

Staff are attentive, efficient and friendly. For us, the slight disappointment was the food which was not as good as on our last visit a year ago and not up to the standards we found at other locations on this trip. Hopefully, this was a temporary blip.

We enjoyed snorkelling, walking and kayaking." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Middlesex

"Great lake setting and activities"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"We enjoyed our stay at Pumulani very much. The setting was fantastic and we doubt chalet 5 could be bettered for its excellent views.

The chalet itself was also extremely spacious and comfortable. The service was excellent and all our requests were promptly dealt with. The facilities were also first class and the dhow and trips on the lake were wonderful. We appreciated the chance to use the telescope with interesting information from Rob.

A very enjoyable experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"Relaxing and active time at Pumulani"

5 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"Superb setting for the lodge. Beautiful spacious accommodation, lovely view over the lake. Food really good, excellent barbeque lunch one day by the lake.

Excellent host (Jake, who was temporary manager while Alex and Karien were on leave) who went to great lengths to make sure all our activities were well organised, i.e. snorkelling, dhow lake trips, walks, including village visit, and kayaking. All great fun and extremely informative, especially the village visit, where we also visited the village school. Guides and all staff were excellent, really welcoming and friendly. Overall, excellent level of service.

Only comment would be the lack of clothes hanging space in our chalet: there was only space for four hangers in total, which really wasn't enough for our clothes for our three different locations. The design of the hanging space could not allow for more hangers, a bit irritating. But a minor point overall." See all these reviews: 9n in Malawi; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Stockport

"Pumulani review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2012
"This lodge has the most incredible location, rooms and views! The flight in by light plane was brilliant, seeing the lodge from the air confirmed our high expectations, and set us up for a special few days of relaxation after our safari. Our welcome at the hotel was friendly and efficient - we were soon enjoying lunch and a drink on the terrace overlooking the lake. The food and service were brilliant for all of our stay. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. Overall we had a very good stay, didn't use the boating facilities except for the sunset cruises on the dhow. These were really good, with snacks and plenty of drinks provided.

There were some negatives. The wooden walkways that lead to the rooms and the beach were in an appalling state of repair, with loose boards and handrails, and many exposed nails. This included the decking around the pool - ok in daylight with care, but at night most of the walkway was not lit. A small torch was provided attached to the room key, but this wasn't really adequate given the state of the boards.

Our return flight to Lilongwe was a big disappointment. When we were advised that we would be joined by another couple and a large amount of luggage we were promised by Claire the manager that a bigger plane would be provided. Not so! The plane that arrived was the same Cherokee Six that had delivered us. At best this is a 4 plus 2 seater, including the pilot, which was why we were concerned over fitting in 5. It was impossible for my wife to move her legs at all during the fight, as the other couple were seated opposite her with their legs trapping hers.

A great hotel, good food and service and a fantastic location, which we did enjoy, but in the end we were not impressed with this part of our trip. On reflection we would have been more relaxed spending extra days at Tafika, in Zambia.." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Guernsey

"A great lodge with fabulous food"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2012
"The Lodge was great. The food was faultless. The service was ok.

The Relief Manager was weak. It is usually going to be a negative when the Full Time Manager isn't there." See all these reviews: 11n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The D Family
Herts

"Pumulani review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2011
"Such a treat despite the slightly dissapointing weather. Rooms were so well maintained and luxurious. The staff were willing to fit anything into your time table which was great.

The casual nature of the beach facilities was fantastic and made such a change! We had a great few days here kayaking, cycling and walking. The efforts of the hotel to improve the lives of local people was appreciated, as was selling the beautiful products by Lois in the shop.

The food wasnt amazing but the location of the resort was phenomenal. Take me back!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M & Dr Y
Richmond

"Pumulani perfect for winding down"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2011
"We chose to start our safari at Pumulani and this worked very well, we were soon in holiday mode. The highlight for us were the charming staff, they are quite simply exceptional and led by Mara, Chris and Emma, and ably supported by Michael, Lois, Luckio, Glen, Nicolas and Joseph. They all went out of their way to make sure that our stay was something special. The villas are exceptional, luxurious, stylish and comfortable, and the views of the wonderful Lake Malawi from our villa (number six) were breathtaking. However, we did notice that some villas were more concealed in the forest and had a somewhat impaired view of the lake and this is worth considering when you are booking.

We relaxed by the pool, on the beach, in the lodge and on our balcony, and enjoyed the delicious and varied food. A great strength is the variety of activities on offer. We very much enjoyed the village walk with Luckio and would highly recommend it, we felt welcome, that we were not interfering and in no way was the visit staged or artificial. Likewise, the nature walk with Glen and kayaking back, snorkelling with the cichlids and spotting the otters were highlights. The sunset outings on the beautiful Dhow are also highly to be recommended. Finally, the incredible stargazer telescope gave us wonderful views of Saturn.

During our trip in Malawi and Zambia some people we spoke to were concerned that visiting Lake Malawi was really only for serious watersport fans. So in case you are put off Pumulani because of this dont be, we are not divers or waterskiers, and as Expert Africa told us when we booked, there is so much more to do and see at Pumulani. Our only concern was that the lodge was very quiet when we were there, with only 2 villas occupied by guests and for a couple of days by an RPS film crew. This was by no means a problem for us, but we felt that the word needs to get out that both Pumulani and Lake Malawi are a wonderful destination and we cannot recommend it highly enough." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 24
92%
24 reviews of Pumulani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
8
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Malawi

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Malawi.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Shore of Lake Malawi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mumbo Island

Mumbo Island

Mumbo Island Camp is a small eco camp on a small granite island in Lake Malawi. This is a great, remote spot for kayaking and snorkeling.


100% (9 reviews)
Chintheche Inn

Chintheche Inn

A warm, welcoming beach lodge on the western shore of Lake Malawi, Chintheche Inn offers simple but comfortable accommodation, and a wide range of activities, from watersports to cultural excursions.


86% (7 reviews)
Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat is a large, family friendly lodge located on a stunning beach on the southern lakeshore of Lake Malawi.


95% (4 reviews)
Domwe Island

Domwe Island

Kayak Africa's Domwe Island in Lake Malawi


80% (1 review)
Makuzi Beach

Makuzi Beach

Makuzi Beach Lodge is situated on the northern shores of Lake Malawi and has one of the very few private beaches in Malawi


100% (1 review)
Blue Zebra Island Lodge

Blue Zebra

Blue Zebra is a simple and affordable beach lodge with lots of character, which is popular with expats and ever increasingly with international visitors.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa