This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp

Reviews of Flatdogs Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Flatdogs Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Flatdogs Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

87% success

Wild dog

62% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Wildebeest

45% success

Eland

18% success

Pangolin

10% success

Roan antelope

10% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Aardvark

8% success

Showing 11-20 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Prof. A
Nottingham

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2018
"Flatdogs is a lovely camp. The guiding is excellent (Yotam) and Adrian and Jess are genuinely interested in ensuring everyone has a great experience.

We stayed in Croc's Nest which is beautiful. One small drawback is you can't walk back to the main camp because of wandering animals!

We had our own pool and patio and sent the day watching elephants and baboons. Magic!" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms Y
Oregon

"Lovely Experience"

4 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2018
"Our stay at Flatdogs was terrific. Adrian, Jess, Becca, Louis and our guide Kennedy made our days at Flatdogs warm and engaging. I apologize for not mentioning all the staff as they were very good at their work and made everything flow smoothly.

The guiding with Kennedy was solid and we were able to spot everything we desired with a bit more added in.

We loved our luxury tent and it had all the amenities that you need for a stay. I loved sitting outside our tent and watching the elephant crossing everyday. Walking through camp we saw elephants, baboons, monkeys and hippos.

In adddition to leopards, lions, ellies, etc, we also saw a Honey Badger, Genet, and a number of different varieties of mongoose.

I would not hesitate to recommend staying at Flatdogs." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mrs S
NZ

"Flatdogs Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2018
"Great welcome, excellent and personable guide." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
dadndoc
Mawson Lakes

"Excellent game drive base camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2018
"We stayed for three nights at Flatdogs Camp which is conveniently located just outside the main entrance to South Luangwa National Park. The camp is extremely well staffed with pleasantly helpful staff. Our vehicle driver, Kennedy, was an excellent guide who also took good care of our meal requirements before each game drive. Animals within the National Park were not abundant but there were always some excellent animal encounters and leopard viewings.

Our spacious solid construction lodges were “rustic” with dated interiors but they perfectly suited our needs. We experienced numerous encounters with elephants outside our lodge and around the camp which was unexpected and enjoyable.

The kitchen offered a full day menu with a wide variety of food choices on both the regular menu and with daily specials.

Flatdogs Camp was an excellent game drive base and offers a considerably better value package than any of the camps we visited at South Luangwa National Park.
It is our first choice of safari camps within the area." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

J+K
Canada

"Flatdogs Camp"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2018
"Flatdogs was an excellent introduction to our safari! It has a very relaxed atmosphere, and we enjoyed spending time each midday by the pool. Our guide, Joffrey, was fantastic, and really made an effort to tailor our game drives to our interests. The food was delicious, and we had no issues with our dietary restrictions (vegetarian and severe allergies).

We stayed in the Luxury Safari Tent, which was huge and provided every amenity we could have asked for. We were thrilled to be able to sit on our porch and watch herd of about 15 elephants bathe and graze right behind our tent one afternoon!

Given the size of the camp, there were several families with young children staying there, which did cause some louder poolside afternoons, however we had no other complaints or issues about our stay!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Dr M
Grand Rapids

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2018
"The previous reviews (Expert Africa and TripAdvisor) had me expecting slow service for food/meals and iffy Wi-Fi. Both turned out to be true, but honestly: I didn't care. The WiFi is nearly nonexistent, and you wait for food. But who cares?

We found this place to be special and enjoyable in every other way. We would stay there again and recommend it to any/all (unless you want to be working and emailing from a bushcamp).

Great guiding. There's nothing else to do there but go on game drives. That's why we came and Flatdogs delivered, along with friendly service and good food and great vibes." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Fortis Green

"Long weekend at Flatdogs"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"Spent a long weekend at Flatdogs in September 2017 as a solo traveller. Overall, it was a fantastic experience

Location - It's right by the main gate but outside the park, not much more than 30 min drive from Mfuwe airport. Being near the main gate brings you a bit more traffic - but on the other hand it also allows you to piggy back on other vehicles' sightings. We took a drive into the more remote part of the park one day and didn't see as much, as you only see what you spot yourself.

Accommodation - The tents are perfectly nice, though in September it is warm and although the fan in the room helps, sleeping can be difficult.

Food - Unlike nearly every other lodge I've been to, they have a full-size restaurant menu, rather than 1 or 2 options per night. Makes a big difference to the experience to be able to choose from so many things.

Wildlife - South Luwangwa in September is incredible. The combination of low number of tourists relative to other places, not much vegetation, lots of leopards and ability to do night drives makes it one of my all time favourite places to do safari.

Service - The team at Flatdogs were really helpful - a lot of places have a fixed 'programme' for guests and that's what you have to do. At Flatdogs we had a discussion every night about what we wanted to do tomorrow. In the end I paid extra to have a private vehicle as being in the truck with half a dozen others felt more like being on an open-top bus tour than enjoying a special moment with nature. It wasn't cheap, but well worth it. My guide was fantastic - in terms of spotting, his knowledge but also listening to what we were interested in rather than going through the motions. Will definitely go back next year." See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr B
Singapore

"Flatdogs Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2017
"Felt like Nat Geo live! Elephants mud bathing in front of my tent. Consistent leopard spotting in every game drive and lots of lions with cubs. When in camp I enjoyed very delicious food, plenty of choice and a lovely Asian touch to many dishes. Management tremendously supported me when my luggage was 5 days delayed. Will never forget the shopping tour in the nearby village. Highly recommended camp!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
UK

"A Magical Experience"

4 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2017
"This was our first (and certainly won't be our last) trip to Africa for safari. We spent a lot of time researching our options and our final choice of Flatdogs was amazing in every way. It was a wrench leaving this place. All the staff are wonderful, warm and welcoming and always happy to hear our tales from the game drives each day. Our fantastic guide Byron was a gift - able to answer the most ridiculous questions posed to him by out 2 boys, aged 10 and 13, and with his extensive knowledge, he was able to share information that we wouldn't have ever dreamed of asking - especially about birds. It was truly magical going over the South Luangwa bridge each morning into that wilderness. Those memories will stay with us always - we were very lucky that the park gave us so much. Awesome.

We chose to stay in the chalet rather than the tents. It was gorgeous! More than enough room and beautifully appointed throughout - the bedrooms especially lovely- the comfiest bed ever. Listening to the hippo's through the night was fabulous, and the monkeys jumping around our roof entertained the boys even further! The layout of the camp was perfect - we were a short stroll from the central meeting/ dining area as well as the pool. This was a fantastic bonus for our boys, so while we had a midday siesta or a read following our 'second' breakfast on our return from the morning drive, they were happy splashing about and watching the beautiful elephants roam through the camp. What a treat!

Being able to eat at any time too was a real bonus rather than set meal times - although we didn't require this flexibility as we ate every time we came back from a drive - when we weren't looking through binoculars, or sleeping, they fed us!

We took advantage of Wendy's guided visit to the local school and the conservation centre, both of which Flatdogs are heavily involved with. This was a humbling experience and one that I would strongly advise visitors do - especially with children. My eldest son and husband also took advantage of the world renowned walking safari's with Yotam which they found amazing - a totally different view of the park - and now my 13 year old is a poo expert!

All in all, I would recommend Flatdogs - and South Luangwa - to everybody - but I'm scared that it becomes too popular and the hoards arrive! As it was, we felt that the park was just ours at times, and the 'homecoming' to this wonderful camp every day was just as special as the game drives." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
York

"Flat dogs review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2017
"Chongwe was a hard act to follow but we all enjoyed ourselves at Flatdogs. Guides were very knowledgable but didn't adapt their offering to suit the children,without prompting. The Crocs Nest excellent.
The only problem was that although I'd asked for the children to be with their respective parents, Crocs nest could only sleep 6- Owain and myself, plus 4, and because they couldn't move backwards and forwards between Crocs Nest and Chalet 4, where the rest of the family were, this resulted with an adult sleeping on the sofa or children a bit adrift." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 62
98%
62 reviews of Flatdogs Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
55
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (282 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (207 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


97% (191 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (170 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (131 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (108 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (64 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (63 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (18 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (14 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


93% (14 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


96% (9 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa