This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp
Flatdogs Camp

Reviews of Flatdogs Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Flatdogs Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Flatdogs Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

87% success

Wild dog

62% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Wildebeest

45% success

Eland

18% success

Pangolin

10% success

Roan antelope

10% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Aardvark

8% success

Showing 21-30 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Family
Atlanta

"Perfect Safari Experience"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2017
"Wonderful attention to detail - personalized service. Excellent guides and facilities. Delicious food and potable water! Unique location on river, unique tents and pool, close to S Luangwa park. Camping in style!!" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family L
Kansas

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 May 2017
"It was a definite advantage to be so close to the camp entrance, for travel time was minimal, and we did not notice any extra noise from being so close to the gate. The managers gave personal attention to the guests and were always present and actively involved in making sure the guests had and did everything they wanted to. For example, our daughter wanted to visit the Mfuwe clinic, and Wendy made arrangements for this to happen, freed up a driver, and didn't charge us a penny (although we tipped the driver). On another day, between safaris, I expressed interest in visiting the boarding school in Mfuwe that's being expanded, as well as the Luangwa conservation project, and a visit was scheduled. Flatdogs' management was very accommodating, helpful, and friendly. Our rooms were clean, the food was well prepared, the menu was extensive, and the proportions were generous (unfortunately, I didn't learn until the last day that half-portions were available). We had heard so much about the walking safaris in Luangwa and looked forward to taking some, so it was a bit of a disappointment that our personal guide at Flatdogs was not licensed to do a walking safari, and we sensed he wanted us to stick with him, so we didn't pursue a walking safari as we enjoyed going out with him. However, he did make clear that if we really wanted a walking safari, it could be arranged so it was definitely our choice and I don't intend this as criticism, just as FYI. Perhaps other guides were licensed for both driving and walking safaris, I didn't check. The sunsets at Flatdogs are spectacular, and I don't regret my decision to skip one evening safari and sit on the river bank, watching the sun set and the stars appear. Only later did I realize the night guard had been standing watch nearby--he said the hippos had walked right by me as they left the river to forage for food. I still can't figure out if he was serious or not, for I didn't hear a sound, yet know those huge animals can be deceptively stealthy." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Toronto

"Laid-back, friendly place"

4 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2016
"We received a warm welcome from Wendy, who spent the next half hour showing us around and briefing us on safety, activities and schedule. This was very helpful because there was quite a lot to take in and the context she provided allowed us to feel comfortable at Flatdogs right from the beginning.

We appreciated the effort the managers and owners make to meet guests each time they return from a game drive and they also move around tables in the restaurant and bar and at tea time to ensure we have everything we need. It was great fun staying in the luxury tent on the bank of the river and hearing elephants and hippos crash by at night!

I want to especially mention Malama, who was our guide during our four days there. He is exceptionally knowledgeable, and has a wonderful sense of humour balanced with care for our safety and enjoyment. I thought the Christmas activities (special lunch on the 25th and carol sing with refreshments on the 24th) were very well done.

Flatdogs does a great job of being friendly and laid back but also attentive." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Keith & Rachael
UK

"Brilliant stay at Flatdogs"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2016
"The welcome, service, food and accommodation at Flatdogs were all excellent. Really enjoyed it.

For the most part the guiding was too, and clearly the guides we had were well trained, knowledgeable and friendly, but on a couple of occasions we felt we got a bit too close than was necessary to some of the animals we were viewing, causing them undue stress. Keen to say this was the exception to the norm of what we experienced but wanted to still let you know." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"Jackelberry Treehouse at Flatdogs"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2016
"It was great to return to Flatdogs, this time to the Jackalberry Treehouse. The accommodation is wonderful, overlooking a private waterhole and open to everything. Lydia made sure we were comfortable and very well looked after during our stay.

Meals can be taken either in the main restaurant or delivered to the treehouse. We tried both and having brunch at the treehouse watching the wildlife wandering past was a real treat.

When we (hopefully) return to Flatdogs we would love to stay at the treehouse once again - it was fabulous!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Harvest

"This place came highly recommended"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2016
"And, it lived up to its promise. This is number one for this area for a reason -- value.

For one thing, you can order just about any food you like. This is important to me because I am diabetic. Watch out for the Baboons -- they are destructive and will get into your tent, if they can. Hippos and elephants also wander about. The name flat dogs is a south African euphemism for a crocodile.

The original location for the camp (it has moved a bit) was originally a crocodile farm." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"Fabulous time at Flatdogs"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2016
"We had wanted to visit Flatdogs for many years and it really lived up to our very high expectations. We enjoyed the friendly, relaxed nature of the camp and loved being able to eat at any time of day, with numerous options on the menu and daily specials board.

We received a really warm but not overbearing welcome from all of the staff and always felt very comfortable. Adie and Jess are great hosts and Geoffrey, our guide, was really knowledgeable and it was a pleasure to spend time with him. We loved our three nights in the tent, hearing the whistles of the puku and the munching of the hippos right outside.

Thoroughly enjoyed all of our game drives - although the full day drive we did was very tiring in 40° heat and an open vehicle! Geoffrey was very responsive to everyone's needs and took care to position the vehicle where everyone could see and take photos of the birds and wildlife.

Hope to return in the not too distant future." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The C Family
Ireland

"First night in Zambia"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2016
"We were the lucky people who on our first morning drive with Kennedy saw a lion kill. And on the very same evening we experienced a leopard kill an impala followed by a frightening 2 minutes where we were in the middle of three lions, 2 male and 1 female as they consumed the poor puku the female had just brought down. Kennedy is a great guide, full of interesting facts and great fun.

We would very much recommend Flatdogs particularly as a first step between our fully wired lives and the isolated bush camps with which we followed it. The hippos do ensure you get no sleep but that is all part of the experience." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
UK

"Flatdogs Camp was great in October"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"This was our first camp on the trip and the diversity and density of wildlife were extra-ordinary. Over two days we almost all the species we had hoped for. Seeing three different leopards in one evening was particularly exciting. Kwalia was our guide and he was really knowledgeable and friendly, making for some excellent drives.

Its so convenient that this camp is very close to the National Park gate, meaning the wildlife is all around - elephants and hippos behind the tent were a real treat to see.

We really liked the way the restaurant was flexible and 'a la carte' so you could eat whatever you wanted, whenever you wanted and with whoever you wanted - which can be more relaxing than fixed social dinners at some of the other camps.

We stayed in one of the smallest standard tents - but it was just fine - no need to upgrade at all - it had plenty of space, and a waterhole behind providing plenty of interest.

Staff were great and, being one of the only places with a little shop, its an ideal opportunity to stock up on curios to take home..although not sure the postcards we posted from here ever got home!

We have rated the activities excellent because the game drives were excellent, and there was a hide and swimming pool to use in the middle of the day; but this camp does have fewer options than some of the others as there are no walking options or water-based options." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Ottershaw

"Fantastic!"

4 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2016
"Our experience at Flatdogs Camp was nothing short of fantastic. Not only did the accommodation, meals and surroundings of the camp exceed our expectations but the animal sightings both in the camp and within the National Park were wonderful. There are so many elephants to enjoy watching and so much game to look at, not only in the Park but also around the camp. One day we saw 21 lions in a single morning's drive!

The management, staff and guides should be justifiably proud of the incredibly high level of service and personal attention to detail they provide for their guests. We have never felt so welcome at any accommodation we have stayed at in the past and genuinely believe that nothing you could ask for would be too much trouble for them.

The relaxed style of dining at Flatdogs with a huge menu, including a daily specials board, is a real bonus. It is lovely to be able to eat what you like, whenever you like, served in such a wonderful atmosphere and surroundings. The food offered at Flatdogs is so good your waistline will suffer!

Finally ... Bwaliya, our guide. He was amazing and through his knowledge we have learnt so much about the animals within the Park. He provided a truly unforgettable experience for us.

A huge thank you to Jess, Ade, Wendy, Jamie, Paulo and Lidia and everyone else at Flatdogs for giving us such happy memories." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 62
98%
62 reviews of Flatdogs Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
55
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (282 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (207 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


97% (191 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (170 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (131 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (108 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (64 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (63 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (18 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (14 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


93% (14 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


96% (9 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa