This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp

Reviews of Waterberg Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberg Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Waterberg Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Eland

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

50% success

White Rhino

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Ms C & Mr W
Colorado

"Waterberg camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"The plateau was beautiful and viewing blinds were special. The game driver (Barira?) was very knowledgeable and very proud of the conservation work that has been done at the plateau. He was funny and very good at spotting game.

The camp itself was disappointing. They have a real problem with very aggressive baboons which made our experience at the camp unpleasant. We had to keep the windows and curtains of our room closed most of time to keep the baboons from seeing in the room and trying to get in. We tried to sit out on our patio but had a troop of baboons show up and act very aggressively toward us (they charged and screamed at us). When we weren't out game viewing we had to sit in our room because of the baboons. Our room also had cockroaches so we had to keep everything off the floor and all food in the refrigerator.

The food was average. The first night our waitress was Maria, she was very friendly, helpful and efficient. The second night we had someone else and the service was very unorganized and unresponsive. We had to have Maria intervene to help us get our order right.

I really enjoyed the history associated with the camp and the mountain hike to the top of the plateau was very nice.

Waterberg camp was our only slight disappointment of the whole trip." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
M & M Oxford
UK

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2013
"Fortunately we were warned by Expert Africa about the up-front deposit and took our own inventory of the room and facilities.

The fact that the patio furniture was slightly damaged was moderately concerning in case we were to be billed for repair/replacement.

Poor maintenance on the patio door resulted in us being locked out and had to wait for the maintenance man to come.

The best meal of the whole trip was here, especially being seated on the cloistered veranda overlooking the park.

The morning game drive on the plateau above the lodge is recommended if only for the sight of a back rhino (no guarantee)." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Dorking

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"The camp still suffers from the bureaucracy of a state run organisation but the food was good." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Scary Baboons"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"As we arrived the baboons were raiding the bins around our cottage area - they were very fierce and snarled as we tried to get out of the car- once inside and reading the warnings about these wild animals we felt quite vulnerable -
The room was clean and comfortable if basic, food in the restaurant at dinner and breakfst was good, service friendly.
We didn't see the baboons again but they put us off the place" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Dr M
UK

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2013
"Good place to stop over. Nice walks from the camp. In terms of the rooms, facilities, and service, nothing special." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
B Family
Nottingham

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2013
"Very good walk to the plateau- less than an hour to the top. Excellent views.

You might see a rock hyrax. Deer, baboons, mongooses all wandering between the lodges.

Long walk to restaurant (0.9 km from furthest lodges) but an interesting old building. Plenty of birds to see. Rooms comfortable and fridge provided with small kitchen area." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2012
"We like this place, nice and quiet at this time of year. Our bungalow was fine .

There was a welcome breeze which helped to keep the now hot temperatures comfortable. There seemed to far fewer baboons this time but those who were around were no problem. Many birds seen particularly Hoopoe's, groups of banded mongoose and several Dik-Diks.
Food at the restaurant was pretty good and reasoneable priced.

We don't quite understand the deposit system as nobody seems to check anything." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2012
"The rooms were very private and nicely done with fantastic views. Each chalet had a plunge pool which was great, but we had to request that ours was cleaned before it could be used and this was done.

The restaurant area was a little barn like and impersonal for our taste, although with fantastic views and again had a metal roof so proved quite hot. The food was bordering on average/poor and the main course was far too salty. Table service was very poor., e.g. plates and bowls of food were banged down on the table, when told a glass provided for water was chipped, the waiter ignored it and left, we had to go to the bar and get the glass and water replaced.

This lodge is very convenient for getting up to the plateau, but would not recommend more than one night. The Wilderness Lodge would have been a better place to stay for us, although the rooms are a little less private but looked very nice and without the far reaching views. The guided walk was good and again spectacular views, before you go you need to accept as Expert Africa have pointed out the guides are not very knowledgeable about wildlife." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Judd
London

"Unlikely to go back"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2012
"Our visit to Waterberg was one we will be in no rush to report. Staff on arrival were both aggressive and unfriendly and after a long drive that's not the kind of reception we really wanted. Room was very basic and like all resorts ran by NWR we seemed to spend our entire stay signing paperwork, even when going in for breakfast! Service in restaurant was hit and miss and is a location that caters for large overland groups which seemed to always take priority." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr P, Mrs A & Mr W
UK

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2012
"The accommodation was a one room chalet, with fridge, bathroom and outside braii area. It was fairly spartan, but functional and what we expected. We had mongoose and baboons running around outside, and it was nice to feel that we were amongst nature. A mattress had been provided for our son, but no bedding, which was a bit of a palaver, as the housekeeping staff were off duty, leaving Philip the restaurant manager to hunt around for bedding. When he had his first ever go at putting a duvet inside its cover (unsuccessfully!) we wished we'd had our video camera. It was very funny.

We had been to a supermarket in Windhoek to buy snacks, beer and fruit and were glad we had - the shop inside the park (and the only one for miles) was expensive. The restaurant and bar were good value though, and portion sizes were enormous.

The walks around the camp were enjoyable - nice to spend time out of the car, and the views from the top of the hill after climbing up were amazing. You need to be able bodied for Waterberg. I'm not sure you'd get much out of game drives here, it's all about walking (and the paths are rocky and uneven) and scrambling.

The swimming pool was freezing, but it was a nice place to sit and relax for a few hours in the hot part of the day." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 62
75%
62 reviews of Waterberg Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
34
16
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Waterberg Plateau National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wild'ss Lodge

Holiday in Namibia's Waterberg Plateau National Park whilst based at the Waterberg Wilderness Lodge.


81% (30 reviews)
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Although outside the Waterberg Plateau National Park, Waterberg Plateau Lodge has perhaps the most spectacular views of the lodges in this area.


82% (11 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa