This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp

Reviews of Waterberg Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberg Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Waterberg Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

67% success

Eland

50% success

Oryx

50% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Roan antelope

33% success

White Rhino

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Dr I
London

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2012
"The Waterberg camp was good albeit quite basic (which I expected). Apart from a few dead cockroaches, my room was clean.

The food was fine and the restaurant service was excellent. Overall, really kind and helpful staff. I went for a lovely walk but was unable to go on the morning drive as I was a lone traveller and the only person booked in (min 2 people). This was disappointing. Otherwise, a lovely place in beautiful surroundings. Loved the baboons!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Kent

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2011
"lovly location.nicely set out and friendly helpful staff" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr G x 4
Norway

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2011
"We only stayed one night, therefore no activities were available.
The staff told us that we had to stay for at least 2 nights to get the sundowner trip, a little dissapointing.

We did the walk to the viewpoint on top of the escarpment ourselves, nice view.
If we had known that we could not join the evening drive, we would have driven directly to Etosha." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"Beautiful area. A great place for walking around by yourself.

We also went on a game drive on top of the plateau. The guide was very informative and funny and we saw a lot of wildlife (much more than we expected).

While we were there the swimming pool was out of order. It didn't look like anything was done to fix it either." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Mrs C
UK

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2011
"The only place in the itinerary I wouldn't rush back to. Lovely setting but from there it wasn't so good. We paid our $500 dollars deposit but got to our room to find a glass missing and no bulb in our bathroom. We needed a mattress to be put in the children's room and when we got back from our walk, we found it dumped outside the door.

The kiosk wasn't open so we had to try and cobble a bit of lunch together from what was for sale in the shop (bread and peanut butter!) We were told to make a reservation for dinner, but at the rsetaurant we were told we didn't need to. We got to the restaurant just after 7 and didn't get our meals till 8.15. It was a menu service rather than the buffet like at the other NWR resorts and tehre just didn't seem to be enough people in the kitchen. When my son got his steak, which was meant to be well done, it was still bleeding, so that delayed his meal even further.

We did complain (which we very rarely do), but there had been no apology or explanation as to why the food took so long. The lady we spoke to was initially quite rude, agreed to take the cost of the cheapest meal off the bill and then did apologise. Breakfast the following morning was fine but we headed off to Okonjima straight after breakfast. Our $500 was returned without the room being checked. Credit card payments fine here too" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Belgium

"Waterberg Camp"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2011
"We stayed one night at Waterberg Camp at the start of our trip, on our way up to the east side of Etosha. We weren't planning to do much at Waterberg except rest after a long flight from Europe. The accommodation was clean and the restaurant served good value food. We did an activity in the morning before we left: a morning drive around the plateau. We didn't spot much game but the ride was pleasant nonetheless." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jan 2011
"Overall the stay at Waterberg was very good. The staff were very good. Some parts of the challet area seemed a little bit run down but they had obiously suffered water damage to some of the paving. The roadways could do with some extra lighting. The walk to the restaurant in the dark was somewhat intimidating especially as we had encountered baboons in the road during the afternoon but it has a marvelous setting.

The wildlife/game drive was excellent.

Overall the experience was very good." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs JC
Stroud

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Nov 2010
"Another touch of luxury, but no time to do much other than climb to the top of the plateau." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Leeds

"Scaling the heights"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2010
"This place was the only one we stayed at that was run by NWR. There was a marked diference in the attitude of the staff. They were pleasant enough, but took their time dealing with diners for example, and tended to disappear completely or stand around chatting in groups.

The rooms were very good and spacious, but not entirely baboon proof, as they have seemingly learned to unlatch the outer door, which they did whilst Sandra and me were admiring a thunderstorm in the distance. As a result one got in and munched through some snacks that we had.

The food menu in the restaurant was uninspiring, although what they offered was well cooked and presented.

The evening game drive was a little disappointing as it was nearly an hours drive to the plateau, and the vegetation etc meant that game spotting was difficult. We did visit a couple of waterholes and did get to see a white rhino. Overall the knowledge of the guide/driver outweighed the relatively high cost (N$450 each). I know that Chris' guide book covers some or all of these points.

We did hike up the mountain trail and it was well worth the effort." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Stroud

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Nov 2010
"Our bungalow was spacious and equipped with a fridge.
Food and service at the restaurant were good.
We were able to walk up to the view point at the plateau in the early morning for a wonderful view, worth the hard scramble to get there.
The staff in the office were friendly and chatty." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 62
75%
62 reviews of Waterberg Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
34
16
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Waterberg Plateau National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wild'ss Lodge

Holiday in Namibia's Waterberg Plateau National Park whilst based at the Waterberg Wilderness Lodge.


81% (30 reviews)
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Although outside the Waterberg Plateau National Park, Waterberg Plateau Lodge has perhaps the most spectacular views of the lodges in this area.


80% (13 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa