This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp

Reviews of Waterberg Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberg Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Waterberg Camp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

67% success

Eland

50% success

Oryx

50% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Roan antelope

33% success

White Rhino

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Miss T & Mr B
London

"very pretty and worht a visit."

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2010
"Once again there were no issues about the inventory and the staff were more than happy to take a passport as key deposit. Guests do not have to worry about having to keep N$500 in cash on them if near the end of their holiday. Credit card payments are straightforward.

The game drive was again disappointing. The vehicle was fine but the wildlife guide seemed more interested in talking about the political situiation in Namibia than the wildlife !

The lodge staff were very pleasant and helpful ." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & sons
London

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"Ex turn of the 20th century German police camp halfway up the Waterberg hills. Chalet was 2 double rooms each with en-suite bathroom. Overnight stay did not include entry fee into the park that had to be paid before departure as a separate item.

The lighting from the chalets to the restaurant in the old police station was virtually non-existent so I would recommend driving even though it is not very far. Dinner and breakfast were good, with more than adequate choice of menu.

I recommend the walk up to the top of the Waterberg for sunrise - takes about 1/2 hour. The views are stunning and early in the morning the dassies are also out as were the mongooses on the lawn outside the restaurant

This is a good location to visit the Cheetah Conservation Fund reserve Otjiwarongo, B1 north, turn right on the D2440 (130 km each way).

We did not use the pool." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Activities:
Good
Mr P & Mrs P
Holland

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2010
"We had read other travelers' comments on the state-run camps and I must day the comments were wrong for all NWR camps.

We enjoyed great service and good food in everyone of them. At Waterberg the service might have been slower than in a 5-star hotel, but the friendliness of the staff was ample compensation. Besides, who's in a hurry?" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
4 travellers
UK & Zam

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2010
"A good stay, mainly as we could walk, after days in a car in Etosha. Though in fact there are not many walks and we had done them in half a day.

Bungalows basically fine but no frills except kettle & tea & coffee. We were 2 couples in one car but they separated us by one bungalow - which was never occupied.

Simple food was OK, but the chef seemed to be having a couple of bad days. Don't ask for poached eggs unless you want them cooked in vinegar! Staff were friendly and helpful.

It was a pity that there was no information about the plants, animals or birds in the area, even to buy." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Hants

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2010
"We were not impressed by the attitude of the reception desk on first arrival, but, as they got to know us this improved. Otherwise, everyone in the restaurant was very friendly and helpful and the food was good.

We enjoyed the views overlooking the Kalahari from the restaurant balcony. The rooms altho' basic were clean and comfortable - it was nice to have the use of a fridge and to be able to make ourselves the odd cup of tea or coffee.

We enjoyed our walk up to the plateau and the walks were well signposted." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C
Cyprus

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Nov 2009
"A delightful stopover en route to Etosha. The walk up to the plateau was well signposted. However, there is need to improve signage when coming down. I and another couple got lost on the way down and came face to face with a fence. I an the other couple walked seperately." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M-S
UK

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2009
"We stayed one night on the way to Etosha, and did not participate in the activities, apart from walking one of the self-guided trails (probably not the best one in retrospect). We would have hiked to the top of the plateau, but found it too hot in November to do so.

We thought the restaurant and service were excellent, despite previous comments to the contrary.

Saw baboons and mongooses outside the chalets, and plenty of birds." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms P
Norfolk

"Very unimpressed, service was appauling"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2009
"Room was very basic, clean and comfortable. Service at reception was very unwelcoming and receptionist was quite offhand. A poorly photocopied map was thrust in front of me showing the basic layout off the area and I was given instructions of how to try and locate my lodge.

Having settled in I decided to go for a walk and see the area and ended up back in the vicinity of the reception, where there is s "shop" ( very poorly stocked and dirty). The sales person gave me the opinion that I was putting her out when I wanted to purchase a bottle of water. Later when I went to dinner, the resturant staff were very off hand and it seemed that the fact that they already had 4 tables to serve, was more than they were capable of dealing with ( despite there being 8 staff around).

It took 15 minutes to be given a menu, a further 10 minutes to be offered a drink, and a further 20 minutes to have my food order taken. When the food arrived some 20 minutes later, it was tasteless and tough. Having had my plate cleared I sat a further 30 minutes hoping that I might get the dessert I ordered, but instead the bill was thrust in front of me- at which point I decided to leave before the amazing time that I had being having up until my stay at this location was ruined.

Willing to brush this experience aside as a one off, the following morning I went down to breakfast early as I needed to make an early start. When I arrived the breakfast was not set up and when I asked if I could get breakfast, I was told to wait on the veranda. 45 minutes later, the coffee and fruit juices had emerged, but there was no cereal, yoghurt, fruit or toast available. A further 20 minutes later I finally managed to have something to eat, but the bread was stale- whereupon I decided that it would be better to make a hasty departure and left the Waterberg Plateau Camp immediately.

At this point in time, I certainly will not recommend this place to anyone or return to it myself. Some serious customer service training seems to be needed across the board, particulary in the restaurant." See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"Lovely setting - great walks"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"Good location for a first stop after Windhoek.

Fantastic views from comfortable rooms in a spacious rest camp. A curiously old fashioned restaurant serving standard NWR fare.

The high spot is the walks, whether accompanied or not, and the prolific bIrd life and fascinating flora and fauna in an envirnment unusual in Namibia by having plenty of water." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Family P
Belgium

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2009
"Having heard bad things about Waterberg Camp during our trip, we were not sure what to expect, but were very pleasantly surprised. We were given two bungalows next to each other and kept company by our own group of 4 dik-diks. It was nice to be able to BBQ on our private terrace.

Although baboons are apparently a problem in some parts of the park we didn't even see one during our stay. The rock mountain towering above the camp is impressive, but as we were only here one night we didn't have time to explore much. The swimming pool was large and clean.

One small thing that should perhaps be clarified to new visitors is that although it says on the paper you receive on arrival that breakfast is until 9.30am, you do in fact need to get there by 8.30 to place your order and even then we were told off for being late!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 62
75%
62 reviews of Waterberg Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
34
16
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Waterberg Plateau National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wild'ss Lodge

Holiday in Namibia's Waterberg Plateau National Park whilst based at the Waterberg Wilderness Lodge.


81% (30 reviews)
Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Waterberg Plateau Lodge

Although outside the Waterberg Plateau National Park, Waterberg Plateau Lodge has perhaps the most spectacular views of the lodges in this area.


80% (13 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa