This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr I from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

My trip to Africa

Namibia between 6 Jun 2012 and 26 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"My trip to Namibia was, overall, amazing! Life changing even.

I drove through bush fires and was chased by a bull elephant! Man, it was exiting! And I was followed by a baboon for an hour during one of my walks. Probably thought I looked a bit lonely. :-D The only niggly thing was not getting vegetarian food on the flights as that had not been specified. Apart from that, I am definitely going back as soon as I can.

For a woman driving on her own, I had few problems except with the usual, i.e. men with far too much testosterone. I know how to handle that though so it wasn't a problem. I loved driving around on my own for three weeks. Best thing I ever did.

Next time, I won't bother with Swakopmund though. The only place I disliked despite the kind and friendly people. Just too weird for me (i.e. German town in Namibia) and in any case, I was in Namibia for the flora and fauna, not towns and buildings. I'm glad I went though as I wouldn't have known that had I not been.

Overall, a great holiday! Me = Happy! :-D"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive grove - Excellent."

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2012
"Olive grove was quite excellent.

Really lovely room, friendly and helpful staff and fantastic food. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. The bath tub! Oh my God. Bliss!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2012
"The Waterberg camp was good albeit quite basic (which I expected). Apart from a few dead cockroaches, my room was clean.

The food was fine and the restaurant service was excellent. Overall, really kind and helpful staff. I went for a lovely walk but was unable to go on the morning drive as I was a lone traveller and the only person booked in (min 2 people). This was disappointing. Otherwise, a lovely place in beautiful surroundings. Loved the baboons!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2012
"I loved this place.

The facilities were excellent, the food was good, the staff were really kind and helpful and the room was fantastic and comfortable with heating/air-conditioning (I was there in June so the nights were cold).

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2012
"The Dolomite camp in Western Etosha was just magical.

The lodges were amazing with views out over the Etosha and its animals. The staff were kind and helpful and the food was exceptional. Highly recommended.

If there in June, make sure you bring thermal underwear. The nights are cold!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2012
"The setting around Twyfelfontein Country Lodge was just amazing.

I only stayed one night but wish I had stayed a few more days. The room was clean and comfortable and the activities highly recommended - loved the drive through the desert/savannah to see the desert elephants and the Welwitschias. Great guide and interesting information about the local flora and fauna.

Overall, an amazing place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Damara Mopane Lodge

"Damara Mopane Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2012
"I only stayed one night but it was a comfortable stay with really kind and helpful staff. The food here is just fantastic.

Best vegetables I have ever had."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2012
"The Erongo Wilderness Lodge is just brilliant with extremely helpful staff and great activities.

Overall, the most professional place I stayed in in Namibia. A really special place with fantastic food and helpful, kind and knowledgeable staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2012
"Central Guest House in Swakopmund was really clean and comfortable with kind and helpful staff and an excellent breakfast.

It's central location was useful with just a short walk down to the sea."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2012
"The desert homestead is situated in the most amazing area.

I went on a great walk up the mountain on my first day and the views from up there were amazing. Although the horse riding I had booked and paid for was initially cancelled due to the movement of horses, I eventually did some the following day which I thoroughly enjoyed. Lovely, kind horses and a really nice young lady took us out.

I was unable to go an a guided tour to Sossusvlei and nearby attractions (only me booked with a min of two requirement) and had it not been for an old Gentleman American taking me there with his private driver/guide (who knew the area well), I would have missed the horse riding as I couldn't possibly have driven through it all in the same amount of time to make it back on time. That was lucky! Apart from that, the stay was great with amazing food and kind and helpful staff.

Highly recommended."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2012
"Kalahari Anib Lodge was nice but quite basic. Clean room and comfortable bed. After having been to the Etosha, the safari drive was okay but, again, basic in comparison (perhaps start here and then go north rather than the other way round). Great for kids though (and the one's on my safari loved it!).

The food was fantastic and the staff were probably the kindest and friendliest of all throughout my three week trip. They did indeed make me feel very welcome. For a traveller like myself, it was a good and clean place for a brief stop-over.

If you have kids, it's an excellent place if you don't mind it a bit touristy. Amazing red sand!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2012
"Amazing B&B in a good Windhoek location. Really friendly and helpful staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team