This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Belgium

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Namibia- would go again and again

Namibia between 29 May 2011 and 12 Jun 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful second trip to Namibia. Our first focused on the scenery, and our second focused on Etosha. Our itinerary was: Waterberg-Mushara-Halali-Okaukeujo-Ongava-Etendeka-Grootberg-Okonjima. We loved it!

We've already recommended Expert Africa to our friends, and we'd happily book with Expert Africa for our next trip."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2011
"We stayed one night at Waterberg Camp at the start of our trip, on our way up to the east side of Etosha. We weren't planning to do much at Waterberg except rest after a long flight from Europe. The accommodation was clean and the restaurant served good value food. We did an activity in the morning before we left: a morning drive around the plateau. We didn't spot much game but the ride was pleasant nonetheless."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara- wonderful!"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2011
"Our first Etosha camp (after which we went to Halali, Okaukeujo and Ongava) and it did not dissapoint. A beautiful place, great food and very friendly staff. We travelled as a couple and the presence of a young family did not bother us at all (the camp actively welcomes children- but they are kept well entertained with toys and their own play area). The room was lovely- four poster bed, a coffee/tea station stocked up with biscuits. A very relaxing place to come back to after our drives into Etosha.
The Eastern Etosha gate is less than 5 minutes drive away and its a great area to explore. Very different from other areas of Etosha. During our stay there we saw a leopard on the first day (in the morning) and on the second day, a leopard and her two cubs playing by the side of the road (in the evening). Very rare sightings which we were lucky to see.
We were advised that staying at Mushara would be more comfortable than staying at Namutoni (the government camp, within Etosha) and we were advised very well.

This camp was one of our favourite places in our whole trip and we are looking forward to returning!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali- good location, small waterhole"

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2011
"Halali camp was a pleasant experience. The room was basic but clean and the restaurant was fine. The highlight of staying here is the small waterhole that they have at the back of the compound. We sat there in the evenings and watched a couple of rhino come to drink. If one is planning to cover as much of Etosha as possible then Halali is a must because the distance between Namutoni and Okaukeujo is too great to be able to cover all the central waterholes as well."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo- good waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2011
"We were pleasantly surprised with Okaukeujo. We had a waterhole villa that was just steps away from the waterhole and the room was clean and well appointed. The waterhole itself was superb- much larger than Halali's and very well populated with game. Hundreds of zebras formed an orderly queue in the evening to drink, followed by elephant, and after sunset, a few rhino as well. We got into a bit of a routine of driving ourselves around during the day, coming back for dinner (buffet style) and then settling ourselves on one of the benches facing the waterhole until late in the evening. We'd happily go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava- lions, rhino and great guiding"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2011
"We had a good time here. Staff were very friendly and the room was big and well appointed. We had a great time on our drives around the area. We saw a lionness and her four cubs (very cute) and we even had the opportunity to approach a couple of rhino on foot!

I celebrated my birthday here and that was lovely. The staff brought out a cake and there was plenty of singing and dancing. A really nice personal touch!

The only downside that I have to mention was that for one night during our stay we were joined by a loud group of young travel agents (I must say none from Expert Africa). Unfortunately, they had no concern for paying guests (nor, does it seem, much for their lovely hosts at Ongava who were trying to make them as comfortable as possible) and dominated the dinner table by being loud and kept us up late into the evening around the fire (our tent was the closest to the fire/main area of the camp). We mentioned this to the Ongava staff, but of course the behaviour of others is something that they have little control over. I was relieved when the left the next day. We were meant to move onwards to Ongava Lodge and when I heard that the travel agents had also moved there I asked if we could stay instead at the tented camp. Thankfully, they accommodated us.

On the whole, a positive experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2011
"We had a good time here. Staff were very friendly and the room was big and well appointed. We had a great time on our drives around the area. We saw a lionness and her four cubs (very cute) and we even had the opportunity to approach a couple of rhino on foot!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka- the real wilderness"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2011
"Wow. This place felt really off the beaten track. It took some time to get to but it was very much worth it. It felt like being out in the true wilderness, with nothing but rolling hills (and desert elephant) around you, and nothing but sky above you (and what a sky it was!). Dennis, the owner, gave us a great welcome. Great story telling and a bit of astromomy in the evenings by the fire. We are so happy to have experienced Etendeka and would love to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg- views!"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2011
"Great views over the canyon and a good place to stop for a rest after Etosha. We didn't do much here but that was why we came- for a relaxing time and to enjoy the views."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima- cheetahs and leopards"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2011
"By far the largest rooms we had on our trip. Two large double beds facing a single large window (almost floor to ceiling) to give you a view of the plains. Food was also excellent.

The highlight of the visit (and of course why everyone comes) is to see the cheetahs and leopards that they rehabilitate. The cheetahs are radio collared (making it a very different experience from spotting game at Etosha) but this at least gives one the opportunity to find them easily and get up close. The camp is quite busy (it seems to be a "must do" for most) so expect that there will be two or three 4x4s setting off at the same time as yours. This place has more of a "business" feel to it, but having said that, the opportunity to come close to cheetah was too good for us to miss."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team