This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Kingsley

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2016 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 23 Sep 2016 and 13 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have been to Namibia before and it definitely did not disappoint this time, such a magical country.

It was our first time in Botswana and we loved it and would like to see more, as is always the case in Africa in my experience. The people were so friendly and the wildlife amazing.

Victoria Falls was also good and we were glad we took your advice about seeing the falls from the Zimbabwe side as there was plenty of water! It was also a nice little town to wander around with interesting history, a good end to our trip."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

"Olive Exclusive review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2016
"Very nice hotel in good location that is easy to find from the airport. Huge room and good balcony.

Only there for one night so we ate in their restaurant and the food and the service were excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2016
"The lodge is in a good location with walks and views of the plateau. The rooms are basic but adequate although it took us a while to realise we were in a refurbished one! However the outside areas around the rooms are lovely and the visit of the dik diks,a hare and a variety of birds more than compensated.

The massive disappointment were the facilities. There is a bar but whilst there is an outside sitting area there are no tables and chairs and the paving is breaking up. We ate in the restaurant as there is nowhere else to go and the first night was a buffet and although chaotic with queues the food was quite good. The second night was a la carte and again was OK as long as you didn't want exactly what you ordered, we settled for near enough.

The swimming pool was very dirty, full of leaves and the filtration system didn't seem to be working at all with some of the grids around the edge broken and quite dangerous.

We took an early morning safari drive up on to the plateau and that was excellent with a very good guide"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2016
"We have been to this camp before so knew what to expect. However we had a much nicer room than last time comfortable and spacious and very close to the water hole which was the highlight of the stay. We were only there one night but were lucky enough when we went to the waterhole after dinner to see nine rhinos all at one time interacting with each other, really brilliant.

Only slight worry is there seems to be a lot of coaches now driving around Etosha and all the camps seem to have large parties in them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

"Mokuti Etosha Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2016
"Very pleasant lodge with good facilities, lovely gardens, good food and very friendly and helpful staff.

Good for relaxing by the pool but still only a few minutes from the entrance to Etosha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"Getting to the lodge from the main tarred road takes forever especially after an already long drive and getting back the following morning was even harder as they only signpost one way!

The location by the river is lovely but the rooms have definitely seen better days and the electricity goes off in the evenings so no fans. The food was good but one night was enough.

Highlight of the visit was picking up petrol in the completely chaotic garage in Rundu!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"Nunda River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2016
"Excellent location, lovely spacious rooms with a big balcony overlooking the river, hippos and crocs. Nice bars and restaurant on decks over the river with good food and very friendly staff.

Drove to Mahango National park which is very close and was most enjoyable and did a sunset cruise to Popa Falls with an excellent guide and great views of the wildlife and birds. The cruise took an unexpected turn halfway through as our guide did a mid river rescue of some Germans whose boat was stuck on the rocks as the engine had failed. Much more exciting than we ever could have imagined !

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could have stayed longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

"Nambwa Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"Did not get off to a good start as we waited over an hour to be picked up at the entrance to the park. We then had to drive to where we were leaving our car and had an hours drive to get to the camp.

The camp itself is located right on the river on wooden platforms so the views all round are good. The tents are huge and well equipped and whilst I accept it may be an old fashioned view I still like my bath in the bathroom not in the bedroom !

There is a large living area in the tents but we prefer to be outside and although there is a balcony all round the tent there are no sunbeds anywhere and no pool.
The evening meals were disappointing as the food although OK was cold by the time it got to you, nothing worse than cold soup. The service very hit and miss, we ordered two glasses of wine the first night and they arrived after we had finished our main course. We also asked what was on the menu that night and the waiter didn't know and there was no written menu.

The best thing were the activities with the excellent Beaven, an early morning river cruise and an evening game drive. Thankfully they were good as they were extremely expensive, more than double the price we paid elsewhere.

For me this is somewhere that is trading in style over substance and needs to provide more than a pretty tent."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Garden Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2016
"We just loved it here, the location is perfect and everyone so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and the rooms lovely.

We did evening river trips and morning game drives with the excellent John who was so knowledgeable and showed us so many fantastic animals and birds. Could have stayed longer and would like to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"Perfect location only a short walk from the falls. Lovely room with great views of the spray from the falls in the distance and very pretty gardens.

Elephants, warthogs and mongoose in the grounds of the hotel. Good restaurant with fantastic food and nice swimming pool, whats not to like!

Great end to our holiday and perfect place to relax for a couple of days."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Ra-Ikane River Cruise

"Booze cruise!!"

10 Oct 2016 • Afternoon excursion

Slightly disappointed as we were expecting to cruise slightly further and see a bit more of the river and unfortunately on that particular night not much of a sunset.

The boat was lovely, and the crew excellent and we did still enjoy it but the emphasis seemed to be on the drinking rather than the scenery.

Maybe just spoiled after our cruises in Chobe.

My Oct 2013 trip

Namibia between 7 Oct 2013 and 23 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"A brilliant holiday, Namibia is a really magical place and far exceeded all our expectations.

Everything had been organised really well allowing us to just enjoy ourselves.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Make them cheaper so we can go on more !!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"Easy to find from airport, lovely room, good food and service.

Would have liked another night here to see more of Windhoek"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2013
"Hosts were friendly and helpful. Lovely sitting down to dinner with the family and learning about farming in Namibia from someone so obviously passionate about what they do. The area they farm is extensive with challenging wild life problems so Ernst's views were fascinating.

Excursion to Quiver Tree Gorge with Ernst as guide was brilliant , lots of mountain zebras, kudu, babboons etc.
Also really good walks self guided around the farm and chance to enjoy the lovely location and scenery.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and was an excellent introduction to Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Breakfast in the Dunes brilliant!"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2013
"Could not have a better location and being able to see the sunrise before other people in the dunes was a privilege.

The guide for the Sunrise tour was excellent and the breakfast amongst the dunes an experience never to be forgotten.
Also went to Dune 45 for sunset - spectacular!

The staff generally could not have been more helpful and friendly. Luckily all our luggage was taken to our room as it was a bit of a hike on the boardwalks as we were in one of the furthest rooms. The room itself was a joy and the stars at night spectacular.

A very special place, would have liked to stay longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Great location for Beach Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2013
"Drove into Swakopmund in a sandstorm so possibly not a good introduction. The location of Beach Lodge was really good but it was VERY cold while we were here so could not take full advantage of the spectacular beach. However a couple of very windy beach walks enabled us to see the paddling flamingos and lots of other bird life. Our room had lovely views although on an upper floor and no lift.

The Wreck restaurant was not open on Sunday so we ate in Swakopmund. Tried several restaurants without success as the girl on reception had recommended places but not said we needed to book. Eventually got into KUCKIES after a wait which was not too much of a hardship as the bar was good and the seafood was excellent. Ate in the Wreck restaurant at the hotel on Monday but a bit disappointing, the food was good but not as nice as the night before. I felt they were trying too hard to be upmarket so was not really a relaxing atmosphere."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Desert elephants a highlight"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2013
"View of the 'fort ' on approach looked rather like Alcatraz !! Not the most welcoming of buildings but luckily better inside than out.

The rooms were also splendid so first impressions not always correct! The elephant drive was a huge success, with a lot of elephants to the pound and the guide excellent. The visit to the village was really interesting and the people really keen to share their way of life with us. Anyone who thinks they have a hard life should definitely go there and experience how happy and welcoming these people are in very difficult circumstances. We also learnt that empty coke cans keep elephants away from your tomato plants!

The staff were friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2013
"This definitely was very like Butlins with lions but however the location and waterhole were such a big plus that it didn't matter.

It was a great base to explore the park and the sheer numbers and variety of animals around is mind boggling. The room was OK,a bit dark, but we spent very little time in it as there was so much to see. The swimming pools were pleasant and much appreciated in the hot afternoons.

The restaurant was a self service buffet and was OK but not all elements turned up at the right time and service, seating and amount of cutlery were very hit and miss. Had a local school singing one night and that was excellent.

The only organised activity we took part in was the night drive and we saw a huge amount of night, the occasional rhinos rear end retreating into the distance, but little else. The driver was not to be deterred and he drove us endlessly for hours only stopping after a near collision with an extremely large, very cross elephant. An interesting experience but not one I would recommend.

When we left we drove to the other end of Etosha which was very different and I would have liked to have spent a bit more time in maybe one of the other lodges in the park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2013
"An interesting experience but not my favourite accommodation, I think I am too old to really appreciate tents and it was much more like camping than I expected. A long walk to our tent from the restaurant. This camp would probably be more appreciated by people with children.

Having said that the staff were delightful, the swimming pool lovely, and the main restaurant area and camp fire in the evening was really good. The food here was also excellent, as was the service. The wart hog lawnmowers were a huge success and loved by everyone."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2013
"Although much more of a managed 'safari park' type reserve than Etosha with less variety of animals it was still very enjoyable and being able to see a cheetah in such close proximity on foot is a huge thrill. Our driver for the cheetah walk was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable and the sundowner a perfect end to the day.

We wish we had stayed here for longer as would also have liked to do the leopard tracking as we had not seen one elsewhere. The only down side is we felt the activities on offer were a bit of a 'hard sell' and making money was important.

The rooms were excellent with spectacular views and facilities generally very good. Staff friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team