This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from Picton, NZ

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

Welcome to Africa Trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 1 Jun 2019 and 28 Jun 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"A-MA-ZING absolutely amazing. It was way better than I expected and a great experience.

I was surprised by the beauty of the landscape in Namibia despite its dryness. It was easy to travel around, the people were so helpful at our accommodation places and the camping was a great experience. It worked well interspersing a couple of days camping between the lodges and everything that your company organised went to plan.

The planning was meticulous with lots of essential and background information provided to ensure we had a successful trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service: Adding the timing of the afternoon game drives/activities at the various lodges may be helpful as we missed some."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Comforable Villa Violet"

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2019
"Very clean and comfortable , helpful staff secure parking and good breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Sesriem Campsite

"Sesriem Campsite Experience"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2019
"Hot water system needs to be improved as it ran out. Also could do with more hooks on the door to hang clothes while showering.

The campsite was very good with a shade tree."
Good
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Stay among the rocks @Barchan Dune Retreat"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2019
"Very friendly hosts who aimed to please us and provide a good service.

Unfortunately the water for the shower was cold but otherwise the room was very comfortable.

We were advised to travel up to the nearby Spreetshoogte Pass to watch the sunset which was well worthwhile."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2019
"Very comfortable rooms and good facilities.

Excellent breakfast where the host met us and answered our many questions about Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Madisa Campsite

"Madisa Campsite experience"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2019
"A nice campsite set among some beautiful rocks.

New managers were very friendly and helpful. Good pool. We needed to heat the fire for longer to get the water hot enough but a great experience and lovely setting."
Good
Location
Excellent
Activities
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

" Grand view at Grootberg"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2019
"Interesting drive up to the lodge but a magnificent view from the lodge (and pool) when we got there.

Very good evening meal. Staff were helpful and friendly. Arrived too late for us to do activities so saw no animals there.

Other guests reported zebra sittings and there was evidence of that near the buildings in the morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

"Opuwo Country Lodge experience"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2019
"Entrance area at gate needs to be tidied up to make it look more attractive as well as better signage as its not until you drive through this area and around the back of the hill that this beautiful lodge is revealed. Amazing views and good service.

We didn't do any drives so saw no animals."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Omarunga Camp

"Omarunga Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2019
"Beautiful setting other than the crocodiles in the river which was very close.

Some sort of barrier along the bank would provide a sense of security. Hot water was an issue one night when there was a bigger number of people there.

Himba visit was very interesting and the guide was very informative."
Good
Location
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge and game drive"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2019
"A very comfortable and relaxing place to stay with attentive and helpful staff. Excellent meal and great to be able to look out and see elephants drinking from the waterhole in front of the lodge. Samual, the guide we had for the drive was a very skilled driver and did his best to ensure we saw as many animals as possible.

I did wonder if there should have been bars or canvas on the side of the vehicle as we saw on some other vehicles to give us more protection from the lions?"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Exposed Okaukeujo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2019
"Very very dusty and very little shelter and water not that hot. But great being able to sit and watch the animals coming to the water hole in front of the camp.

Excellent pool and handy having a shop there. General surroundings in the camping area need to be tidied up. Lots of wildlife on the way to the camp and afterwards. (We travelled west to east)"
Good
Location
Good
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Image alt

Onguma Campsite

"Relaxing Onguma Campsite"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2019
"Very private sheltered campsite with good facilities though occasionally we could smell sewerage.

Helpful staff at reception and excellent food in dining room. Lodge area in attractive setting with water hole in front."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Waterberg Guest Farm

"Warerberg Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2019
"Unfortunately we missed the afternoon game drive which would have been interesting but we did meet the manager pre dinner who was very helpful in answering our questions. We also met the owner the next morning who was very informative also. It may have been helpful to know what time the drives leave in advance so that we could plan accordingly.

Excellent room and shower as well as good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Luxury Ilala lodge"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2019
"Very pleasant stay in this comfortable lodge that has a lot of character.

Very attentive staff and excellent food and service in the dining room.

The icing on the cake was a pianist to entertain us during the evening meal, absolutely wonderful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

"Cheerful Chobe Camp"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"Absolutely excellent staff who entertained us with native music one night and the second night they sang to us to come to dinner, very special.

Jeremy, our guide really looked after us well. Great game viewings, boat trip along the Chobe river and picnic meals.

Rustic style accommodation with all the comforts including a hottie for cooler nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

"Magnificent Mapula"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2019
"Wow what a setting even without much water!. Really peaceful and attractive layout, very user friendly. Great caring staff who really added to the positive and relaxing experience we had here.

Our guide Glenn really worked on finding those elusive cats in such a large area and gave us plenty of time to get photos when we did find them. The guys who took us in the mokoras were friendly and knowledgeable and put us at ease with their expertise. B J and No No made us feel very welcome as did the rest of the staff. Food was amazing so thanks to the cook and his/her team.

Our only concern was the toilet that needed a bit of attention."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team