This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Barkhan Dune Retreat
Barkhan Dune Retreat
Barkhan Dune Retreat
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat


23°45’43.3"S 16°2’7.2"E

Reviews of Barkhan Dune Retreat

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Barkhan Dune Retreat and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Barkhan Dune Retreat.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Meerkat

75% success

Zebra

60% success

Oryx

50% success

Wildebeest

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs J
Dorking

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2014
"Rooms well appointed but double bed small compared to others; ac not up to heat and difficult to keep cool overnight.

Dinner was average and charging for wine needs to be made clear beforehand." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms T & Mr C
San Fran

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2013
"Great experience at Barchan Dune Retreat. William and Hannetjie are friendly, knowledgeable and entertaining!

We took a sundowner game drive with William, enjoyed the sunset and the drinks along with spectacular views and conversations. The dinner was family style with other traveller and our hosts. Food was yummy, wine was excellent and the conversations were priceless.

Definitely one of the highlights of our Namibian experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms L
Scotland

"KuanguKuangu review (Barchan Dune Retreat)"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2013
"Stunning but isolated location with exceptional views down the valley and no other houses in sight. The owners were pretty welcoming. There were actually no other guests staying at Barchan Dunes for the two nights that we were at KuanguKuangu. We had dinner in the farmhouse on the first night - very tasty Springbok steaks and nice to talk to the hosts.

KuanguKuangu itself is about 800m up a track from the farmhouse. It is charming but the bathroom was infested with wasps during the day which was a bit of a shame. On the second evening, one of the neighbouring farmers was shining a strong searchlight up the valley straight at the room which was a bit disconcerting to say the least. Apparently he is hunting jackals, but we pointed out to the hosts perhaps they should have a word with him not to disturb their guests!

Water is heated by a wood-burner but this doesn't take long.
The hosts brought us a braai-pack the second evening which was absolutely delicious.
The bed was very comfortable. Great view of the stars and we saw lots of mountain zebra not far from the door." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Unusual Barchan Dune"

1 night Arrived 8 Mar 2013
"Uniquely constructed accommodation in stunning landscape offering great sunset shadow views.

Welcoming and entertaining hosts supplied good food and copious quantities of wine, and dining with them in their home was a pleasure and most informative in respect of Namibian life and local knowledge etc.. We were too tired that day to partake of the offered sundowner drive but other guests enjoyed it.

A great place for a one or two night stay" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms G
Ireland

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2012
"ended up in the 'honeymoon chalet' which was approx 500 m from main house right in the heart of the mountains. Chalet beautifully built into rock with glass walls, which resulted in a view from the bed which you could not forget. Surrounded by mountains behind which the sun rose the following morning. outdoor shower and bathroom facilities was a unique luxurious experience.

if staying in barchan dune, definitely ask for the honeymoon suite. hosts very welcoming and entertaining." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms S & Mr D
South

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2011
"We arrived late after a long, but scenic drive, along the C27 from Helmeringhausen. We were hugely relieved that we had filled up on petrol in Sesriem as Solitaire had run dry!

Hannetjie and Willem made us feel very welcome. Dinner was delicious featuring a main of springbok taken from the property itself. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a stunning outlook down the valley.

The resident meerkats were very entertaining!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms J & Mr S
USA

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2011
"A nice place for a one night stop. The setting was lovely.

We enjoyed watching Coco (the dog) and the meerkats. We did not have time to do any activities." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
T Family
Auckland

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2011
"As the lodge was not sign marked well on the road from Swakopmund we nearly missed it !

Hidden in the natural landscapes - the rooms were large and clean albeit could do with a little bit of modernising.

Our hosts thought of everything - from the nibbles, cheese and wine as we watched the sunset, to the fresh coffee delivered to our room in the morning, the lovely afternoon tea comprising of freshly baked muffins, coffee and juice and then of course the beer / wine as we went on our sundowner drive.

Not a lot to do around the area but definately worth popping in to see the Meerkats and to enjoy the wonderful hospitality, food and wine" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2011
"Unbelievable, we felt like one of the family. Hannetjie and Willem were so welcoming. Lovely lovely room, lovely food and oodles of wine, we wished we were staying longer. We are glad that Sabina recommended breaking our journey here." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
6
Whangarei

"Amazing retreat, great hospitality"

1 night Arrived 11 Apr 2011
"Well off the beaten track, but well worth it. We were welcomed by Hannetjie with drinks and shown to our rooms which were built into the hillside (dune).

Spacious rooms, nicely appointed, very unusual setting, great views out over the farm towards the Spreetshoogte Pass. Barchan Dune retreat is totally solar powered. Willem was a very generous host, and dined with us, entertaining us with stories and responding to our many questions. We enjoyed a sumptuous meal of game, which he ducked out to the kitchen to cook himself. Breakfast the next morning was equally good.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 37
93%
37 reviews of Barkhan Dune Retreat by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa