This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Barkhan Dune Retreat
Barkhan Dune Retreat
Barkhan Dune Retreat
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat


23°45’43.3"S 16°2’7.2"E

Reviews of Barkhan Dune Retreat

Wildlife sightings and reviews

39 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Barkhan Dune Retreat and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Barkhan Dune Retreat.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Meerkat

83% success

Zebra

60% success

Oryx

50% success

Wildebeest

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 39
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S & Mr E
NSW

"Barchan Dune Retreat... a great farm stay"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2017
"The Barchan Dune Retreat web site is quite modest. Don't let that put you off. We had a delightful stay. It was our only farm stay with a private family and a nice change from bigger lodges.

We really enjoyed meeting Willem and Hannetjie and sharing their hospitality over a sundowner drink and our evening meal.

The rooms are architecturally interesting, being individual cabins built into the sand dunes. Very comfortable." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Retreat is just the right name for this place"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2016
"We had a very good two night stay at Barchan Dunes enroute from Wolwedans. Wileem and Hannjete were perfect hosts.

They have done a clever and nice job building the individual chalets into the dunes, at the end of a lovely and very quiet valley. Hannjete quietly ensured tea/coffee/beer was provided at multiple points through the day whenever we were back at the home.

Dinner around the table with the hosts were excellent and it felt like being house guests rather than paying guests. We had two enjoyable discussions with the hosts and other guests whilst drinks flowed (especially reducing Willem's whiskey stocks).

The walk up the hill behind the farm is well worth it for fabulous views.

Other guests went on agame drive with Willem and saw a great range of game including a very large herd of Oryx plus Zebra.

The Spreetshoogte Pass is also worth a visit - a very steep and twisting road up that gives incredible views across the plain and only 20 minutes from Barchan Dunes.

Overall a very nice place to relax in the middle of nowhere!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"A lovely retreat"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2016
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The owners are charming, very warm and welcoming. There is a nice homey atmosphere with pet dogs and a rescued pet meerkat.

The cottages are nicely spaced away from each other and are very spacious. Food is excellent, oryx the first night and then springbok the next, plus great starters and dessert. We ate with the owners and there was some great conversation over dinner.

We went on the sundowner drive around the very large farm and I recommend this. We also hiked the trail up the small mountain in the morning and came across a herd of mountain zebra who were very curious about us. This trail is worth doing and a great start to the day." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs G
Malaga

"Lovely, friendly place"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2016
"Beautiful setting with great views out to the valley and the morning sun moving up as we sipped tea on our verandah at first light.

Excellent, friendly hosts and it was fun and interesting to join them and the other guests for a very tasty dinner featuring springbok. It was quite hot for sleeping but we were there in January.

I would personally recommend 1 night rather than 2." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Colorado

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2015
"Had an amazing time with the owners of the lodge.

Wilhelm took us on a great drive on his ranch and cooked us an amazing meal from game on his property. We stayed up late drinking wine and scotch." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G B & Ms F S
UK

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2014
"As the name suggests: a "retreat" - very peaceful, quiet location; welcoming hosts and great food served in the hosts' dining room.

Could happily have stayed here another night, but was great as a stop over to break the journey.

They were apparently expecting us for lunch, but we had not noticed that. Not sure what happened there." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Dr J & Ms G
UK

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2014
"We loved this place and wished we had been here for the whole duration of our stay in the region (rather than at the N-N Lodge).

Very welcoming hosts, lovely meals shared around a communal table with the hosts, free-flowing good wine included, lovely accommodation, superb views. A refreshing place to spent our last proper day in Namibia." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Dr H
Berks

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2014
"We loved Barchan Dune Retreat. It is out of the way and I wouldn't recommend it as a base for exploring Sossusvlei and Sesriem Canyon but as a place to rest between there and Swakopmund/Walvis Bay it is hard to beat. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to explore the area but we enjoyed our time at the resort.

We joined our hosts for a tasty evening meal. The homely atmosphere made us feal more like personal guests than paying clients. The room was spacious and clean and the large windows provided panoramic views of the surrounding hills which glowed as the sun rose." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Taylor family
UK

"Escape from it all at Barchan Dune Retreat"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"Wow! This place is well and truly in the middle of nowhere and the main house and bungalows are half built into the earth so you can't see them until you are right upon it. Our bungalow was lovely and the view was amazing. It was so peaceful and quiet my words will not do it justice. I loved this place as there was nothing to do............you were forced to relax. No TV, no wifi, just the peace and quiet. If you want to get away from it all and like reading, painting, walking etc then this is perfect.

We had afternoon tea and cake delivered on a tray..... very civilised!!

The evening meal was sumptuous. You all ate together which can be quite daunting for some people but the hosts got the conversation started and everyone joined in.
I mentioned that I was going to walk up the hill next to the retreat in the morning for sunrise and when I got up at about 5.30am I noticed they had put a tray with a flask of hot tea out for me. This was such a lovely gesture.

The walk up the hill at sunrise is a must. The view is stunning and I happened acorss a herd of zebra..... not sure who was the more surprised!! We had only booked one night and were sad to leave as we had had such a relaxing time there. Highly recommended!" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Bristol

"Barchan Dune Retreat review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2014
"We were the only guests at this Retreat due to being early in the season. However, our hosts gave us a warm welcome and took over our difficulty with a shredded car tyre. The wheel was changed whilst we were at breakfast on our first morning. Meals here are taken around the dining table with our hosts. This was an amazing opportunity to learn more about Namibia and the difficulties of farming in such difficult terrain. The food was delicious and the wine was also.

The rooms are built into the dunes. They are spacious and have good hot showers. They are well decorated and the farmhouse/reception is a delightful building with very few right angles! Lots of beautiful artifacts are displayed and it was just like staying with friends. The outlook from the room was delightful as was the garden in front of the main house. The meercat was delightful to watch and Coco the Australian Sheepdog made us very welcome.

An evening drive across the farm to a high point to watch the sun set was delightful." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 39
93%
39 reviews of Barkhan Dune Retreat by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
9
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (353 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (201 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (191 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (105 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (71 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (44 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (20 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


88% (17 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (15 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


98% (10 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (2 reviews)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa