This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

154 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

89% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Zebra

38% success

Giraffe

10% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 154
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs E
Nyon

"Beautiful Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"We all loved Hoodia Desert Lodge, people were so nice, trying their best to make the guests happy, food was excellent, rooms were very clean and nicely decorated, the excursion was so enjoyable with great guiding.

This lodge is highly recommendable, it is a gem and affordable!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A & Mr M
Lagos

"Loved Hoodia Lodge..."

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2017
"Its fair to say that having driven from the superbly located Wolwedans the location of Hoodia Lodge was spectacular in its own way, but without the dramatic red dunes which so enhanced the Wolwedans experience, however that aside we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hoodia.

We did not meet or be introduced to the owners who from other reviews would appear to be very pro-active (which is evident) so perhaps they were absent?

Our arrival coincided with other guests and rather than be asked to wait a young unfortunately rather disinterested and vague employee was summoned to give our introductions and accompany us to our room. He informed us that he had been on duty since early morning and was very tired and about to go home as evidenced by his frequent yawning. This was unfortunate as the rest of the staff encountered during our stay could not have been more different - kind, friendly, efficient and personable.

Our rondavel type room was extremely well equipped. Not huge but with everything needed and practically arranged. Both indoor and outdoor showers, a refrigerator, air conditioning, ample tea, coffee and biscuits and plenty of plug sockets.
There was a small table with two chairs and also a covered outdoor seating area.

The communal areas, lounge and bar were exceptionally well decorated, warm and welcoming, and the dining room and outside patio were also sympathetically designed and located for maximum comfort and relaxing. We did not use the pool due to insufficient time but also nicely located with ample seating. Wi-fi was reasonable in the communal areas.

We thought the food for dinner and breakfast was very good and my dietary requirements were accommodated although the request had apparently not filtered to the kitchen on the first night even though the staff member noted it upon check in, however a perfectly appetizing plate was quickly arranged for me. The permanent tea and coffee station was appreciated and breakfast was also a good selection. We did not eat lunch on the day of arrival but were given a very good and welcome packed lunch on our day of departure.

We had privately pre booked a ballon excursion prior to arrival however this was cancelled due to wind. A shame but unavoidable.

Our stay included a day excursion to Sousselviei. We were six people in total, the two of us and two German couples. We all had a thoroughly enjoyable, but extremely windy day enhanced by our guide whose name I apologize that I cannot recall, but he had a good attitude, interesting conversation and was happy to share his knowledge. Lunch was excellent and he prepared a beautiful table for us in a great spot. Despite returning completely dusty and seemingly with half a desert in our hair, the day was well worth it and we were a group of happy people! It was busy but our guide managed to plan our time so that we did not feel overly crowded in the various spots we visited.

Hoodia Lodge manages to create a very informal, laid back and comfortable atmosphere with no feeling of superiority or aloofness and it was a wonderful place to stay, so many thanks to all the staff and to the owners for their attention to detail, care and hospitality." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H & Mr M
Madrid

"Wowwww, amazing"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2017
"Excellent lodge in a perfectly isolated location but close enough to visit the park.

We loved their dinners, their oryx kebab was something to remember !!

We highly reccommend the sundowner and the full day excursion to Sesriem." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms K
Brisbane

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2017
"Welcome place to recuperate at the end of a long day of seemingly endless bumpy roads. Very comfortable. We did the whole day excursion to Soussevlei and can thoroughly recommend it :)" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Middlesex

"Wonderful stay at Hoodia Desert Lodge "

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2017
"Hoodia exceeded our expectations. The welcome was so lovely…to be greeted with those iced flannels and chilled tea! The owner and all the staff were so friendly throughout our stay there. It was wonderfully deserted and all the facilities and the food were first class. My husband & I stayed in one lodge and our 3 (adult) sons shared another. The lodges were beautiful and we particularly enjoyed the outdoor showers. The main lodge building was luxurious and welcoming and the suppers and breakfasts were excellent.

We opted to do a fabulous, private day trip to Sossusvlei and the sand dunes, with a very knowledgeable and interesting guide. We left early in the morning and our guide showed us some of the wildlife in the desert…the spiders and the tracks of animals. We climbed 'Big Daddy' and our guide then served a lovely lunch in the shade with a linen tablecloth & fine wine. the day was a high spot of the holiday! We then walked in the canyon at Sesriem." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family H & L
Berks

"great!!"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2017
"Hoodia - nice, slow WiFi - but managed this. Very friendly service, rooms nice. Staff tried to "sell" us their own tour to Sossusvlei....but it was over £100pp. we did it much cheaper - maybe missed some key points, but was not concerned!

Nice to see the baboons and ostriches.

Great view of the milky way from this place!

could sit in main lodge with a couple of beers and enjoy the silence......enjoyed it." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs N
Purley

"Great lodge in the dessert"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2017
"A beautiful lodge in the dessert. Fantastic food, fantastic wine, and john was a super manager. Extremely helpful, professional and went out of his way to do his best. The trip to the dunes was super. An unforgettable experience." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Brighton

"Disappointing and unwelcoming place"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2017
"I have already passed our comments on, but this was the one dud part of our fantastic holiday.
The staff were surly, rude and unwelcoming from the start. We told the guide that I had a bad back and couldn't do much walking on the excursion to the Dunes, but we were placed with a (very nice) Swiss couple clearly wanted to go hiking up the Dunes. The guide, who was disinterested from the start, told us to wait by the Landrover whilst they went for a short walk. However, we were left alone for nearly two hours without water or anywhere to sit and did not receive any apology from the guide on his return or from the manager at the Lodge.
The room was nice - if a bit too small and the food was okay.
The location was amongst the least photogenic of the places we stayed on our trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Jules & Geoff
NZ

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"Hoodia was WONDERFUL. The owner and all the staff were fabulous and committed to making our stay as comfortable as possible.

The rooms and lodge were very comfortable and the views were stunning.The day trip into sossusvlei with the guide was WELL worth it - despite having our own transport we elected to take this trip with the guide and were not disappointed: very informative and very well put together package including a delightful lunch under a shady tree with a view (Plus oryx keeping a close eye on us!)

I would highly recommend staying at Hoodia." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AB
SW London

"Exceptional quality"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2017
"Hoodia is a wonderful place to stay. Thomas, the proprietor, is a very extrovert, uber hospitable host, who runs the place with admirable efficiency.

Hoodia is set in a secluded plain, some way from the main Sossulviei area. This means it takes a little longer for the dawn drive to the dunes (which is the obligatory excursion) but in our view this was more than compensated for by the attractions of Hoodia itself.

We ate very well. The individual rondavels are very comfortable, complete with the Namibian speciality of outside, but private!, showers.

We took the Hoodia guide, Enos I believe was his name, for the Sossulviei excursion, which we thoroughly enjoyed and learnt a lot. We stayed 2 nights." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 154
97%
154 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
136
17
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa