This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

172 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 41 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

88% success

Wildebeest

47% success

Zebra

34% success

Giraffe

9% success

Brown Hyena

6% success

Meerkat

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 172
Duration
Arrival date
T & T
woodside

"beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2018
"Set against the edge of the mountains this lodge has a visually impressive location.

We were greeted on arrival by the super friendly and ever hard-working owner. We had a lovely cabin/tent of our own. The central lodge is an attractive building.

The staff is friendly and very hardworking. Very nice meals too. For our activity we took the day trip to Sossusvlei. They also gave us a nice bag lunch for the drive out.

Couldn't be better!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms J
London

"Hoodia Desert Lodge is lovely"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2018
"Beautiful lodge, very well equipped and good food.

The only downside was lack of engagement from staff on our externally organised balloon safari. If I hadn't asked where I needed to be by when I wouldn't have known and was expecting to be picked up but we had to drive ourselves very early in the morning in the dark - so unsure of when we would get there. In the end it all worked but they could have been more forthcoming." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Winchester

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2018
"Luxurious accommodation – liked the outside shower!
Great terrace, with sundowner, looking at ‘The Lion’, carved in the mountain
Nice meals – very tender Springbok steak.
Interesting waterhole – good to watch the family of baboons.
Sundowner trip – good, but expensive for what it was." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr I P
Uk

"Hoodia Desert Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2018
"Quite simply superb. The best lodge on our holiday.

The rooms, the staff, the food, the location, the sundowners, the guides were all amazing.

Credit must go to Thomas and Henreza for creating the most amazingly friendly, welcoming and professionally run lodge.

We will definitely be back." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Rolling Crones
UK

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2018
"Another brilliant lodge. First impressions when approaching were not so good, but once there we were given a warm welcome. We were glad that we went to Sossevlie on the guided trip from the camp as the guide showed us so much more that we would ever have seen on our own. Once again the guides were very knowledgeable and made the trip so interesting." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Peter & Helenka
UK

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2017
"Again this is just a wonderful place to stay. Thomas is so welcoming and attentive to your every need. Lovely food especially the lunch out on Safari

Lodges so comfortable and the main dining/reception area is full of interest with some wonderful books just lying around

The trip to the Sand dunes was yet another memorable experience amongst the many we had" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Bristol

"A pleasant coupe of days spent at Hoodia Lodg"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2017
"We were greeted by a very welcome cold drink and chat with Thomas who told us all about the excursions on offer.

The location of the lodge is quite stunning with wonderful views all around it. A good location from which to visit Sossussvlei. We opted not to join the organised excursion, preferring to spend part of one day relaxing at the lodge and walking around the site.

On our second day we went to Sossussvlei where we were so impressed by the different dunes and the amazing variety of colours." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
BarryT
Knutsford

"Extremely welcoming and 1st class"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"We drove straight to Hoodia after arriving in Windhoek as we had already lost time through our flight delay.. Roads are in the main good and it took us about 3 hours.
We loved staying here. The staff are brilliant and the chef is a magician. We stayed in Chalet No1 which has an uninterrupted view towards the West so you get fantastic sunsets. The room was really good and the lodge facilities were excellent.

It is easy to visit Sossusvlei under your own steam so we did not need a guide even so the guide told us exactly where to go and what to do.Take their advice and do dot be tempted to drive past the first car park even if you have a 4x4. The sand is very deep and even the professionals get stuck. The dunes are stunning, a photographers dream but they are a tough climb. The walk through to Dead Vlei is spectacular.
One tip. As the buses to the dunes from the first car park get busy walk to Sossusvlei to catch the bus back" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E
Nyon

"Beautiful Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"We all loved Hoodia Desert Lodge, people were so nice, trying their best to make the guests happy, food was excellent, rooms were very clean and nicely decorated, the excursion was so enjoyable with great guiding.

This lodge is highly recommendable, it is a gem and affordable!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A & Mr M
Lagos

"Loved Hoodia Lodge..."

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2017
"Its fair to say that having driven from the superbly located Wolwedans the location of Hoodia Lodge was spectacular in its own way, but without the dramatic red dunes which so enhanced the Wolwedans experience, however that aside we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hoodia.

We did not meet or be introduced to the owners who from other reviews would appear to be very pro-active (which is evident) so perhaps they were absent?

Our arrival coincided with other guests and rather than be asked to wait a young unfortunately rather disinterested and vague employee was summoned to give our introductions and accompany us to our room. He informed us that he had been on duty since early morning and was very tired and about to go home as evidenced by his frequent yawning. This was unfortunate as the rest of the staff encountered during our stay could not have been more different - kind, friendly, efficient and personable.

Our rondavel type room was extremely well equipped. Not huge but with everything needed and practically arranged. Both indoor and outdoor showers, a refrigerator, air conditioning, ample tea, coffee and biscuits and plenty of plug sockets.
There was a small table with two chairs and also a covered outdoor seating area.

The communal areas, lounge and bar were exceptionally well decorated, warm and welcoming, and the dining room and outside patio were also sympathetically designed and located for maximum comfort and relaxing. We did not use the pool due to insufficient time but also nicely located with ample seating. Wi-fi was reasonable in the communal areas.

We thought the food for dinner and breakfast was very good and my dietary requirements were accommodated although the request had apparently not filtered to the kitchen on the first night even though the staff member noted it upon check in, however a perfectly appetizing plate was quickly arranged for me. The permanent tea and coffee station was appreciated and breakfast was also a good selection. We did not eat lunch on the day of arrival but were given a very good and welcome packed lunch on our day of departure.

We had privately pre booked a ballon excursion prior to arrival however this was cancelled due to wind. A shame but unavoidable.

Our stay included a day excursion to Sousselviei. We were six people in total, the two of us and two German couples. We all had a thoroughly enjoyable, but extremely windy day enhanced by our guide whose name I apologize that I cannot recall, but he had a good attitude, interesting conversation and was happy to share his knowledge. Lunch was excellent and he prepared a beautiful table for us in a great spot. Despite returning completely dusty and seemingly with half a desert in our hair, the day was well worth it and we were a group of happy people! It was busy but our guide managed to plan our time so that we did not feel overly crowded in the various spots we visited.

Hoodia Lodge manages to create a very informal, laid back and comfortable atmosphere with no feeling of superiority or aloofness and it was a wonderful place to stay, so many thanks to all the staff and to the owners for their attention to detail, care and hospitality." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 172
97%
172 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
152
19
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (336 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (181 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (137 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (103 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (67 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (42 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


94% (10 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (9 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa