This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

157 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 30 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

90% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Zebra

36% success

Giraffe

9% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 157
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Brighton

"Disappointing and unwelcoming place"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2017
"I have already passed our comments on, but this was the one dud part of our fantastic holiday.
The staff were surly, rude and unwelcoming from the start. We told the guide that I had a bad back and couldn't do much walking on the excursion to the Dunes, but we were placed with a (very nice) Swiss couple clearly wanted to go hiking up the Dunes. The guide, who was disinterested from the start, told us to wait by the Landrover whilst they went for a short walk. However, we were left alone for nearly two hours without water or anywhere to sit and did not receive any apology from the guide on his return or from the manager at the Lodge.
The room was nice - if a bit too small and the food was okay.
The location was amongst the least photogenic of the places we stayed on our trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Jules & Geoff
NZ

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"Hoodia was WONDERFUL. The owner and all the staff were fabulous and committed to making our stay as comfortable as possible.

The rooms and lodge were very comfortable and the views were stunning.The day trip into sossusvlei with the guide was WELL worth it - despite having our own transport we elected to take this trip with the guide and were not disappointed: very informative and very well put together package including a delightful lunch under a shady tree with a view (Plus oryx keeping a close eye on us!)

I would highly recommend staying at Hoodia." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AB
SW London

"Exceptional quality"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2017
"Hoodia is a wonderful place to stay. Thomas, the proprietor, is a very extrovert, uber hospitable host, who runs the place with admirable efficiency.

Hoodia is set in a secluded plain, some way from the main Sossulviei area. This means it takes a little longer for the dawn drive to the dunes (which is the obligatory excursion) but in our view this was more than compensated for by the attractions of Hoodia itself.

We ate very well. The individual rondavels are very comfortable, complete with the Namibian speciality of outside, but private!, showers.

We took the Hoodia guide, Enos I believe was his name, for the Sossulviei excursion, which we thoroughly enjoyed and learnt a lot. We stayed 2 nights." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Kent

"Great day in the Desert at Hoodia"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2017
"This lodge did not disappoint.

The atmosphere was relaxed but professional. Our room was excellent. The food was excelent.

The day trip to the desert was memorable." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr D & Mrs C
Kent

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Miss S
UK

"Superb"

2 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2017
"Very comfortable, excellent staff, really good food and an extremely pleasant host (Thomas).

Cannot fault this place at all. Top service." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
raedrian
Canada

"Fantastic food at the Hoodia Deset Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2017
"We stayed here 3 nights so as to give us plenty of time to see the dunes and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owner/manager (Thomas) could not do enough for us and the staff followed his example.

The game steaks provided were exceptional, second to none.The individual cabins were excellent with an outside tub and shower.

The nights were clear and full of stars and laying back in the tub with some accompanying wine made for a magical experience.

Our guide to and in the park was very knowledgeable and gave just the right amount of guidance and free time. The lunch provided by the resort was a treat in the middle of the dunes." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Cardiff

"Wonderful location, facilities & safari"

2 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2017
"The Lodge has a spectacular setting, excellent accommodation - tented chalets which look on to the mountains - very nice dining and sitting areas in the main building. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

The day trip to Sossusvlei with two guides - we were the only guests that day - was excellent. Very interesting information about the geology, birds, animals and plants of the desert. A couple of short walks - some manageable dune climbing in the hot sun.

The 'picnic' lunch, more like a high class dinner, was excellent - and gave us time to sit and talk to our guides and learn something of their lives and the political and other issues which are current in Namibia" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
K & J, J & R
UK

"Hoodia was excellent"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2017
"When we arrived after 24 hours travelling I have to admit to wondering why we had been sent to Hoodia - a row of cottages in the middle of nowhere. But I was wrong: the staff were excellent, every aspect of the accommodation had been thought through and our stay was very comfortable. The food was good too. And the changing colours of the surrounding hills were memorable.

On our first day our guide improvised a very successful expedition to some local fountains (springs), which we really enjoyed. In our time there we saw the surrounding land go from the faintest green and mainly red to green.

What wasn't so good is that the transfer from Geluk takes an hour. This plus the flying time plus the transfer time at WHD really eats into the driving time, meaning that the case for driving is enhanced; we could have driven to Hoodia that afternoon, although it would have been hard work.

Another, question mark was the Sossus Vlei excursion. Of course that's why we went to Hoodia but the fact of the matter is that there's a lot of driving, photo opportunities diminish with the angle of the sun as the day goes by and there isn't a huge amount to see and do on arrival. Finally, there's a lot of people there. Goodness knows what it's like in high season. That said, our guide (Johnnie) did a great job tracking spoor in the sand, helping us understand the geology, stopping when appropriate, etc., but despite a climb up Big Mama I felt the day was slightly padded out with the fun set piece lunch under the tree at Elim Dune, and it was great to get back to Hoodia for a siesta!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
BIggar

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2017
"Excellent place to start the holiday. Good welcome and good food. Guide John very professional and excellent at birds. Most interesting day trip to Sossusvlei and John full of information about bettles and spiders as well as birds.
Sesriem rather disappointing as not allowed down into the canyon because of remote danger of flash flooding.

Flight from Geluk to Swakopmund memorable with wonderful views of endless sanddunes and the wreck." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 157
97%
157 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
138
18
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (329 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (178 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (99 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (3 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa