This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

153 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

89% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Zebra

38% success

Giraffe

10% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 153
Duration
Arrival date
Miss M
Margate

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2016
"Stunning location, convenient for visiting the desert - very peaceful and relaxing although plenty of activities on offer - very personable host and lovely staff - beautiful rooms with amazing outdoor showers" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bruce
Harrogate

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2016
"What a wonderful place and certainly a lodge to thoroughly recommend.

Wonderful trip at dawn to the Sossusvlei reserve and a really knowledgeable guide who also turned host at lunchtime serving us a great picnic on a white linen table cloth in the shade of a thorn tree! Ridiculous but wonderful at the same time!

Super pool and probably the best cooking we enjoyed on our trip." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mrs H
Essex

"Hoodia Desert Lodge -Great"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2016
"We really loved the Hoodia Lodge every aspect was excellent.

Would certainly recommend to others." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs A & Mr J T
Essex

"Amazing - Rolls Royce of Lodges"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"Met personally by our host, Thomas. Very high quality food with excellent service.

Our chalet was lovely, you would never know that it was a canvas structure. We would love to have had time to use the pool and to test out the outside shower and bath!

Full day desert tour with our guide and driver 'KK'. This included: walking on and in the dunes, the Dead Vrei complete with petrified trees, picnic feast complete with tablecloths and all the trimmings and drinks, and then finally to the Sesreim Canyon. It was an excellent day out, made more so by KK with his helpfulness, friendliness and excellent knowledge (a pity some of the others failed to show their appreciation).

In our absence, our host Thomas had tried to have our boot lock catch welded but it was by now beyond repair. He had tried to obtain a spare for us but parts have to come direct from RSA. When we got back he kindly made many phone calls (some via RSA) and eventually made a firm appointment with the rental agency at our next stop (this resulted in the car being exchanged without any fuss). Thomas also organised for members of his staff to help us to temporarily rope up the boot lid for the drive next day.

What an excellent place to stay. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, and once again our thanks to Thomas and all." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R & Mr M
York

"Hoodia Desert Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2016
"A very comfortable lodge, and an excellent base for exploring the desert.

The food was very good, and our full-day trip to Sossusvlei, with a very well-informed and interesting guide, and a fine lunch, was most enjoyable." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs.

"The best accomodation in Namibia!"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2016
"The best accommodation in every respect on our tour of Namibia! Thorough information about activities available on arrival, exceptionally helpful and pleasant staff, spacious well-equipped rooms with, good food, all topped off by a hot water bottle in bed!

We had planned to drive ourselves to Sossusvlei but decided to go on Hoodia's tour when we got there and did not regret it. We learnt much more about the area than we would have done on our own and didn't get stuck driving in the sand unlike some other travellers. A very good sit-down lunch was provided, not a packed lunch as on most activities elsewhere.

Be aware that the map at the start of chapter 12 of the Bradt guide shows Hoodia in the wrong place. It is approached from the C19 not the D854. The map of Sesreim and Sossusvlei later in the chapter shows the correct position." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms Q
Nevada

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2016
"Hoodia is a luxurious oasis off the main highway leading to Sossusvlei, 22 kms north of the lodge to the gate at Sesriem. Its location means that they have mains power, though only intermittent cell phone and very slow internet connections. The lodge and the 11 chalets are very attractive and sumptuously furnished. The setting is spectacular, with mountains rising steeply just across a usually dry riverbed behind the lodge, and in the front, plains stretching into infinity. There's a water tank out front, rather distant but you can spot larger animals such as giraffes getting a drink. The water tank should have been much nearer to the lodge so guests could enjoy seeing the animals closer.

The highlight of any trip to this area is Sossusvlei, and the lodge offers a full day excursion, which we took. Our guide was Jonathan, who was intimately acquainted with the area and willingly shared his knowledge with us. He stopped along the road through the park where the best photos could be taken, took us out to the dunes and areas of dead trees, and explained the geology, botany and biology of the area. He dug out sand dwelling critters, spiders, lizards, scorpions and the like, to demonstrate how they survived in such a harsh environment.

Jonathon also took us up the crest of a dune, and we followed an untraveled route to the fascinating Deadvlei. In the early afternoon Jonathon prepared our picnic lunch, a full setup including tablecloth, china ware, and real silver, not plastic or paper. We stopped briefly at Sesriem on our return to the lodge, but it’s nothing special and could easily be skipped.

Sossusvlei is truly a destination worth a special visit, and Jonathon made sure we enjoyed it fully.

Back at the lodge, it was hard to meet and chat with other guests, as meals were served when you wanted, restaurant style with individual tables. We would have preferred family style. Our chalet, and presumably all the rest of them, only had one useful electrical outlet, inconveniently located on the baseboard; another was located on the wall near the bed, for a hair dryer. Lighting also was rather dim. Given mains electricity, they could have done better in both these matters.

The vehicles were fully enclosed with only one door for the 2nd & 3rd rows of seats. Windows were relatively small and slid back rather than rolling down, limiting photo ops. It was very difficult for persons not next to the window to take pictures. They should have limited the number of passengers to the number of windows, but instead crowded people into the middle rows.

The vehicles were the worst part of the excursion, although we realize the lodge obviously had opted for air conditioned comfort rather than wind and dust. Since the photo subjects were stationary dunes rather than moving animals, for the most part, we had time for everyone to climb out without missing the picture. We had booked a private vehicle but the lodge cancelled this option; they ought to consider reinstating it, which certainly would reduce the crowding inside and improve photo ops.

The owners were not present during our stay. Money could not be exchanged without one of them to handle the transaction. Fortunately, we could pay by credit card.

Overall, our stay here was satisfactory but not excellent, for reasons noted above. However, our guide, Jonathon, more than made up for any lodge shortcomings, and he made sure our visit to Sossusvlei was truly memorable." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Worsley

"Great overnight stay at Hoodia Desert Lodge"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"We only stayed one night on our way out of Sossusvlei which was a great regret as the accommodation and food were excellent. We used our overnight stay as a rest day and highly recommend the lodge and room facilities.

On arrival we had a fabulous lunch followed by an equally good evening meal. The fresh coffee and cafetier in the rooms was a great touch which others should follow." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Wonderful lodge in the desert"

3 nights Arrived 13 May 2016
"Hoodia is in a beautiful location in the desert. The rooms are lovely with the cottages set apart for privacy.

The main building has great seating areas for a relaxed drink before dinner. Food was very good.

We took the all day tour to the dunes and highly recommend it. Our guide, Jonathan, was very knowledgeable and we had a much more interesting experience than if we had driven ourselves. The tour also included an elegant picnic lunch complete with linen tablecloths and chilled wine.

Our only disappointment was that they were not offering other guided activities so probably 2 nights would have been enough. We were on our own for our second day and went for a great walk so did enjoy our 3 nights there." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
J & R
UK

"Balloon trip"

3 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2016
"My husband had an upset stomach, possibly from Hoodia Lodge.

we loved the room, the views and especially the balloon trip - it exceeded our expectations.

excellent tour of the dunes on the next day with a great guide. Lunch under the trees was a real treat - linen tablecloth, china and glass and chilled wine...perfect end to an amazing day." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 153
97%
153 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
135
17
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa