This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

154 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

89% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Zebra

38% success

Giraffe

10% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 154
Duration
Arrival date
J & R
UK

"Balloon trip"

3 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2016
"My husband had an upset stomach, possibly from Hoodia Lodge.

we loved the room, the views and especially the balloon trip - it exceeded our expectations.

excellent tour of the dunes on the next day with a great guide. Lunch under the trees was a real treat - linen tablecloth, china and glass and chilled wine...perfect end to an amazing day." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs E
New York

"Excellent facility - loved it!"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2016
"Excellent and friendly personal attention, wonderful food and beautiful facility.

Dunes tour was fabulous and included a gourmet lunch." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Suffolk

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2016
"Arrived in time for a very good fish lunch, very hot 38C!

Good welcome from Andreas, showed us No 5 chalet, well built and very clean. Best pillows and comfy bed. Retired to room, gasping, air-con unable to keep-up. Pool small but cool. Wifi quick & good. Very good dinner.

Early start for Sossusvlei activity with guide. Needed sweater as cold in the morning mist. Highly intelligent & interesting guide Michael, bypassed Dune 45. Saw Jackal and Spotted Eagle Owl baby. Dunes a photographers dream. Spectacular when there early.

Picnic lunch wonderfully organised by Michael, all the china, glass, etc. Home by 2.30pm. Sweltering heat 40+C. Dinner not as good.

Gave us ice before we left for our cool box, next morning." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Shrewsbury

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2016
"Very well looked after and enjoyed our trip to the Dunes with an excellent guide." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
W Yorks

"Mixed Feelings"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2015
"The lodge is well set out and the rooms are lovely and comfortable. The welcome from Thomas was warm and friendly!

The sundown experience was another highlight of the trip and we would certainly recommend it.

However on our second night, there was poor communication between our guide and the lodge which resulted in one of the staff waking us up during the night to settle the bill, which was far from ideal because we had to wake up early for the balloon flight" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr B & Mrs E
Surrey

"The highlight of our trip"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2015
"Arrived at 2pm after a rather dusty journey from Swakopmund to be greeted with cold towels and a refreshing drink. The 12 bungalows are well spaced in two groups around the central facilities and have a huge bedroom, a twin bowl bathroom and inside/outside showers to take in the views.

Invited to take the sundowner at 6pm, which was the best we have ever had. Only 10-15 minutes traveling to a hilltop overlooking the Lodge about 2 kms away and the desert ahead, clear to the horizon. A table had been set up for just us two with a snack and drinks to which we could help ourselves because the driver, Jonathan, left us to our own devices for an hour-and-a-half of watching a blazing sun set. Absolutely great!

Collected and delivered back for dinner - main course one of the best steaks we have ever had and super service all round.

Next day we went to Sossusvlei and Sessriem again with Jonathan who is a real fount of knowledge, not just about the place itself which is magical, but also the wildlife. We dug up spiders and tracked all sorts of lizards etc across the sands. An excellent lunch was served under a shady tree far from the crowds which were much larger than on our previous visit.

Special thanks to Victoria who looked after us so well, but also to the whole Hoodia team." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O
Brugge

"Feel in an other world at Hoodia !"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2015
"Whaww , what a place , such an open area with only a few lodges ! Nice an Quiet ! Love it ! Arriving there we are recieved by the owner and his friendly staff . Very good restaurant with nice meals, and lovely interior, you feel home . Lodge is magnificient and so they are placed over the area , you are taken over by nature . Nice room and yes, open air bathroom , is nice to have .
Swimming pool and shadow places after hot day traveling feels good.

The two guides they have ( John , Jonatan ) give you the day before very usefull information , in what YOU expect to receive or see by their excursions. . We asked show us live int the dunes away from mass tourism; and we revived a VERY GOOD day near soususvlei, and superb brunch ' IN ' nature and animals . You feel like a king in any way . They know what t they are talking over
They even helped us for looking for aeroplane. to go over the dunes to the sea and back and help negotiate .

There was a little understanding by booking there own trip ( was pre- payed ) , but owner looked for us what to do for refunding . have totaly confidence .

After 2 days there with smily staff , we can say : We should have been there one or two day longer and devide the trip in two , so we could enjoy a bit much more off what the offer . But no complaines.

101 % we loved it and what you see you get . thanks and see you next time" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V
UK

"Hoodia"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2015
"Staff good.

Michael the guide was the best of our trip. Really good chap.

Rooms are getting a little tired." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs L
UK

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2015
"A quite delightful lodge, in an interesting location with friendly staff and a lovely reception area." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Hampshire

"Hoodia Is Something Very Special"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"I was initially a little disappointed that we had not managed to get accommodation inside the Sossusvlei gates, because I had wanted to be there for sunrise over the dunes. In practice we were there very shortly afterwards, and I did not feel that we missed very much. And Hoodia Desert Lodge is ample compensation. I

t is owned and managed on a daily basis by Thomas, an ex London and New York interior designer, and the sense of style he has built into all aspects of the lodge and its rooms is outstanding. This is coupled with a standard of welcome and service which was certainly the best on this trip and in fact rivalled anywhere else we have stayed in the world. The second bathroom open to the stars was a particular treat, and Hoodia was definitely the accommodation highlight of the trip.

We had intended to drive into Sossusvlei in our own 4x4, but chose to go in a small group in Hoodia's own vehicle with their guide Michael - a fascinating and highly knowledgeable man. I would strongly recommend this if Michael is available." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 154
97%
154 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
136
17
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa