This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

153 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

89% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Zebra

38% success

Giraffe

10% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 153
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs BW
The Sands

"Fabulous"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"Our stay at Hoodia was fabulous and we only wish we had stayed longer.

Tomas, the owner, greeted us on arrival with plenty of enthusiasm which did not wane throughout our stay. This is reflected by the happy staff who provided impeccable service throughout.

The lodge setting is amazing, set along a dry river bed looking out over a mountain which glows red in the early morning and evening. The rooms are spread out along the river giving a wonderful sense of space and privacy. They are appointed in a "safari style" including an optional outdoor shower.

We did the "sunset drinks" option on the first night where they set you up on a nearby koppie with drinks and snacks and leave you to enjoy an amazing african sunset. One of the highlights of our entire holiday.

The trip to Sossusvlei was absolutely amazing. It was surprising just how busy it was but the Hoodia team contrived to make it feel like we were the only people there. The thoughtfulness and planning that went into the day really did make it special. You got the sense that other lodges that perhaps have closer proximity feel they don't need to make the effort. I would recommend Hoodia as being THE team to take you on a trip to Sossus. Fascinating information about the geology/ fauna/ flora + going to deadvlei via the empty hidden vlei topped off with a wonderful lunch at Elim dune.

Overall we had an amazing time and look forward to going back." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Mrs E & family
UK

"Luxury in the wilderness"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2019
"After a long, tiring and somewhat nerve wracking drive involving shredded tires and loud bangs from our engine, we arrived at the lodge to cool damp towels and refreshinfg drinks. This really is a stunning place and after our journey it felt like we'd arrived at an Oasis in the desert.

Our tented lodges were beautiful, as were the lounge and restaurant. We'd recommend the private Sossusvlei whole day trip. Our guide was extremely knowlegdable and was able to follow the tracks of sidewinder snakes and white widow spiders to lead us to their burrows. He took us off the beaten track and away from the other tourists so we could properly experience the majestic solitude and quiet of the Namib/Naukluft Nattional Park.

The day ended with a picnic under a sprawling tree, we felt as though we'd stepped back in time and into the film 'Out of Africa' as our guide set up tables and chairs and cooled wine in a portable ice bucket." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

6 sightings

Dr and Mrs A
Surrey

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"This is a very slick operation. Very luxurious.

Extremely warm welcome and attentive and knowledgeable guide. The setting is superb.

Going into the National Park we were able to feel like we were not following the crowd and had a great walk in the dunes followed by a fabulous picnic." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Jane/Chris
crolles

"Gateway to Namib Desert"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2019
"Beautiful setting, very well appointed chalet, very tasteful common areas, particularly the reception area.

We had an excellent outing to Sossusvlei and Sesriem with John who adapted very well his program to a mixed group (old people and very old people!!!) Excellent information on flora and fauna." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Edinburgh

"Great desert experience at Hoodia Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2019
"Fantastic desert experience, remote location but not too far from park entrance for Sossusvlei, excellent lodge and chalets (including outdoor bath), very friendly staff who delivered a high level of service, amazing views of the stars at night from our chalet, best ever sundowner.

Thanks for getting our holiday off to a great start." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mrs & Mr B
Canada

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2019
"Great lodge, super trip to the dunes, only problem is the sundowner. Lovely location on a hill, amongst the rocks, BUT swarming with rats!!!!!!!!!!! Advised the staff and hope they can get rid on them. Even crawled on our feet!!

Food was very good" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr A
Oxfordshire

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2019
"If you are going to the Namib desert this is the place to stay.

Great people, excellent facilities, food and really go out of their way to make it special.

Thanks to Daniel for the sunset drinks and the excursion." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Swindon

"Great place"

3 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2019
"Lovely place to stay, friendly staff and owner, food excellent. Good guide and great trip to the sand dunes. Beautiful landscape.

Not a great place for animals but sand dunes lovely." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr J.
Warwick

"A lovely lodge in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2019
"A lovely lodge and excellent guided trip into the dunes." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

6 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Four poms
Somerset

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2019
"Very comfortable lodge and outstanding staff.

Also brilliant guide into sossusvlei. Mr Trembath got up Big Daddy in 26 minutes which the staff said was a bit of a record amongst their guests." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 153
97%
153 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
135
17
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa