This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Wandsworth

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Serenity

Namibia between 17 Aug 2013 and 3 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"I wish I can describe to someone how Namibia makes you feel. I can't. All I know is that this place will steal your heart.

I was sceptical about the trip, being from South Africa and not imagining a neighbouring country (and such a brown one) could be better than where I grew up. Maybe its all the lovely places we stayed at and all the wonderful people, but this trip managed to turn into one of the best experiences of my life. I want to go back and be under the endless sky."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

"Lovely stopover"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2013
"As this was a short stopover for us, we didn't really need a high quality room, but we got one none the less. It was great to have somewhere so lovely to rest before our first driving day.

Good pool, but too cold for us to try it out. Breakfast was informal and good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Surprised"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2013
"I was really sceptical about this one. Read all the good reviews, but just couldn't imagine how this could be great. As with the whole of Namibia, I kept being surprised. You see all the brown scenery and struggle to think what could make this place so magical. Well, it was and I cant explain why.

We followed detailed maps on various walks around the premises. Word of warning - we are very fit and thought that a 6 hour walk would mean 4 - 5. Well, we were wrong. In the heat this is quite another thing. Saw some animals and lush greenery hidden on the long trail.

Food was fantastic and great to eat with the other guests. Spent some time by the pool, but too cold to swim. Breakfast was basic, but nice. I loved our hosts getting immersed in their story telling at night. These are people who live and breathe Namibia and it shows. Rooms was great once again. Large, airy, modern decor.

All in all a wonderful experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

"I just doesn't get better than this"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2013
"When I saw Desert Camp, my heart sank into my shoes, as it was only our second stop and I couldn't imagine how anything else could beat this. You cannot beat the scenery. The tents are set up with everything you might possibly need. We didn't want to leave our area. You are so spoilt out there with serenity that you get annoyed if you even hear a whisper from others in the area.

We made use of the bbq packs they supply and over ordered both nights. Really cheap and tasty salads and meat. I was surprised that not more people lit their camp fires at night and just sat outside and star gazed. It was even hot enough for us to swim in the height of winter. What a magical place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Beautiful"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2013
"My review is probably slightly over shadowed by the fact that I really disliked Swakopmund. Don't take this as universal - my husband loved it. The guesthouse itself was beautiful with a fantastic selection of pastries and cooked food for breakfast. We had a television in the room which was the only one we saw during our time in Namib.

The owners were really warm and inviting. Yet, I couldn't wait to leave Swakop, so probably didn't notice all the other lovely details. The only negative I have is the bathrooms which were really cramped.

In case you are wondering why I disliked the town - it was the coldest days of our trip by a mile, there were people everywhere and I became accustomed to the peace and quiet of the tents and it wasn't visually a very pleasing town. The activities on offer were wonderful though."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Relaxing stay"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2013
"We spent most of our time doing activities in most of the places we visited. When we finished with all the local 'sights' in this area, it was only an hour later, so we had 2 days to kill at the actual lodge. And it was great. The weather was magnificent for winter and we had 2 really lazy days of sunbathing and swimming in the middle of our trip.

This lodge does not get many 'excellent' reviews, but they sure are trying. The rooms aren't the cleanest we have seen, but they have everything you need. The food really blew me away. We had some of the best game of our trip there and the spread and selection at dinner and breakfast was endless and very tasty. The common areas were well groomed and 'resorty'. There were more people here than at other boutiques we stayed at, but it didn't seem to interfere with our enjoyment.

They had very limited chairs/sun loungers by the pool, but given that it was winter this wasn't a big deal. All in all, I really enjoyed it and recommend if for anyone wanting a 'break' from all the driving and sight seeking. We fit in one elephant trekking tour and they didn't disappoint. The sundowners made it even more special."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Speechless with some hiccups"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"This place must have had a refurb recently, because our room felt like a luxurious villa (when this was supposed to be our budget option in Etosha). Everything was modern and spacious and I wish we had a chance to try out our bbq.

The watering hole inside the camp blew me away. I could not shut my mouth as I gaped at all the animals when we first got there. The negatives are the food and the supplies inside the camp. They run out of bread about an hour after their delivery comes. Most people are out for their morning animal drives then. So, stock up before you go there. The rooms are equipped with fridges and everything you might need. Their lunch kiosks also ran out of food pretty early on each day, likewise with the wifi. They had none for a week.

Dinner was a mixed experience. One night wasn't great and the food awful. The second night the salad selection was amazing and better than anything I'd had in Namibia. Don't miss this place. It is magical and a once in a lifetime experience to be so close to the action. Don't miss the watering hole at night. Where else in the world can you get bored of seeing a rhino? But bring your own supplies if you don't want to go hungry."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangements

"Mushara Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2013
"We booked Mushara ourselves due to my discount as a South African national. It was just outside of Etosha in honeymoon style luxury tents. Everything about this place sparkled. This sounds silly, but their beds and sheets were the most comfortable I had ever slept in in my life.

The views from the tent lovely and secluded. The staff were overly helpful and the food wonderful. I highly recommend the outside dinner they do every other night. What a romantic experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Unbelievable."

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"I want to lie and say this place was awful, mainly because I want to keep it to myself. Even on my honeymoon, I cannot say I stayed anywhere near as amazing as this place. I also think we got the best hut from what we could see (no. 10). The staff were fantastic, without hassling. The afternoon tea and breakfast was superb quality.

The room was luxurious with fantastic views and we had chairs, tables and even a mattress all the way around our balcony in order to get a 360 view of our surroundings depending on the sun. We did all the recommended hikes, some alone, some with a guide. All beautiful, but not really challenging. Dinner was great quality. I just did not want to leave. The bathroom in the room is located outside and makes it all the more special.

There were so many things the staff surprised us with, but I'm not going to spoil it for everyone else by revealing what it was. Do stay here and spend the bit of extra money. It is worth it over and over again. Also, do the sundowner walk and make use of all they have to offer. Namibia at its best."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"All you will need"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2013
"We decided to stay here instead of in Windhoek on our way back, as we didn't enjoy Windhoek. Lovely place with great pool and some local walks (the maps aren't great though).

The room was nice and when the power went out, the supplied us all with candles, which made it very romantic. Food was good, service okay. It is a great place, but we had so little time there and I was ill, so didn't really enjoy all it had to offer. Still beats staying in Windhoek by a mile."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team