This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge

Reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossus Dune Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sossus Dune Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Zebra

67% success

Meerkat

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
Linda & Paul
UK

"Very characterful and wonderful lodges"

4 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2018
"Excellent and very characterful lodges and friendly and helpful staff too.

On arrival we learnt that we only had 5 rooms for the first night and not the 7 that were booked. This was apparently due to a plumbing problem. This meant that 4 members booked into single rooms had to share2 rooms for the first night. The manager was very apologetic indeed and handled the situation well. I agreed a compensation package with her and the 4 people concerned received a refund.

The guide was excellent although he did drive rather too quickly into Deadvlei causing one party member to suffer a back injury. This meant that he could not walk the final section into the salt pan where the dead trees are located. This was a great shame as it was one of the photographic highlights of the trip." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Ms L
Queensland

"Poor quality government service"

3 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2018
"The rooms had nice furniture and lots of it. But it was hot at night facing west, with a big rock behind emitting heat. Service was abysmal. The lady at reception named "Memory" seemed to have no memory. Anything requested that were supposed to be delivered to your room never arrived. Asking again still gets nowhere. You literally have to get it yourself. Even when my special meal has been cooked and I was told by her that it was ready when I arrived at the restautant, she showed no intention of getting it from the kitchen for me after 20 mins. I ended up going into the kitchen myself where I was told the meal had been sitting there for a long time, and just ended up eating it there as it was already 9.30pm, and had to wait for the other half of the meal to be cooked.

When I asked for 2 extra towels to use instead of a pillow, some staff didn't want to allow it. I had to beg them with the reason that I had a medical condition.

The chefs were happy to cater for my special dietary requirements, but never bothered to obtain anything requested, not even low fat milk. The food was generally not cooked well. Once I was given a steak that had gone off (verified by 4 restaurant staff). Breakfast was terrible. The fruit they put out should be in the bin. Bread was of the lowest quality possible. Most lodges made their own lovely white and wholegrain bread in Namibia. I was glad I brought my own cereal and bread so had breakfast in my room.

There is really no need to stay in this place to do sunrise at the Deadvlei. I was the first person to arrive at the shuttle both mornings, well before the shuttle drivers who lived outside the park gate. The tarred road is so good you can do 100km/hr on it easily. The sun does not hit the Deadvlei pan for 40 mins after sunrise. Most people caught the second shuttle and arrived well in time to do photography.

Given this lodge is not pleasant, I would recommend staying somewhere near the gate, and just come thru at sunrise. Whether you are the 1st or 50th person to get there, the pan is full of photographers by the time it is right to be photographed." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mrs E
UK

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2017
"This was a lovely setting but we missed the personal touch with the staff, who were fairly efficient but didn't give us the extraordinary experience we'd had.

Got our rooms mixed up and all in different directions again. Important they understand that people travelling together want to lodge near to each other. It took 10 mins. to walk to 2 of the rooms, which is a long way if you've forgotten something. Maybe they should consider people's ages and put younger ones on the end.

The guiding was excellent and they accommodated our wishes and extra plans without a fuss.

The food was quite good but expensive. In Swakup we ate in the best places with amazing food for cheaper

The little pool and beds in the afternoon were lovely.

The stay was great. We just wanted the warmth and personal aspect we'd been spoilt with!!

These travellers had booked a private guided excursion to the dunes while at Sossus Dune Lodge and had the following to say:

Left at the crack of dawn and were in the dead vleii , on our own as the sun rose, as requested. Very special. Our guide was excellent and very gentle and understanding with 4 old grannies. Got us the best breakfast spot and enjoyed great breakfast.

Asked if we could tag on the canyon as back quite early and took us on the great hike through the canyon.

Whole trip was wonderful. Just what I wanted and back for lunch and siesta. Perfect." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Mr E
NSW

"The perfect place to stay at Sesriem!"

4 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2017
"Sossus Dune Lodge is the only accommodation within the Namib-Naukluft Park and as such is perfect for visiting Sossusvlei and Dead Vlei at sunrise.

The chalets are architecturally attractive, well maintained, comfortable and large. The thatch roofing is excellent insulation.

Although this lodge is government-owned and managed, the staff are friendly and helpful and efficient. The meals are more modest than we received elsewhere, but still plentiful and tasty.

We would highly recommend staying here if it is available. It books up many months in advance. It was perfect for our photography adventures." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Australia

"See Deadvlei before the crowds arrive"

3 nights Arrived 2 May 2017
"Staying at Sossus Dune Lodge allows you to be in the national park long before the crowds of tourists arrive. The lodge will take you into Deadvlei by first light (or you could drive yourself if you have a 4x4). Great deck with desert view to have a sundowner or a meal. One of the better National Parks camps in Namibia." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Surrey

"Good for short visit"

2 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2017
"We stayed here 2 nights - but one would have been enough as there is nothing to do except to visit the dunes which are 60k away (tarmac road) and further few kilometres which are only possible by 4WD. A shuttle is available for the last bit tho it doesnt start until the coaches arrive. The lodge runs a jeep trip to the dunes (start at 4:30) but this is basically just for the transport & at around $600 pp we thought it expensive & it gets back to the lodge for breakfast. We followed it down in our 2WD and were lucky to get a lift for the remaining bit as the shuttle was not yet operational. We saw Big Daddy & Dead Vlei - impressive - but then were best by a sandstorm so returned to the lodge earlier than expected as conditions were most unpleasant.

Lodge was comfortable tho it is quite a long walk to some of the chalets. Set menu, tho costed by the course so you dont have to have alll 3 courses (although we didnt find this out until the 2nd night as there were no prices on the 1st night's menu - odd !)" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mrs B
Gabriola Island

"Sossus Dune was great"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2017
"The lodge was beautiful, rooms huge and spotless.

We did the sunrise tour to Big Daddy and breakfast with a good guide.

Had issues with broken fan in our room that was fixed promptly when we asked." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Chiswick

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2017
"The rooms are spacious and comfortable and there is a lovely pool.

The big advantage of staying here was to get to Big Daddy dune at dawn ahead of people staying outside the park. The guide who took us was very knowledgeable and set out a delicious breakfast afterwards.

We were in one of the rooms furthest from the central bar/dining area. This had the advantage of privacy but it was over 5 minutes brisk walk to the bar which would not suit everyone.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The car park was a little way away from the reception but we were very impressed by the way that the staff looked out for guests arriving back and rushed down to the car park to collect them in the lodge van." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Colorado

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2017
"Sossus Dune Lodge is amazing because you get to stay within the actual park and are able to visit the Dunes by sunrise and until sunset before having to leave. This was one of the highlights of our trip.

The service was pretty poor at this lodge. For example, we stayed in the Honeymoon Chalet which is a very very long walk from the main lodge/the exit and were told someone was coming to help us with our luggage upon check out. This person never came until we had already made the 10 minute walk and were steps from the end of the walk. You also park away from the lodge and a shuttle takes you up to the main area, otherwise it is a hot walk uphill. This service was very slow several times and we had to walk halfway up the hill before the vehicle arriving then driving us back to where we started to turn around and go back up.

The rooms are lovely and the view gorgeous. We loved spending time on our balcony. The pool was very refreshing. The rooms do let in quite a few moths and bugs as the windows don't seal well, but with the mosquito netting around our bed it wasn't an issue. In my opinion, it is essential to stay at Sossus Dune Lodge if visiting Sossusvlei!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Swindon

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2017
"We were pleasantly surprised by a lodge that exceeds the normal low standards of government hotels. The staff were excellent, friendly and efficient. The food was good though sometimes slow to arrive. The portion sizes were too big. The length of the walkway to the rooms is a drawback but it did provide exercise after too much time sitting in vehicles. The rooms are very hot. However if one ignored the the warnings about baboons (which were conspicuous by their absence) and opened both front and back doors and all windows the afternoon heat was manageable. At night all windows remained open as there were no mosquitoes." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Showing 11-20 of 136
89%
136 reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
77
48
6
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (154 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa