This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge

Reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossus Dune Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sossus Dune Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Zebra

67% success

Meerkat

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
Mr E & Ms S
Sweden

"Great place!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2016
"It's just a nice place, right there for the sunrise and sunsets in the desert.

Perhaps they could remove the piles of earth and dirt in front of the cabines?

Would make the view into the flat desert a bit nicer, looks unfinished right now.

Whilst in the Namib Desert, these travellers took a scenic helicopter flight. Here's what they said about it:
Great pilot (Richard)

After a slow start we got going to a great flight across the desert.

People need to understand that if they need to be at place, ready to go at 0545 hrs, it's 0545 and not 0600 hrs.

There are other people depending on you getting your ass at the right place at the right time, with the right gear." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mrs J
Bristol

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2016
"A beautiful location and well worth it for the chance to get up early and be at dead Vlei/ the dunes for the sunrise.

As we didn't have a 4 wheel drive we went on a trip organised by the lodge- it's an hours' drive to the dune so it was lot less stressful. The guide Semmy was knowledgeable and friendly and really took trouble to make the experience good for us.

There is no air conditioning in the rooms and it was extremely hot - no shade on the terrace and the metal doors were so hot you couldn't touch them.... The pool is lovely. Building work was being undertaken while we were there which was quite noisy until 2pm (two large diggers right outside the room). But worthy it for the location." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O
N London

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2016
"The rooms are very spacious and comfortable although the communal spaces are somewhat utilitarian and without atmosphere. Service and food somewhat typical of NWR lodges with little extra effort put in. The lodge is an absolute must, however, in that its location within the gate enables one to reach Sossusvlei long before the majority arrive or watch sunset on Dune 45 long after everyone has left." See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
The K family
Bath

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"Beautiful location.

Early access to Big Daddy was something special well worth the early morning." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms C
London

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2016
"It was fine, casual rather professional staff, though always helpful. Food was reasonable, though Ruth being a vegetarian was a challenge for them!

Our room was supposed to be a Dune View, but as it looked out directly onto the large pile of rocks behind the car park, the view was limited! As we were not in the room much it was not a major problem but I think the Trades Descriptions Act could definitely have been invoked!

It was good to be within the National park and we were able to drive ourselves to and from the dunes with ease so we did not take part in any of the activities run by the lodge." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Droitwich

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2016
"Good to be able to stay inside the park so that we could get out for sunrise etc. I think we had the best lodge opposite the water hole which was good.
Staff were helpful although never quite sure whether things were going to happen, but they did so no problems.
Nearly missed the Balloon flight due to high winds for three days but got it on the morning we were due to leave for Swakopmund.
Wonderful experience, not to be missed.

Both the lodge and we were surprised that you had only booked us B&B. There was nowhere else to go for a meal so why not half board and save us messing around having to queue up to pay." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr R
Somerset

"Dawn access to Sussusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2016
"These lodges were located inside the park so we were able to head out to get pictures of the early light on the dunes before the park opened to other travellers. They were also the first lodges we stayed in where the walls were canvas and the roofs thatched which together with large window areas and large private balconies helped us feel more in touch wit the environment. The lodges are raised off the ground on stilts to reduce environmental impact and the simple shower in the en suite simply drained through the wooden floor into a tray below.

Access to the lodges from reception was via raised walkways. As with several of the lodges there were two basins in the en suite, but unfortunately one of the taps sprayed everywhere soaking you and there was only one plug anyway. Otherwise however everything was perfect, reception and dining areas large and airy overlooking a small water hole at which we saw Oryx and Springbok.

We found our own way to the dunes on the night of arrival and again early the next day so did not make use of any of the organised activities, however once at the end of the metalled road we took the shuttle into the dunes proper rather than use our 4WD car because probably due to our lack of experience we found ourselves getting stuck in the deep sand when we tried ourselves." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Driffield

"Faultless stepping stone for the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2016
"Efficient and of its type hard to better" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Phil
London

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2016
"The park is well worth a visit.

The lodge is a good location inside the park.The actual chalet was a bit of trek from main facilities; be sure to ask for a chalet closer but not to close. Otherwise very nice.




" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr N & Mrs J
Suffolk

"Brilliant place- impo inside the nationalpark"

2 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2016
"Staying inside the park was a great advantage - you could drive befor dawn and after sunset - as it's 20 k to the main dune area from the park gates people staying outside the park can't be in the dunes for sunset or dawn.

We were there for both and both times were very memorably helped on the dawn trip by an excellent guide - even gave us a 15 min lecture on the stars before we set off.

Importantly it was cool too - we felt sorry for the tourists arriving at 9.00 a.m. to climb Big Daddy when the temperature must have already been 30 degrees.

The Lodge itself was comfortable if not luxurious. But service was good, pool fine and food tasty." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 136
89%
136 reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
77
48
6
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa