This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs V from Coleraine

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

A good holiday

Namibia between 3 Jun 2014 and 19 Jun 2014

Trip rating: Good
"Chris McIntyre's book was excellent. We found it very useful and wished we had access to it before planning out trip as we would have made some changes to our itenery. In retrospect, we would have preferred a different camp in Damaraland or even taken a different route to Etosha. While in Etosha, we found Chris McIntyre's book invaluable, especially his advice on waterholes and best places to see wildlife.

We were incredibly lucky to see 12 or more rhinos gathered at the waterhole in Okaukuejo one night. We were also lucky to see a cheetah and cub and catch a glimpse of a leopard. However, we had no lion sightings which is a pity as were keen to see Namibian lions.

As for planning, if we had stated rather than implied that we were keen wildlife photographers we wonder if our route would have been different? We also wish we had stayed at Namutoni camp instead of Mushara camp as this would have given is additional wildlife viewing time before and after sunset.

Angela has been very efficient and helpful throughout the booking process and we are very happy with the service provided by Expert Africa."

Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Good Place to stay."

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2014
"Fine for overnight stay before starting the self drive holiday. Clean, convenient and in a good location with shops nearby to stock up."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Good place for a stopover"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2014
"Very friendly atmosphere, good food and good accommodation. Good opportunity to visit a large commercial farm, perhaps better suited to those who have an interest in horse riding."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Well located for guided trips to Soussesvlei"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2014
"The Sundowner trip did not meet expectations as it was only a very short drive within the resort boundary. It was quite expensive for what it offered.

Location only suitable for guided tours to the dunes because Kulala guides have special permit to use a side entrance. Tourists wishing to do a self drive to view dunes would be better off staying near the main entrance or within the park.

Friendly and helpful staff."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Excellent location"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2014
"We were lucky to get a chalet overlooking the bay, so we were able to see a variety of birds including flamingos from our balcony. Within walking distance to The Tug which is an excellent restaurant.

Quirky interior decor with great attention to detail."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Uninspiring architecture!!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2014
"The initial impression on arrival was of a dark and unwelcoming building. The chalet decor was dark and gloomy and floors were so polished that it was quite slippery.

It would be a good idea to inform future visitors that the Doro Nawas camp is at the end of D2612, almost an hour's drive from the first (locked) camp with a sign 'Doro Nawas Camp.'

We found the staff very anxious to get everything right for the guests."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Convenient location for self drive in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2014
"Excellent wildlife viewing at the waterhole. The food was good and the chalet was functional and clean."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Good camp, but away from park gate"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2014
"Excellent decor in the main area and chalets were clean and well maintained. Very friendly and helpful staff.

For wildlife photographers it would be better to stay within the park as you will get additional viewing time at sunrise and sunset."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great experience"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2014
"We were lucky to get a room with a waterhole view. Excellent bird life in the garden, good reception area and very friendly and helpful staff.

Rooms were clean but functional."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team