This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from Wales

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

Namibian Dream

Namibia between 8 Oct 2011 and 30 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We would recommend Namibia as a holiday destination to anybody! We were there for 3 weeks in order to take in the most of the country.The scenery, people and wildlife did not disappoint. The driving was easy as the traffic was so minimal. Some of the journeys were lengthy and would recommend early starts to achieve them comfortably. Even the gravel roads were easily manageable. We never became lost, had no punctures and no mechanical problems with the vehicle. We had 2 spare tyres, whcih was a comfort as we noticed others who suffered punctures.

All the food was excellent, especially if you like meat. We only had a chance to sample fish in the coastal areas: the fish was world class.
The country is very diverse with plenty to keep enquiring minds satisfied. Would suggest taking the Bradt guidebook as it proved invaluable to us. We had lofty expectations prior to the holiday and it did not disappoint.

Hopefully, one day we will return.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We were more than content with Angela and her team for our trip and would use them again!"

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2011
"This B&B was set in lovely gardens with secured parking. The rooms were large, clean & the service was excellent.

A friend of the owners was in charge whilst we were there (unfortunately we cannot remember her name) but she was extremely accommodating & helpful. This was a really lovely place to spend a quiet few hours in their lovely gardens after a long flight.

About 5 mins drive away is a supermarket "Pick n' Pick" which iis open on a Sunday & we were able to buy provisions for our trip."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2011
"We stayed in one of the wooden chalets built on stilts, which enjoyed a wondeful view of a small waterhole. We did the game drive in the afternoon which was very enjoyable.

Evening meal was a buffet affair which was very good. Staff were very accommodating. Lovely place to stopover on trip south."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"We drove 2 1/2 hrs along a gravel road without seeing another vehiicle & whilst we were driving we were wondering if it was going to be worth it. Well, without a doubt it was! The view from the main building and rooms is simply stunning. We received an extremely warm welocme & was advised about everything we needed to know. We were in room 10. The rooms were clean, had everything you needed-even an outdoor shower (private) & a very large bathroom with room for your cases.

We spent quite a few hours sat on our balcony, drinking, overlooking the canyon. Simply lovely. The staff were extremely helpful & considering how remote the lodge is the food was excellent. We went on a drive in the morning with PJ down into the canyon & it was a real highlight. Do not miss. PJ was an excellent guide & is a real asset. We swam in a rock pool, which was freezing even though it was extremely hot outside & then sat by the pool & had lunch.

We are so glad we did drive this far south because the canyon & the lodge is a definite must in our book."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2011
"We checked in at Desert Horse Inn & was greeted by a very lovely lady who gave us full information about Eagle's Nest. Eagle's Nest is situated about 15,mins drive from Desert Horse Inn along a sandy, gravel road.

We stayed in cabin "Eagle's View" which was the last cabin & the setting of these cabins is absolutely fabulous. All the cabins were unique in design and built into the rocks.The room was huge with a kitchen area, kettle, fridge, 2 ring hob & full utensils. We opted to cook for ourselves & had both barbecue & breakfast packs for the 2 days we were there. The barbecue consisted of either rump stesk, t-bone steak or lamb with jacket pots, plate of salad with salad dressing, bread, & dessert. Breakfast was cold meat, eggs, bread, juice etc. Extremely good.

Whiltst we were at the cabin we did the 2hr Mountain walk, which we thoroughly enjoyed until we had to climb the mountain & come down the other side. It was an extrmeley long way up & down!! Not for the faint-hearted but a real experience. We thoroughly enjoyed this place. It was so peaceful, the cabin so beautifully decoarated. If you drive to the Desert Horse Inn, then drive a little bit further for a truly wonderful place to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

"Dabis Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2011
"The farm is run by Jora and Michelle. We were welcomed by Michelle & stayed in room 2 which was more than adequate, Simply firnished but very clean with an area to sit outside & relax. There were no other guests staying at the time we were there.

The gardens are lovely to walk around & there is also a swimming pool & tennis court. We had an afternoon tea with the family & then went on a game drive with Jora which was extremely interesting. Michelle does all the cooking herself & the food was excellent. One of the best meals we had throughout our entire trip.

Learnng about their way of life was extremely interesting & as hosts you could not fault them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"The serivce at Hoodia was without doubt exceptional.

We were in cabin 1 which was the last cabin in the row and very peaceful, with fabulous views. The food was excellent. We had a day out with the guide to the dunes, which included an amazing lunch out in the wilds.

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2011
"We were welcomed by Maraget who was extremely helpful throughout our stay, The rooms are large with everything you need, even an electric blanket, which we did use as it was quite cool during the night whilst we were there.

Breakfast was in "The Viilla" & they had an excellent choice. The chef & assistant were very helpful & service was excellent. We stayed in room 6 & we thoroughly enjoyed out stay here.

The Stilltz is a place with a difference-we loved it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2011
"The room were circular and unique with outdoor bathrooms. The guide was excellent in finding the elusive desert elephants. The food was wonderful with first class service from Cyril.

We had an uninvited visitor in the open bathroom: a whip snake-whcih was apparently harmless-this induced much astonishment among our friends when we recounted the incident on our return home. Don't let this put you off Camp Kipwe as it was one of the highlights of the trip!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2011
"Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our stay here very much. We stayed in a Bush Chalet which was a 2 min walk from the waterhole which was great. We had a small lounge area with sink & kettle for tea/coffee but no other utensils: so the option of having a barbecue would have been extremely difficult.

THe bedroom was falrly spacious & extremely clean., however the shower was a mere trickle. The let down was the resturant. Although our evening meals (buffet) was fairly good, the service was dreadful.. There were plenty of staff working, but there was no organisation. For breakfast the choice of food was very poor & again the service was below standard.

It is a pity because the waterhole is obviously a real asset for this camp as we saw plenty of animals there. We are also glad we did not pay extra to have a waterhole chalet as we noticed most of them did not have a direct view of the waterhole & there is very little privacy because of ther amount of people back & forth to the waterhole.

We were very disappointed with this camp."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Onguma Tree Top review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2011
"The entrance to this camp is vitually directly outside Von Lindequist Gate on the left. Wonderful welcome from MarKus, who was a genial host throughout. Only 4 rooms, uniquely built among the trees with a wonderful view of a waterhole. Great food and service.

We did an afternoon, morning a night drive with an excellent guide, Justin."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2011
"We had a view room, which was spacious and possessed a veranda. We did cheetah and leopard tracking: both excellent as well as the bushman trail, which is also recommended.

Only negative point was that at meal times we had no opportunity to eat as a couple as we were seated with others on a large table.

Don't miss afternoon tea and cake: not for dieters."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team