This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss D & Mr B from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

My Dec 2012 trip

Namibia between 9 Dec 2012 and 24 Dec 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"A success from start to finish.

Everything was completely seamless, everything ran according to plan, we had everything we needed and couldn't have asked for more."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Peace and tranquility in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 9 Dec 2012
"Unfortunately as we arrived on a Sunday Windhoek was pretty much closed. It was a great stop over place for the night but wouldn't expect to stay there for longer."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Greak Hiking at Bullsport"

2 nights Arrived 10 Dec 2012
"Really interesting to see a slice of Namibian life from the inside. Spectacular hiking, with well thought out routes of different lengths and terrains which were extremely well marked out.

The food was delicious, breakfast definitely set you up for a day of hiking, the packed lunch more than I'd ever expected and wonderful home cooked dinners.

Unfortunately as there were other German speaking guests on the first night, the conversation was almost all in German. This was disappointing as we were hoping to spend time talking to our hosts, learn more about the farm and get a locals view on Namibia. We were lucky enough to get this opportunity on the second night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Spectacular location"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2012
"Stunning location with spectacular views. Stunning chalets, we both absolutely loved the outdoor shower!

The staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially when we returned really late for dinner due to sunset horse riding experience. They were still extremely cheerful as they served us dinner.

It was a great location to experience all that Sesriem has to offer and then come back and relax by the pool.

Additionally, amazing having so many birds living by the lodge and we loved seeing all the Springbok on the long drive from the road."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Poor location near club"

2 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2012
"Stiltz is a novel idea but its location near a club dramatically detracted from our stay here. On a weekend the music ends at 2.15 and you can clearly hear it in your room.

That said the breakfast was the best we experienced.

Rooms were okay but not as good as other places we stayed in. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Whilst here, we arranged a 'Pelican Point Kayaking trip' for these travellers. They commented:

Kayaking was fantatsic fun

Great to have such a knowledgeable guide. A really fun trip out, loved getting so close to the seals. Just a shame not to have spent more time with the flamingos."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking was fantatsic fun"

15 Dec 2012 • Morning excursion

Great to have such a knowledgeable guide. A really fun trip out, loved getting so close to the seals. Just a shame not to have spent more time with the flamingos.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Great location for star gazing"

2 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2012
"We were completely blown away by our stay here, beginning with the welcome from Aggie and her amazing staff. We absolutely loved every minute we spent here.

The location is amazing, a complete 360 view, which you really appreciate when night falls and the stars come alive. The guides are really knowledgeable and will happily talk you through all the stars visible.

Having lots of different outside space was great and made us feel we had to make use of it all. The pool is amazing and we definitely enjoyed whiling away some time there during the heat of the afternoon.

All the meals were delicious and the staff so very helpful, friendly and just a joy to be around.

The highlight for me were the beds, being able to wheel them out to sleep under the stars was phenomenal and I have to say we did it both nights we were there. The only issue was sleeping as I didn't want to miss out on the view! Also loved the outside shower, we definitely enjoyed being up close and personal with the outdoors.

We went for a guided walk which was really interesting and informative.

Couldn't fault it at all and were very sad to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo all about the waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2012
"As warned this is all about the location and the food is the worst we experienced.

It's such a shame that this place is so far behind the rest of Namibia on service, food and eco tourism. The whole place is extremely old school and I was scandalised they wash all the towels every day, whether you want it or not.

The one thing which made up for it was the water hole.

One thing to warn people about is their ticket is valid for 24 hours per night you have at the camp and you must vacate within this time or have to buy another day permit. Staff didn't tell us this at time of purchase."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Bringing outside inside"

2 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2012
"Another lovely place to stay. The tents are a stroke of genius! One of the best thought out places we stayed in.

Lovely location, we really felt we were at one with the wildlife seeing hartebeests and a warthog around the camp.

We loved that everything was so open and blended into the surroundings"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2012
"The hiking here was brilliant, it's a fairy tale location.

The free guided walking tours were fantastic and made a real difference to our stay. These were tailored to what we wanted to see and the guide was an expert in so many things it made all the difference.

Amazing sunsets and spectacular views, made up for the rain.

Staff lovely and helpful. It was a great place to finish this amazing holiday.

A shame that when it rains receptions gets flooded so no internet or phone :)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team