This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Stiltz
The Stiltz
The Stiltz

Reviews of The Stiltz

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Stiltz and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A & family
UK

"Hiatus in Swakopmund"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2010
"We booked to stay 3 nights at the Stiltz, to rest before our journey up the Skeleton Coast. The Stiltz is well located and easy to find, within walking distance of the centre of town.

It is certainly an eye-catching place to stay, we treated ourselves to the Villa which was a stunningly impressive space with large open plan fireside/dining area with adjoining terrace overlooking the beach. The main bed was on a mezzanine floor, also with a rather disconcertaingly open plan bedroom/bathroom arrangement which might not be to everyones taste.

The whole villa was boldy decorated in brightly coloured soft furnishings with the liberal use of wood, cane, stainless steel, leather, silk and organza curtains and faux-fur throws on the beds, and many wooden artefacts which might have been Namibian, but equally could have been Tiawanese or Polynesian!? That said it was certianly very comfortable and there was acres of space for 6.

The staff were especially friendly, especially in the office helping with restaurant booking and general advice about local amenities. We had a great boat trip from Pelican Point in the company of Pelican seals and dolphin.

Swakupmond itself was not particularly inspiring, and with the sea mist we actually felt quite cold, and were pleased to be back on the road again when the time came to leave.

These travellers commented about their boat trip:

Having booked the kayaking, due to a hiccup we ended up on the boat trip, which arguable was a better option.

We were taken out well into the lagoon, in an effort to see whale (there were none) but we had an excellent trip with lots of chat and enteratinment in the form of pelican feeding and fly-bys, seals coming onto the boat for petting, feeding and photos, and a look at the flamingos on the shore.

We were treated to a picnic of sparkling wine, oysters and other canapes before return home 3 hours later.

A good fun trip." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr I & Mrs A
France

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2010
"We were welcomed by an exuberant friendly team of staff who helped us with directions to restaurants, were to go and what to do.

The rooms were very comfortable with excellent facilities including internet access, a mini bar and a great shower!

The location was spectacular but unfortunately the weather was overcast and cold so we didn't really enjoy the surrounding scenery.

The breakfast was excellent but it would have been nice to have a communal area for a drink in the evening." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr R
Hampshire

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2009
"This was a great hotel in a great location.

The individual rooms on stilts were very roomy and contained everything needed for a relaxing stay including wine and coffee - our room was on the end with a great view of the river and the ocean. Breakfast was good in another great location, and we ate at The Tug each night which was a great fish restaurant.

We went quad biking in the dunes which was a fantastic experience as the weather was warm and sunny - great place - really helpful staff - a really great 2 days." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Harrow

"Sea Kayaking base"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2009
"When we arrived we had been allocated one of the rooms over looking the river and the sea which we hadn't expected - so we were well pleased. The receptionist was very efficient and friendly. She confirmed both of our day trips and booked us the Tug for Sunday evening.

The room was very good with plenty of space, a nice balcony (although it was a bit too cold to really enjoy it!!!!) and the beds had electric blankets!!!!!

The breakfasts were excellent with the hot food being cooked to order.
We did 2 trips while here - one was the Turnstone tour to Sandwich Bay which involved sand dunes, a wonderful lunch on the beach right at the sea line and a walk along the lagoons. The second was Sea Kayaking with Jeanne (a lovely lady who was so interested in all that she did and in what we saw) - this we really did enjoy the whole experience and a must for anyone to do!!!!!.

Day trip to Sandwich Harbour
We were picked up on time and headed off for the dunes. Driving in the dunes was a real experience and a lot of information given to us by the guide.

We stopped for a wonderful lunch right on the beach with the sea lapping at out feet. When we arrived at Sandwich Bay we were very disappointed by the lack of birds. We had read that this was one of the best sites for bird life in Namibia but there were only about 7 species in all. We had a young Jackal follow us on our walk but this was really the only highlight (apart from 1 Damara Tern that we spotted). The guide tended to speak german as the other 4 people were from germany and we felt a little left out at times.
Really glad we did the trip but nothing overly outstanding.

Kayaking to Pelican Point
Excellent excellent excellent - a great experience we wouldn't have missed. Jeanne is very well organised and knowledgeable. On the way to the point, driving through the salt pans she spent time pointing out all the birds. On arrival at pelican point we were quickly kitted out and were told about the workings of the canoe. We went out to sea to find the dolphins and then returned to Jeannes seal colony where we spent the most wonderful hour with the young fur seals which came up to the canoe, played with the paddles and some even let you touch them. The sound and smell was unbelievable!!!!!!

When we landed sandwiches and hot coffee were provided and we drove back via the salt pans and more bird watching.
Jeanne gives everyone a great experience and a very full morning. This trip should not be missed." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"The Stiltz review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2009
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Stiltz. From the time we arrived until the moment we left, the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. In particular, the staff on the reception desk went out of their way to confirm our trips and try to book us on a scenic flight. Catharina was especially helpful.

Our room (number 6) was very spacious with a great bathroom, seating area and balcony. It was also very tastefully furnished and had a very reasonably priced mini-bar.

Breakfast was very good with freshly baked muffins and croissants as well as all the usual cereals, fruits, yoghurts, etc.

We would also recommend The Tug restaurant which is in the same ownership - our meal here was superb. Reception will make a reservation for you there or anywhere else in Swakopmund. We also recommend one of the half day 'Little 5' desert tours - your expert guide will find snakes, chameleons, lizards, etc which you haven't a hope of finding on your own. The Stiltz can arrange this too and you will be picked up from and returned to reception.

Expert Africa also organised a day trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented:

"Although we were unlucky with the tides, meaning we only had a limited time at Sandwich Harbour itself, we had a fantastic day. Wayne, our guide, was really knowledgeable and interesting.

Turnstone Tours seem to be a very professional outfit, who take their responsibilities to the delicate environment they are working in very seriously. We would thoroughly recommend this trip."" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
California

"The Stiltz review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2009
"When I was considering the various accomodation options in Swakopmund, I almost didn't choose the Stiltz because it was described as being rather far away from downtown. As it turned out it was probably less than one-half mile to the center of Swatkopmund and, rather than having the rather boring, Germanic look of the rest of the town, it was quite imaginatively designed.

Our “room” at the Stiltz turned out to be an individual, wooden bungalow, built on stilts (hence the name), overlooking the ocean and a picturesque lagoon with a number of water birds. The Stiltz also had a bird feeder which drew a number of other colorful birds. In addition, there was a neighborhood pelican who was always roosting on top of a light pole just down the block from the hotel.

I might add that the proprietress at The Stiltz was very helpful in booking our fabulous kayaking tour where we were literally surrounded with hundreds of cape fur seals. She also was able to get us reservations at the best restaurant in Swakopmund, called the Tug, not once but twice. The second time she was also able to get us seated at the best table in the house with views on three sides of the turbulent Atlantic Ocean.

One other thing -- the flight from Soussesvlei to Swakopmund was otherworldly. The photos I took look like mosaics. I have done a fair amount of flying in beautiful places in small planes and this was far and away the most beautiful flight I have ever been on. Obviously, you can't guarantee gorgeous weather in foggy Swakopmund but if you luck out like we did, you are in for a once in a lifetime treat!

We also arranged for this couple a day-trip along coast south of Swakopmund:

It was a great trip. Ernest, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and also an enjoyable person to spend the day with. He is an expert driver and took us to a very remote, almost inaccessible area, where we saw all kinds of incredible birds. He also lead us up the side of a huge sand dune to an incredible view over the multi-colored dunes and the ocean below. We then drove up and down the dunes which was great fun -- a little like being on a desert roller coaster.

He also amazed us by serving a delicious lunch, pulling china and a table and chairs out of the back of his truck. Finally, he showed us the flocks of flamingoes (and got them all to fly above us for a great photo) before returning to Swakopmund. A great day!!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & S on Honeymoon
UK

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2009
"A lovely place in a lovely location.

The individual design of the rooms was really lovely, we had one of the view cabins (room 7) and the view from our balcony over the river mouth to the sea was great.

Surprisingly there were no mosquitos either which was a relief! breakfast was also very good." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr G & Mrs M
Portugal

"Stiltz, wonderful location"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2009
"Excellent location on the lagoon but still very close to town.

Room 6 was lovely with great view and lots of space in the room, verandah and bathroom.

Staff very helpful and attentive." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Southsea

"Unusual setting for a town"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2008
"It was a lot cooler and damper in Swakopmund and the room did not seem very warm and inviting. The buildings in the front had better views of the sea but we were further back and was disappointing.

The staff were very helpful in organising restaurants for us for the evening and activities such as the scenic flight." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Ms D & Mr C
Stockport

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"The Stiltz accomodation was quirky and good
It was nice to have a break from the Safari run but really did not enjoy Swakopmund at all!
Why were we sent there?
Pleasant enough staff for a B and B and they were great in helping us book restaurants etc for the evening." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 62
87%
62 reviews of The Stiltz by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
31
23
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (228 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (48 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (18 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa