This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from Woking

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

1

A dream trip

Namibia between 30 Sep 2010 and 19 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"For me this was a long held dream which exceeded my expectations. We had been impressed by the knowledge and experience of your staff - Tracy initially and then Angela - and their willingness truly to create what we wanted raher than (as with another company we approached) tinkering slightly with a standard package.

It was only once we got there that we realised the extent to which that knowledge and experience had been used to shape our trip into something that worked well for us and gave us a much better experience than we could have put together for ourselves. The advice and guidance, with some small exceptions, covered everything we needed to know to make life easy.

The exceptions - for me they were the lack of any obvious guidance on driving on sand roads (it's in the guidebook but I didn't see that until we were stuck), the detailed instructions for finding the wrong Erongo Lodge and something on the ubiquitous car guards would have been useful. My husband would have liked advice on going faster on the gravel roads when they're in poor condition - that was the local advice we were given and it certainly made the bumpier stretches less painful.

I can see however that there are inherent dangers in that and that it is important that less skillful drivers recognise that anything over 60-80kph could have unfortunate effects.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Any omissions were very minor. I'd be happy yo use you again and have certainly been recommending you to friends."

Feedback response

We are delighted that this trip exceeded these travellers expectations. We apologise for the issues they had with the map for Erongo Wilderness Lodge. Although this was marked correctly on their main map, the supplementary, more detailed map was obviously quite confusing and so we will not be issuing this map any more. Thank you for pointing this out to us.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"First night in Namibia"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2010
"A very promising start to our holiday, ideal after a long journey and very easy to find.

The staff were helpful and made us feel welcome, the room was comfortable and the food excellent. We loved the bath/shower (in room 8) that felt like a very upmarket cave!

We left after one night feeling refreshed and ready for the adventure to come."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Stuck in the sand"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2010
"The 3km from the road to the ranch was our first experience of driving in sand and we got it wrong! A slightly daunting experience on only our second day in the country but everyone (staff and other guests) was helpful, full of useful advice and managed not to make us feel foolish.

We did the evening sundowner game drive with an excellent and informative guide and enjoyed it and the morning visit to the cheetahs. Seeing the meerkats was a bonus.

Our dune stilt room (no 2) was lovely - very spacious, clean and comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Oasis at the end of a nightmare"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2010
"The lodge is wonderful and the staff (especially Madolyn and Selma) delightful.

The road in was horrendous - our first stretch of gravel road, 137 km long and (we later learned) in uncharacteristically poor condition. It was very badly corrugated for most of the way and had us wishing that we'd stayed at home. But rounding the final bends to see the lodge was a very pleasant surprise and we had a great two days here.

We were in the furthest of the bungalows (23) which felt wonderfully isolated, with beautiful views from the terrace - and another upmarket cave for a bathroom. Loved the way they had built into and around the rocks without compromising on comfort. The guided drive to the canyon was interesting and enjoyable - we particularly enjoyed stretching our legs on the walk to the hikers viewpoint."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"In the desert"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2010
"We stayed in the furthest of the lodges, Eagles View, which was huge, very well appointed, clean and comfortable and with endless views across a surprisingly populated (at least by birds and animals) desert.

The 7km drive from the reception and restaurant initially felt daunting but was fine - despite rounding a corner and meeting a kudu fairly close up - even in the dark after dinner. We opted to eat in the restaurant for our first dinner and breakfast and then take advantage of the braai and breakfast pack on the second day. Both were excellent and it was good to have the option of cooking for ourselves, although we were slightly embarrassed to find that they provided so much food that some of it was wasted.

It's a lovely spot although without a great deal to do - we visited Luderitz but it's a long drive and the two sites we were most interested in - the ghost town and the Goerke Haus - closed by the time we got there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Our first disappointment"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2010
"Something about Kulala didn't add up for us. We were greeted by the exuberant Petronella, who told us they were suffering from snakes, scorpions and mosquitos (none of which we saw) and that the water wasn't drinkable.

We felt a bit pressurised to sign up for activities but declined the sunset drive (which at 650 we thought was expensive). The virtually all day trip to the dunes and the Sesriem canyon was also fairly pricey but felt like good value and was well worth it - we had an excellent guide. The food was okay (although the staff felt as though they were in training) but not as good as we'd experienced previously and the rooms (we were in 1) basic but comfortable.

The mosquito netting - the only time we had to use it during our trip - had some holes in it, as did the netting on the windows which was a bit of a concern given what we'd been told about mosquitos. I did enjoy the 'loo with a view' though that might leave some people feeling exposed. And it was very hot - but that is not their fault! It did leave us concerned that we were to stay in two further Wilderness Safari lodges but in fact both the others (Doro !Nawas and Ongava) were much better - the latter probably the best of the whole trip.

The 7km drive to the lodge was in poor condition - a trial at the end of a long day."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"And now for something completely different"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2010
"We arrived embarrassingly early because the drive from Kulala was short and easy. Ernst Sauber was obviously busy (and his wife away) but was welcoming and sorted us out very efficiently. The early arrival meant that we had time for one of the longer walks later in the afternoon and we very much enjoyed that.

We were in one of the luxury rooms (11) which was large, cool (despite no fan or ac), very comfortable and had a gorgeous shower. The following day we opted for the 4 x 4 drive into the Naukluft Mountains followed by a walk through the Quivertree gorge - which had a river with water in it! and baboons that we enjoyed. The printed directions were very clear and easy to follow.That made for a great morning and we planned to do one of the shorter walks from the farm in the later afternoon but somehow didn't get around to it.

The food was fairly plain but good and on the second day when we were the only non German speakers at dinner (after a very mixed mostly English speaking bunch the first night), Ernst was very skillful in ensuring that we didn't feel left out."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"A cold night by the sea"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2010
"We were in room 7 - the last and therefore only one with uninterrupted views although the wind was so strong that we couldn't use the balcony to enjoy them.

The wonderful Margaret was friendly, welcoming, helpful and efficient - she gave advice on where to eat and had reservations made at both our choices within half an hour of our arrival - including the last table at the Tug. Worth booking that one before you get to Swapkomund as the food is excellent.

The Stiltz was lovely despite our discovering what an electric blanket is for but the highlight of the stay was the kayaking trip with Jeanne. I had one of those 'ohmigod what have I let myself in for' moments but Jeanne was so professional and reassuring (as well as just plain nice) that we had a wonderful morning. She provides everything you need, takes great pictures and emails them to you (we didn't realise we could have taken cameras) and provides coffee and sandwiches - and a very practical bush toilet for the ladies - on the sand once you come out of the water.

Swakopmund was an interesting town to spend time in and very different to anywhere else we stayed. A good mid point of our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Please can we do it again"

11 Oct 2010 • Morning excursion

This was great. Very well organised by Jeanne who thought of everything, including a bush toilet for the ladies. As very inexperienced kayakers the female amongst us was nervous but quickly reassured by Jeanne's competence and professionalism. She made it a great experience and even took photographs for us which were sitting in our inbox when we got home.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Scary castle - warm welcome"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2010
"We loved Doro !Nawas. Despite looking a bit grim as we approached (and another fairly bad drive from the road) the welcome from Danize and her staff was a very warm one; the atmosphere of the whole place was very friendly and welcoming.

The rooms were large and lovely, though we didn't quite have the courage to sleep in the open - apart from anything else it was cold at night. The early morning drive to look for elephants which we'd pre-booked was good although Action the guide was not as knowledgeable as others we came across.

In the late afternoon we went for a walk with Michael who was very informative. Impromptu star gazing after dinner one night and the singing of the staff after dinner were both highlights too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"My favourite"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2010
"This lodge was my favourite - the room (5) very luxurious with a great terrace (although no view of the waterhole), the food excellent.

We had a late afternoon game drive on the Ongava reserve where we saw lions and white rhinos at close quarters and then a morning (5-6 hours) in Etosha, both with Michael who was the best and most knowledgeable guide we came across by some margin. Once we got used to his driving!

He also gave us good advice on how to get the most out of our next stay at the east end of Etosha when we planned to do our own driving."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Warthogs on the lawn"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2010
"Quite a different experience to other places we stayed.

Very stylish effect somewhat spolit by the warthog poo all over the lawns - though they clearly made some effort to clear it up you had to be careful when by the pool in bare feet - not quite in keeping with the image they were aiming for. The room was lovely (we were in 7) with a verandah perfect for sitting and watching the wildlife go by.

The staff were delightful and the food different and good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Where?"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2010
"We were relieved to discover that the directions you had given us were for the wrong place as the Wilderness Lodge was much less of a detour from the road back to Windhoek!

We were looking forward to doing some walking here and made a point of arriving early in the afternoon but were only staying one night and found that the 'real' walks all happened in the morning so were not available to us. We did do the sundowner walk (with Johnny - reassuring on the difficult bits and very informative) which we enjoyed but would have liked to go further and learn more.

The lodge was under interim management. Gregory was fine, helpful, friendly and welcoming but there was another character who was not very impressive and didn't seem to do anything very useful except tell tales about his laddish exploits.

Food good - very much in he mould of the Olive Grove where we'd spent our first night. Like others before us we'd have liked a second day if only for the walking."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team