This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D & Ms S from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

1

Another wonderful Namiibian experience

Namibia between 8 Aug 2014 and 15 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We love Namibia. Etosha always gives amazing wildlife experiences. There is a lot of driving but the scenery is stunning. We particularly enjoyed the road from Etosha to Palwag over the Grootberg pass. Everyone should do the skeleton coastal route at least once. It is a long but unforgettable day.

We did think the last days drive from Swakopmund to the airport for a lunchtime flight rather a long way and on a very busy road it was a bit of a rush.

Thank you expert Africa for organising our trip once again. Your recommendations were excellent as always.
Gwyneth was our main contact and then Sabina. Both very helpful and knowledgable.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We used Chris's Bradt guide once again like a bible. Wherever you are or whatever you want to know, the answer will be in that book!"

Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Quick overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2014
"Francs Indongo was a good decision for an overnight stay en route from Windhoek to Etosha. It was v comfortable and the food was v good and welcome after a long drive. We were glad to have done the majority of the driving on the first day with only 2 1/2 hours the next morning to Etosha.

We did arrive a bit later than expected as our flight was delayed. It might be an idea for the Lodge to know if they are the first stop from the airport. They had contacted you wondering if we were still expected.

Having arrived in the dark, it was delightful to see the surroundings of the lodge to be so beautiful in the morning. The staff were extremely nice and welcoming."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"My favourite camp in Etosha"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2014
"We were pleased with the location of our cottages. The bush chalets are probably better than the waterhole chalets as you don't have everyone milling around your front door. They are just a short walk from the waterhole and quite comfortable.

Being able to view the waterhole while in camp is special. Not to be missed. The restaurant food is by no means the best, but is just fine. We didn't realise that breakfast is included, and is available from early on so you can still make an early exit from the camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Very remote but worth the long drive"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2014
"We loved Desert Rhino camp for its remoteness. We had an unforgettable stay. It is a long drive to the camp but you learn so much about the desert animals and vegetation from fantastic guides. Our guide Bons was a delight to be with over the 2 days. So knowledgable and such fun. We successfully tracked 2 rhinos on foot which was thrilling. The trackers from Save the Rhino were v efficient and lovely people. We thoroughly enjoyed our day with them.

It is worth noting that the pick up point for Desert Rhino camp is not at the Palmwag Lodge entrance, but another 3 Kms further along the road. It has it's own sign. The lodge is very comfortable but very open to the elements so v cold at night. Hot water bottles and rugs were very welcome!

The food was v good and they were excellent in providing alternatives for my son who has food allergies."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Convenient and v comfortable"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2014
"A very convenient and central overnight stop in Swakopmund. Rooms very comfortable. An easy walk into town."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Oct 2010 trip

Namibia between 1 Oct 2010 and 16 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall, we had a wonderful holiday, so thank you all very much. We will return and will recommend Namibia and you guys to others without hesitation.

One more note for your book, Chris: the R200 note is now in common use in Namibia!

One final thought: We do think things are getting rather expensive in Southern Africa. I spent about £2000 while in Namibia in addition to the base cost of the trip (more than I had anticipated) - and I could have spent much more. Apparently there are people willing to pay £600 for a bottle of wine (see the Mushara wine list.) If people are not careful, they will price themselves out of the market!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just do what you can to impress on the operators out there that they have a wonderful product, and it would be a real mistake to get greedy. Geese and golden eggs come to mind!!!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2010
"Overall a very nice lodge; good guides, good food.

It would be a good idea for the excursions to be included in the price - almost everyone goes there to see the dunes, so why add £100+ each to the bill?"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"Lovely location and room. One thing for the new guide, Chris: The Tug is open on Sundays!

Kayaking was fun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals"

4 Oct 2010 • Morning excursion

The kit is a bit on the old and used side, but Jeanne made up for it all with her personality, and we had a super morning on the water.

Note that the meeting place is not quite as described - worth checking with her to get it right; I think it was a different coffee house.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2010
"Spent a very happy day looking for desert elephant (successfully!) and seeing the rock art at Twyfelfontein

Same comment about the expense of add-on activities!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2010
"While a little more dated than other camps, we enjoyed the visit, especially the night in the treehouse.

Saw a lion kill happen at the waterhole next to the camp - fantastic game viewing right on the doorstep. The evening game drive was not so good.

Too many people herded onto a vehicle (ok if it is your first time, but we would not bother with the guided viewing next time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2010
"The lodge near the waterhole was excellent. We saw more game than I have ever seen in nearly 60 years of game viewing - just amazing. 9 rhino at the waterhole - all at once; 60+ elephant; pride of 12 lions; 5 species of eagle in one day. What more could you ask for? Chris' recommendations on the waterholes to visit were spot on.

The restaurant is well described in your book as being a bit like 'school dinners'. we had 2 acceptable meals and one poor one - at least we were prepared, and it was the only poor one in 14 days, so not bad!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2010
"Decor etc is sightly OTT, but nevertheless a super place to stay. Room 8 is really private! Food here was the best we had - excellent. But they are milking the prices! about £9 for 2 G&Ts - it's cheaper in London!!!!

Nice pool - you can actually swim a length!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2010
"Lovely place to slow down and relax; amazing scenery.

Pity they had a problem with the pool while we were there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team