This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Stiltz
The Stiltz
The Stiltz

Reviews of The Stiltz

Wildlife sightings and reviews

63 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Stiltz and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 63
Duration
Arrival date
Ms D & Mr C
Stockport

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"The Stiltz accomodation was quirky and good
It was nice to have a break from the Safari run but really did not enjoy Swakopmund at all!
Why were we sent there?
Pleasant enough staff for a B and B and they were great in helping us book restaurants etc for the evening." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2008
"Good location, very pleasant and attractive room. Reception was closed when we arrived and not yet open when we set off for our activities, so we didn't see much of the staff. Breakfast was good." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr A & Mrs A
UK

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2008
"Well designed rooms and friendly staff, but no views.

The premium you pay to stay here does not seem worth it, especially given the number of B&B's in Swakopmund. It is also a little out-of-the-way. Not far from town as such, but further than most accomodation which may be an issue if you feel nervous walking around after dark.

Also there is no pool or bar on site. In short, a decent place to stay, but over-priced." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Honeymooners
Aberdeen

"The Stiltz review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2008
"This has the best location in Swakopmund, great views over the ocean and only a few minutes walk into the town centre. The room was good but cold at night, but then the whole town was cold!!

We ate at the grapevine and the tug restaurants which were recommended, the food and wine in both were outstanding. We especially enjoyed the wine tasting at the grapevine. Booking is esential for both." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Meerkats party x 7
UK

"A good stopover between animal watching"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2008
"Very good location, convenient for the town and the sea, and with interesting design features.

It was good to have a time at the sea and to see the architecture of a Namibian town.

The receptionist was very helpful in organising our evening meals, in booking our quadbiking/sandboarding and in trying to sort our problems with the car.

The morning we spent in the dunes quadbiking etc was brilliant fun for the whole family (13-60!)" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr B & Mrs E
Surrey

"Where's the river?"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2008
"Swapokmund and Walvis Bay together were another highlight.

The Stiltz is super, but we couldn't find the river - yes, we know, there's no water in it just now. The rooms were huge (although the space outside on Bungalows 1 & 2 was very limited and exposed to passersby), so we partied indoors. The explanation being that it was my birthday on the day we arrived so a few drinks were in order - Brian!

The Tug was our venue for dinner both nights (yes it was that good - they have even listened to Chris' criticism of the wine, which is now excellent - and very reasonably priced), although a bit cramped in the no smoking area, with tables crammed in, it was very cosy.

We went kayaking on the first day - see below - the rest of our time there was spent visiting the town for some retail therapy for the ladies and siteseeing a very pretty little town. Some very attractive buildings and a comfortable feel." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Erin

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2008
"We loved the easy check-in, the character of the chalet and the ambience of the breakfast room, complete with authentic African background music. This was not a conventional hotel/ lodge - it appeared that the only staff present at night was the security guard." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Meerkats
Thame

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2008
"The Stiltz at Swakopmund was delightful and made the town very bearable, despite the cold and fog. The cabins were equipped with heaters and electric blankets - very necessary! We ate both nights at The Tug, which I believe is owned by the same people - great atmosphere, good food and lovely location.

For bird-watchers, the wetlands are a paradise - however, some of the cabins (on stilts) have better views than others. This is reflected in their price, but travellers wanting to look out for birds would be advised to ask for a cabin with a good outlook.

I have raised an issue about the booking in a separate email to Sabina.

At Swakopmund we took an excellent desert tour with Charly's desert tours." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Jacana family
Bristol

"Luxury in the Villa at Stiltz"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2008
"We were booked into the Villa, which is the most luxurious accommodation we have ever encountered. Two stories, three bedrooms, two bathrooms, with a huge picture window upstairs giving views from the emperor sized bed out to sea. Whole assembly of buildings looks to have emerged from the computer game "Myst" and is unlike anything I have seen anywhere else in the world. None the worse for that. Well situated close to South end of Promenade. We were told that the tourist part of town was safe and encountered no problems walking around before or after dark.

We ate the first night at The Tug (N$840) for four people including wine which was really excellent and the second night at Der Keller (N$580) which provided quantity rather than quality - the steak being tasty but requiring much chewing.

We were booked onto the day tour to Sandwich harbour, but this was frustrated by rising tides and onshore winds, so spent a day in the dunes instead (a bit anti-climatic), and the next morning kayaked on Walvis Bay. An early start, but a very strongly recommended trip - we got really close up views of the seals and their colony and more distance sightings of porpoises." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The Dassies
Cumbria

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2008
"The Stiltz is a very convenient base to explore Swakopmund from. The staff here were very helpful. When we were unable to book a table at the nearby Tug restaurant they were able to secure one for us." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 63
88%
63 reviews of The Stiltz by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
32
23
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


94% (250 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


88% (173 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


87% (60 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well-placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (56 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (48 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

Colourful and contemporary in style, The Delight is a relatively large hotel within a short walk of Swakopmund's waterfront, restaurants and main attractions.


93% (24 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (21 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (17 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


91% (7 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


73% (3 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa