This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Honeymooners from Aberdeen

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

Best holiday we have ever been on.

Namibia between 3 Sep 2008 and 21 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Best holiday we have ever been on. From beginning to end we were treated to spectacular sights and experiences. The contrast of all the lodges added to the exotic feel of our honeymoon.

Suggestions for improvement:

I would suggest that the drive from Zebra River to Swokopmund was one of the most boring parts of the holiday. The main road could have been avoided if we had a permit to drive fhrough the national park. In reterospect we should have picked one of these up in Windhoek so we could do this.

An excellent geological fieldguide about Namibia is "The Roadside Geology of Namibia, 2nd Revised Edition" by Gabi Schneider (2008, ISBN 978-3-443-15084-6). It is far superior than "A fascination of geology" recommended by the Brant guide.

Detour to the Hobra meteroite was well worth it.

If going again we would spend less time in Swokopmund, and more time in the bush.

Purchased goods are entitled to a VAT refund at Windhoek airport if you have the invoice handy, although you have to give them your bank details.

Camera tripod was the best thing we took with us, for timer photos of us and night shots of the game,"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2008
"This was the first night of our honeymoon, we were not disappointed! We had room 8, it was excellent the large bath and champagne was just what we needed after a long flight.

The food and service was very good and very reasonable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"This was one of the highlights of our trip, with very luxurious Kulalas and comunal areas, great service, easy access to the dunes and knowledgeable guides. Michael went out of his way to make our honeymoon special.

The sun downer spot on our last night at Little Kulala was amazing, one of the best sunsets I have ever seen."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2008
"Zebra river is a very friendly lodge with everyone eating breakfast and evening meals together. Rob was very knowledgeable about the local area ( and Namibia).

We spent a good day walking in the Tsaris mountains."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"The Stiltz review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2008
"This has the best location in Swakopmund, great views over the ocean and only a few minutes walk into the town centre. The room was good but cold at night, but then the whole town was cold!!

We ate at the grapevine and the tug restaurants which were recommended, the food and wine in both were outstanding. We especially enjoyed the wine tasting at the grapevine. Booking is esential for both."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Average
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Turnstone tours"

10 Sep 2008 • All-day excursion

Ernest was a great guide, very informative. We were lucky to be taken around on our own. Our advice would be to let the guide know your interests so they can tailor the tour for you.
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2008
"Luxurious, very spectacular location. The sundowner spot was amazing, it was good to settle down with a drink and watch the sun go down over the mountains and granite boulders.

The staff were very attentive, making a real effort to accomodate my dietry requirements. We had the same waiter for the duration of the stay making the service feel very personnal. As it was our honeymoon they organised a romantic dinner by the fire and breakfast at the sundowner spot.

This was the best lodge we stayed in durng our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2008
"We were expecting a relatively basic camp so were suprised when we arrived to find a very luxurous camp. It was a very friendly camp with all the guests eating meals together at the camp or during the activities.

We found a Rhino within 1.5 hours of the start of the game drive which gave us plenty of time to watch the Rhino and see other game."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2008
"Lovely family run camp with good with basic accomodation. The bucket shower was fun to use and even warm!! We saw more game here than anywhere else apart from Etosha.

We hope that the camp does not change too much."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2008
"We enjoyed our stay at Okaukuejo as the water hole attracted a wide range of animals over a short period of time and its location is good for exploring western Etosha.

The 45 minute queue at check in confirmed that the place was run by the government, as did the beaurcracy of having to fill out repeated forms with the same information. Expert Africa had told us that a deposit of N$500 was required and advised us to check the room inventory, which we did.

Our recommendation would be to get dinner over with early to spend maximim time at the waterhole in the evening. In our visit we saw elephants at 7.30, giraffes at 8.00 and rhino's at 8.30. But they might not keep to a timetable."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"This was a lovely camp just on outskirts of the national park. The contrast with the government run camps was striking, from the luxourious tented rooms to the stylish central area.

We only stayed at the camp one night so did not partake in the activities, but we would definately return for a longer stay given the chance."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"This camp looked lovely but it was a shame that we didn't really have time to enjoy it. It was the last night of the holiday and we had to leave early for the airport. The activity to see the leopads was well worth it, although it mean't less time in the room.

We would suggest at least two nights here to get the full experience.

Speeding down the windy gravel road to make the activity was one of the most exciting and memorable drives of the holiday!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team