This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Southsea

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

A most memorable experience

Namibia between 3 Oct 2008 and 24 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip more that met with my expectations. I had imagined sitting in the tented accommodation looking out on the wilderness but the reality of actually doing just that was just wonderful.

Each location was small enough to feel the isolation and give us the freedom. We were able to feel the vastness and stillness of it all. All the accommodation was of a very high standard and comfortable but still gave us the feeling of being out in the wild.

It is a wonderful country with wonderful people and we were encouraged by the amount of conservation taking place and the help given to orphaned and under priviledged children in the Wilderness Safari camps."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Very comfortable after night flight from UK"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2008
"The comfort of this accommodation was very welcome after the long overnight flight. The large bath and bathroom helped to relax and refresh us from the journey. The room and the pool area was very comfortable and gave us an excellent start to our travels.

We took a short trip into Windhoek in the afternoon but glad that we ate at Olive Grove in the evening as the food and service was first class."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Set in wonderful surroundings"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2008
"Unforgettable walking in this area. We enjoyed the challenging 5 hour canyon trail spotting mountain zebra and enjoying the views of the canyon which is only 70 metres short of the depth of Fish River Canyon so very spectacular. Convivial arrangements for eating together in the evening with excellent food, especially the home-made bread. Personal. attention from the owners and friendly, helpful staff.

We think we were especially lucky to have the room right at the top of the camp with wonderful views over the area which were especially good in the evening and at dawn."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A wonderful setting, a wonderful experience"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2008
"Extremely friendly, very happy staff. Wonderful accommodation and spectacular views. Excellent guide on the wonderful trip to Sossusvlei. David made it great fun as well as being very informative.

I also enjoyed the sleep out under the stars on the roof of the bathroom at the back of our tent.

A great feeling of absolute wilderness."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Unusual setting for a town"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2008
"It was a lot cooler and damper in Swakopmund and the room did not seem very warm and inviting. The buildings in the front had better views of the sea but we were further back and was disappointing.

The staff were very helpful in organising restaurants for us for the evening and activities such as the scenic flight."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Wonderful location and staff"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2008
"Our experience at Damaraland was just amazing. The views from the rooms and the general area are wonderful. The staff very friendly, helpful and happy. the activities well organised and guide excellent.

saw so many desert adapted elephants in the dried river bed and enjoyed the evening walk which offered spectacular views stretching for miles.

The evening meal spent out in the Boma, hidden from view of the camp was magical. Loved the staff sniging us into supper."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Excellent for game viewing at water hole"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2008
"The water hole offered a fantastic chance to see a great variety of animals in large herds. It was like a kaleidoscope of movement.

It was easy to drive out to visit other water holes during the day. The rooms were very comfortable although surroundings concrete and roadway.

The reception and restaurant service was poor but facilites for shop and post office good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"A first class camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2008
"The service was personal and friendly. The camp was extremely comfortable with a charming view of the water hole although it was a very quiet one for animals.

It is a long drive along a rough road to reach the camp so limits the extent you would want to come and go. Walking from the camp was also restricted but it was very pleasant to just relax."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"An unforgattable experience"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2008
"The experiences we had whilst we stayed at Nhoma almost defy description. We certainly felt very privileged to be part of the village life for a few days. We were made to feel very welcome and encouraged to join in everything from their games, dancing and singing to hunting and making fire etc.

We stayed out over night on a platform in a tree and got an early start the following day with laying snares and hunting spring hare, kudu etc. We also found honey in the tress and were taught about the numerous plants and berries and their medicinal or culinary uses.

The night out was made more spectacular as we happened to experience an amazing electrical storm followed by extremely strong winds. The weather, therefore, proved more of a concern than the fact that leopard, hyena, lion and snakes were roaming around the area beneath us.

Learning about the bushmen culture and ways of thinking and behaving was very enlightening and the whole experience was well worth the long journey on unreliable roads to reach it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Attractive setting"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2008
"We enjoyed the setting which was particularly colourful with the sun setting on the rock face of the plateau. Some good walking and wonderful views from the top of the plateau.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"wonderful walking amongst the rocks"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2008
"We thoroughly enjoyed this final location on our trip. The isolation and scenery were stunning.The outside area for the bathroom set in rocks and the views from the restaurant were wonderful.

The self guided trails were exciting and easy to follow and the guided walk was very informative and enjoyable. the dip in the pool was very welcome and the sundowner trek a pleasant experience. T

he staff were all very professional and friendly. Being at this lodge reinforced our feeling of freedom and wilderness offered by the country and made us feel very reluctant to leave and return to the hubub of Europe."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team