This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Stiltz
The Stiltz
The Stiltz

Reviews of The Stiltz

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Stiltz and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Mr U & Mr G
Germany

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2008
"Certainly a place where we could have easily spent another day or two. A small charming seaside resort with nice shopping and restaurants, a very clean Internet cafe to catch up with the news from home, comfortable roomy bungalows on stilts, and finally the Tug - a seaside restaurant run by the same owner as the Stiltz (the hotel will make a dinner reservation for you) - with delicious food and a great selection of mostly South African wines. The day trip to Sandwich harbour with Turnstone Tours was one of the highlights of our entire Namibia trip with hundreds of pelicans and comorants by their thousands near the shore." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The swifts
London

"Great design, good location"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2008
"The room was in a good location, however it was damp and smelt mouldy.

The rooms were large, yet there was virtually no cupboard space." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The rock Pipits
UK

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2008
"The hotel is ok , nothing special really apart from the fact that it s close to the beach . Very friendly staff and the breakfast was good.

But i guess it s the town of swakopmund that had nothing to offer us .. we left a day earlier .
" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr P & Mrs A
Chipping

"An excellent hotel."

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2008
"We enjoyed our one night stay at the Stiltz very much. The room was very well appointed with a lovely view of the sea.

We had dinner at The Tug. The meal and service were excellent" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Artist
Connecticut

"unique place and location"

3 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2008
"charming and nice
without a car one is a bit lost "out there"

we ate at the tug every night and the walk was perfectly safe even though one is a bit wary as there is no one in the streets" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs C
Berkshire

"The Stiltz review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2007
"great family room, with separate bedroom for the girls.

Rosi on reception was quite simply a star and managed to sort us out reservations at various restaurants, activities etc, and generally offer good advice.

I would highly recommend the 'Living Desert' safari tour searching for the 'little five' with a chap called Chris Nel. He is a knowleable and entertaining conservationist who appears to be taking on the problems of quad biking single-handed! A good morning activity and very informative (we did see all the animals listed too!)" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs Aardvark
uk

"The Stiltz review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2007
"We were given a super stiltz cabin - a two decker that sleeps six, beautifully furnishedand with great view of the lagoon and sea which was what I had wanted, and consequently our opinion is somewhat biased. Some of the other cabins have no view at all and I would not be so keen on them tho they are obviously okay as a base for Swakopmund.

The breakfast room and breakfasts were fine and the staff were helpful tho they forgot to make a promised dinner booking one evening. In which connection we rate the Tug, even with the seaview and sunset, as over-crowded, over-noisy and over-rated, through not over-priced. But we are over-60." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Miss R & Mr N
Surrey

"Stupendous Stiltz by the Sea"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"Fabulous room, beautifully decorated and furnished. The overall attention to detail and execution in the design is brilliant.
Very friendly welcome, helpful with booking boat trip, restaurant reservations and general directions. Appreciated that we had little time and were passionate to ensure we did what we wanted to do.

Breakfast room was delightful, great service, lovely fresh food and a good choice

Short walk from the sea and town - don't rush to the TUG restaurant go to the Kelder instead." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Essex

"OK for a stay in that area"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2007
"Would not select it again as location not ideal, it was our second choice" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Notts

"Chilly Swakopmund, warm welcome at Stiltz!"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2007
"We arrived in Swakopmund on a chilly Saturday afternoon. Everywhere seemed closed but we quicklly found Stiltz and I just fell for the modern rustic Africa decor. However it was so cold we were provided with a fan heater as well as the wall heater and we were advised to put our electric blankets on before we went out to dinner and then leave them on overnight!

The next morning we had a lovely breakfast in the stunning dining room and we happy to be heading out into the desert again.

I have to say that we have returned home definitely not fans of Swakopmund - a combination of the weather, people (having had the luxury of solitude), and an uninspired meal have served to put us off it. I think it would have helpful to have had a table reservation at a good restaurant before we arrived - the receptionist at Stlltz was arranging tables at the reknowned restaurants but there was no availability. Perhaps future guests could be advised of the need to book well in advance and arrangements be made accordingly." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 62
87%
62 reviews of The Stiltz by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
31
23
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa