This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J from Erin

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Honeymoon in Namibia

Namibia between 30 Jul 2008 and 15 Aug 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fantastic time in this beautiful country. Would definately think of returning in the future."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Review of Heinitzberg"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2008
"We really enjoyed the views of Windhoek from the terrace. The food was excellent and the waiting staff attentive. On returning from dinner, our room had been spinkled with rose petals. The only disappointment was check-in. Having arrived at about 10 a.m., following our flight from London, it was implied that we would be able to check in early however we had to wait on the terrace until 2 p.m."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2008
"Wolwedans Dune Lodge is set in a stunning location - the view from our first sun-downer was one of the enduring memories of our holiday. You can really get a feel of the vastness of Namibia from here. The lodge is professionally run and the service cannot be faulted. The food was Michelin-starred - the best that we had in Namibia. On the negative side, the chalets are in need of a face-lift (currently underway) and the fact that we were on Honeymoon was not acknowledged in any way. The drive from Windhoek was long and rather arduous. We would recommend that visitor's fly in to the lodge by light aircraft."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2008
"Check-in at Sossus Dune Lodge was a rather chaotic affair and unlike other guests we were not able to obtain a room key (we were told that this had been lost). Lunch was below average however dinner was pleasant. On the positive side we loved the chalets and appreciated the chance to take a self-guided walk to Sossus Canyon. The guided activity to Sossusvlei was great with a stunning drive through the dunes and a very knowledgeable guide. We used Sossus Dune Lodge as a base to take a hot-air balloon trip. This opportunity should not be missed!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2008
"We loved the easy check-in, the character of the chalet and the ambience of the breakfast room, complete with authentic African background music. This was not a conventional hotel/ lodge - it appeared that the only staff present at night was the security guard."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2008
"We adored Grootberg Lodge. The setting is stunning, the chalets are full of character and the atmosphere relaxed. The range of activities was impressive, as was our guide Tobias. Given the remoteness of the location and the time needed to get there, we would recommend three nights here. You will not be disappointed!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2008
"Ongava has a great family feel, principally as a result of the warm welcome provided by hosts Cameron and Wendy. The check-in and initial briefing were good, the standard of tented accomodation was high and the food had a lovely home-cooked feel. We felt very safe here, despite the roaring lions at night! The waterhole adjacent to the camp is excellent. On our last night, we were provided with a private table surrounded by candles in recognition of our honeymoon. We could not find any fault with this camp."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2008
"We felt that our tent was in need of a minor face-lift - the roof had water stains, which slightly spoilt the lovely interior decor. The range of activities was also rather limited. On the positive side, the service which we received was fantastic, the food good and the atmosphere relaxed. There were several nice touches in relation to our honeymoon. We were glad we stayed at Onguma and wish the staff very best wishes for the future"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2008
"We were given the breathtaking new honeymoon lodge which had only recently opened. Everything about Okonjima was first class. It was a perfect end to our holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team