This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms Z from Ford

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

My Jun 2008 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 22 Jun 2008 and 13 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"As this was our honeymoon, we were hoping for something amazing and were not disappointed! Thanks to all at Expert Africa for arranging a truly memorable honeymoon."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2008
"The accommodation was delightful. The room was very contemporary so we wouldn't say it was for everyone but if one likes a minimalistic style (as we do), it was great.

The staff were really helpful with directions etc and breakfast in the morning was delicious. We also requested pack lunches for the drive between the Olive Grove and our next stop, which were good value and came in handy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kulala Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2008
"We can't praise Kulala Wilderness Camp highly enough. Thomas and his staff were absolutely delightful. We have never experienced such good service in all of our years of travelling to date. We were made to feel very welcome.

The Camp itself is in a beautiful location and it is a memory that will stay with us forever. Thomas and his guides were very knowledgeable about the area and we went on some interesting excursions each day, including a visit to the dunes, a nature drive and a sundowner.

We were very sorry to leave the Camp when it was time to go!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2008
"We really enjoyed our stay at The Stilz. It is a hotel with a difference and we had a beautiful room overlooking the sea and surrounding area.

The Stilz is in a great location and it is very easy to explore Swakopmund from there. Definitely a great place to stay in that area.

Day trip to Sandwich Harbour - We had a great day with Ernst, who was extremely knowledgeable about the area. The home-cooked lunch was also absolutely delicious!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour"

27 Jun 2008 • All-day excursion

We had a great day with Ernst, who was extremely knowledgeable about the area.

The home-cooked lunch was also absolutely delicious!
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2008
"We had another lovely stay at Doro Nawas. The camp is in an excellent location and we had a hut looking straight out onto the mountains in front of us.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. During our stay it was one of our birthdays. When the staff found out, they prepared a huge birthday cake with candles and wheeled it out of the kitchen and sang happy birthday and then some other local songs from the area, which was a lovely experience.

The only very slight negative would be that the buffet food was a little cold and didn't seem to match the high standards of the starters and desserts."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2008
"We thought Ongava Lodge was in an excellent location. The accommodation is to a very high standard and very clean and spacious. It was also great to be able to go for private game drives in the Ongava Reserve during the afternoons and to visit Estosha during the mornings.

Although the breakfasts, lunches and starters and desserts for dinner were good, we felt that the buffet main course did not match the high standards of the other food we ate.

In contrast to the other places we visited, we also felt that the Lodge lacked a visible host/hostess, so whilst our guide was fantastic, we didn't really feel that the atmosphere was as welcoming during the evenings, for example."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 2 Jul 2008
"We had a great stay at Onguma Tented Camp. The tents are incredibly luxurious, as are the communal areas of the camp as well. The Camp is in an excellent location as it enabled us to explore the eastern side of Etosha more easily.

The food served was the best we tasted whilst in Namibia.

The two managers who run the Camp were really friendly and welcoming and looked after us very well. The Camp staff were aware that it was our honeymoon and, after we had dinner, on our return to our tent, we discovered that the staff had lit candles all around our tent and had laid out some chilled champagne and nibbles, which we thought was very thoughtful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2008
"We had a lovely stay at the Bush Camp. On arrival, we were actually upgraded to the Bush Suite, which was absolutely incredible, although by all accounts the accommodation at the Bush Camp was meant to be very good too.

The activities were really interesting as we were able to go cheetah and leopard tracking and the food was delicious.

An excellent end to our holiday in Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Southern Sun OR Tambo, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Southern Sun OR Tambo International review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2008
"A very good airport hotel; ideal to stay overnight when taking an onward flight from Johannesburg airport to elsewhere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Vamizi Lodge

Vamizi Lodge

"Vamizi review"

6 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2008
"We had a superb time on Vamizi Island. When we arrived, the management of the resort had recently changed hands and they seemed to be making various changes.

The food was absolutely delicious.

For the price, we expected the actual accommodation to be a little more luxurious. We appreciate that the beauty of Vamizi is that the accommodation etc is in keeping with the surroundings but some of it was looking a little worn.

The activities were good although when we were there, the usual, larger, fishing boat was out of service and the fishing trips/island day trips had to be conducted on a much smaller, very basic boat, which again, for the price, seemed a little surprising.

These things aside, we found the hosts to be very welcoming and the island itself to be very beautiful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team