This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms D & Mr C from Stockport

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Feedback to Expert Africa

Namibia between 12 Sep 2008 and 29 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was really really great. Tracy was really helpful whenever I phoned and asked for help, she was also always really pleasant and friendly and lovely!

However I do feel that you as a company could give more tips - i.e I asked about what shoes to wear and If i hadn't I would not have taken my walking shoes which I wore 90% of the time _ this is invaluable info. I also asked about hairdryers and washing - invaluable. It would also have been nice to have know how safe it is to pick up travellers or to know about areas to visit on the way. ON the way to MOwani there are loads of villargers on the side of the roads selling there wares, you could visit the Brandenberg mountains _ I feel that because you gave us the Brandt book you thought it was ok but we are such busy people we cannot read the whole book before we go.. a few tips would have been nice and would have made the difference.
I do not understand why we were put in Kulala Lodge as it really didn't fit our spec and we were really disappointed with Swakopmund, we did not feel safe and it was pretty awful really!

Whenever I asked for help and advice Tracy and Sabina in Tracy's absence was great but you could have just made all the difference by adding those bits to your notes for travellers - also bits like how much to tips your guides, how much to tip petrol attendants when they wash your windows or car park attendants etc.

WE did have a wonderful wonderful holiday though so great great thanks to Tracey for organising it all so well."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2008
"Great place for an overnight stay on your first visit/night in Namibia. Very pleasant staff, very welcoming, great food. A very relaxing and enjoyable way to start the trip. Bedrooms very well laid out.

As we arrived and had spare time on the first day it would have been great to know about their spa facilities in advance and I would have booked a relaxing massage or something to start my holiday with."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2008
"Well received in the camp, they already knew who we were, all very organised.
Our guide - ITALY(?!) was very friendly and he made the whole stay worthwhile.
Staff serving at dinner/breakfast always very charming.
Not such a strong presence on the management front, ok and fine but did not feel that were was a strong presence. From what we learnt later in our trip from Ongava about Wilderness Safaris and all the work they do for the community etc I think someone should have been promoting that much more, talking about it more, welcoming guest in much more etc. For such a fantastic place technically it meant that it lacked a 'feeling'.
Did not enjoy the communal dinner aspect at all.
Food generally good bar the deserts on both nights were very poor."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2008
"Unfortunately we were disappointed with Kulala, very surpised we were put here rather than Little Kulala which seemed much more in line with our budget etc.
Food was good but it was very rushed, dinner was over in about 45 mins
They sang at night but noone told us so we missed it the first night!
Manager pleasant but always running around
NOt a a tranquil place at all.
Staff pleasant but a bit distant, talking over the room at each other, there was no sense of calm or serenity here at all
Rooms ok but nothing special which is what we had asked for so felt let down here.
Desert trip - annoying as we kept stopping on the way in so got there fairly late! Our guide Nanguei was very pleasant though all the way through."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"The Stiltz accomodation was quirky and good
It was nice to have a break from the Safari run but really did not enjoy Swakopmund at all!
Why were we sent there?
Pleasant enough staff for a B and B and they were great in helping us book restaurants etc for the evening."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"Now why were we sent to Kulala when MOwani came along - what a contrast!
Lovely lovely staff
Very welcoming
Good Food
Strange that you had to pay for Sundowners! Makes it look stingy! Just include it in the price if you are FBA and get on with it!
Great place!
Mowani is how it is meant to be!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2008
"Excellent!
Cameron and Wendy were the epitomy of excellence in terms of making people feel welcome and at home.
We do not enjoy communal dining at all but they made it warm, welcoming and enjoyable! These comments must go back to them please! The fact that they see you off in the morning, welcome you back from trips, ask you how it went etc.. all fantastic! Alfonso the assistant Manager who we met on the 2nd day also fantastic. They were the absolute BEST when it came to giving the place a feeling, no one had it down to a tee like they did!
Lovely tents - fantastic
Washing done - fantastic
Great great staff!
Really great feel, great welcome ... absolutely full marks!
Even though we didn't see the Rhino's! Have to say though I did not feel safe on the Rhino trekking and with our guide saying we were 50/50 lucky because the lions were near..... not so good!

On the whole Ongava had it down to perfection!
Best homecooked food out of everywhere too!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"Technically the best place for the facilities, room the best, most relaxing place etc
HOwever there was absolutely no presence from a manager which let it down significantly. Sandra who seemed to be charge was absolutely delightful and very very helpful but the place had no 'presence' which was such a let down for it as on location and facilities it was absolutely the best. We had to go to the kitchen ourselves to find staff on 2 occasions.
Very good food.
Staff that were there were very pleasant in deed, really good but noone was really in charge, Sandra was technically but having come from Cameron and Wendy this was such a stark contrast.
Guding staff - Nicholas was great and very friendly but they were very short staffed and all very young - too young really. There was no real maturity across the whole staff spectrum.
Very shocked and disappointed that the staff appeared to not be treated very well, no set days off, no set holidays, manager apparently denied them holidays - all the other places seemed to be 6 weeks on 2 weeks off but not here - Really not impressive at all.
Such a pity because of these points as it would just be totally out of this world if only they had a manager and a presence to give the place some feeling.
For example - other places we were greeted at our car with drinks and cold towels - here we had to find our way in etc etc.
The staff who were there were lovely though - they just needed support!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2008
"Excellent experience.
Dean our guide was just fantastic! Felt very safe with him and he was fun and oh so knowledgable.
Did not really enjoy the communal dining aspect.
Again place was fabulous but no management presence, no feeling that someone owned it and cared for it, just got the feeling that all the staff, who were absolutely lovely, worked there on shifts.
Room was very nice but nothing near as good as the brochure! Shower area a bit out dated now. Considering the brochure I was really excited about this place and as great and lovely as it was it certainly did not match up to the brochure and in terms of accomodation was one of the poorer places but you would not think so from the brochure!
Great experience on the whole because of the cats though.
Thanks to Tracey for booking us for 2 nights so we drove straight to airport on last day, it would have been a shame to have only been there one night and missed out on the activities.
Great activities.
Good food.
Shame that again they are restricitvie in saying you only have 1 drink at sundowner, I only ever had 1 all trip but it just makes it seem so stingy when you are paying so much for your holiday."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team