This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr & Mrs C from W Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

26

Excursions taken

1

Our 2nd trip to Namibia - no disappointments

Namibia between 26 Aug 2018 and 13 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Apart form the problems with the hire-vehicle, we would thoroughly recommend this itinerary for its selection of excellent, if different, lodges in varied environments. The standards of service, excellent food and wines, friendly staff and knowledgable guides were beyond reproach. We rated the Safarihoek Lodge, Etosha Heights as the most luxurious accommodation with wildlife to match in its large reserve, previously a hunting farm. As with all our previous trips with Expert Africa, everything ran very smoothly.

Since our last visit in 2013, the condition of some of the gravel roads has deteriorated quite a lot, and we noted that most other guests at our lodges were driving the Toyota Hilux , a much tougher vehicle that our X-trail. We only met one grader this time and the road approaching Spitzkoppen Lodge and the road from there to Uis were particularly bad. Money (Chinese?) seems to be being spent in upgrading the tarred roads on which we travelled, most of which had already adequate surfaces.

Although you quoted for flights when we enquired, you did point out that we might get better rates elsewhere. We thank you for that, as we were able to fly from Southampton (25 miles from us) to Windhoek via Schipol with KLM for a very reasonable price, without the hassles of transit at Jo'burg - thankyou."

Galton House

Galton House

"A very comfortable guest house and dinner"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2018
"Easy to find, and in a very peaceful suburb.

We were made very welcome with a comfortable and quiet room at the rear. We had dinner here which was excellent, with complimentary sparkling wine to celebrate our Golden Wedding - a much appreciated touch.

We would recommend this accommodation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"An unusual and attractive place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"Well sited at the southern end of town, but within easy walking distance.

We liked the elevated site with views over the marshland and lagoon of the Swakop River, with lots of birdlife, and very convenient for a beach walk.

Very comfortable chalet, and we appreciated the electric blankets when the temperature dropped at night. Good breakfast and helpful staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"We thought we'd arrived at a Star Wars set!"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"Very comfortable cabins and a lovely dining room with fabulous view. The wind dropped at night so our sleep was not disturbed as reported by other guests - ear plugs are provided!

Activities revolve mainly around the scenery - few animals but several bird species, especially around the swimming pool.

Very good hot buffet.

One night was sufficient"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"This was our least favourite camp, unfortunately. The long-standing managers were away and the attitude of the relief manager, particularly towards the staff, was embarrassing. And his opinions on religion over supper were most inappropriate.

It was an unhappy atmosphere, and it was reflected in the walk and game drive.

We had no problem with the relative simplicity of the accommodation, although some matting between the tent and the bathroom would help to avoid bring grit back into bed! We subsequently met the manager at Erongo who is to take over Etendeka later this year, and he empathised with our concerns"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"A lovely lodge with lovely people and game ++"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"We really enjoyed our time here. The philosophy of supporting the local community had great appeal. The spacious main lodge with game viewing from the decks was excellent. Our room was in the original accommodation block and was a bit tired but comfortable.

Game drives were very successful with many species seen and our guide, Samuel, very knowledgeable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Five stars"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"This was very well worth the detour. A new lodge on the escarpment overlooking the Etosha plain. The buildings were beautiful and to a very high standard, with spacious bedrooms with very comfortable beds and a view to the waterhole.

The purpose-built hide by the waterhole (complete with toilets and day-beds!) gave great viewing in a cool and shaded position. The game drives over the vast reserve with Teek found many animals and birds, and we also learned a lot about the geology and history of the area.

As this lodge is new to Expert Africa, we would highly recommend it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"A very peaceful lodge "

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"We welcomed the comfort here to take a day's break from game drives and bumpy roads. There was so much activity at the small waterhole, and a comfortable hide, that we could have spent many more hours!

The tent was very spacious and comfortable with a choice of showers. One evening was a outdoor dinner in the boma, a delicious barbeque under amazing starry skies.

Our table had been littered with petals and ribbons as we were celebrating our golden wedding, a lovely touch, much appreciated."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"When can we return?"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"Having stayed previously at the Plains Camp, this was a totally different experience. Our rondavel was at the edge of the lodge with its own small waterhole. Beside it was a second, smaller rondavel, open to the savannah as a day-room, with beds and refreshments - and birdseed! As if they needed encouragement. Two king-sized beds, thick duvets and floor to ceiling glass made our room perfect.

The food was of a similarly high standard, as was the service.

We did several game-drives with Gert, to see leopard and cheetah, and to learn more of the Africat foundation, which now has a new well-equipped education centre.

The new night hide (only accessible from this Bushcamp) was a must as was walking with cheetahs. We even saw an Aardvark and a Pangolin."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Spectacular situation"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"Our last stop, and after Okonjima this was bound to be less exciting, but nevertheless an enjoyable stay. Comfortable tents, although the beds are quite low to access. The situation amongst the granite boulders is both interesting and spectacular.

The food and the staff were very good.

We set out on what we thought would be a gentle walk with Englebrecht and ended up on the top of a mountain, challenging but with a great sense of achievement.

Plenty of bird species, but apart from hyrax and lizards, few animals."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Kwando Safari

Botswana and 1 other country between 19 Jun 2014 and 2 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a most enjoyable safari, with high standards of accommodation and facilities, including some electricity, without losing the feeling that were were really in the wild.

2370 photos are a testament to what we have seen. Some guides seem to feel that humour is paramount - but we got a bit weary of the same jokes!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, we have had fantastic service, as on our previous trips with Expert Africa. I have said it before, and will say again that other companies can learn a lot from you."

Arranged By Megan Green


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Convenient for the Falls"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2014
"A very good position for walking to the Falls. Spacious grounds with token animals. Brightly decorated room but a little tired and in need of a good clean.

Good breakfast selection, buffet dinner variable. Pool-side menu looked good for lunch."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lions at Lagoon"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"Great "tent" in lovely surroundings. Very attentive staff and super meals. We would agree that the guides are very keen to show predators to the detriment of many other interesting birds and animals. The vehicles were as comfortable as could be expected on sandy tracks. The guide and tracker did tend to talk amongst themselves rather than to their passengers.

We were lucky to see a pangolin during the daytime and it caused great excitement among all the guides.

Our wedding anniversary coincided with our stay, and the staff made it very memorable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Highlight of a three camp safari"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2014
"We saw more game here than at either of the other two camps. Bait (guide) and Borman (spotter) were very knowledgeable and articulate and were very keen to show us a very wide range of wild-life and flora, even astronomy!. Can't praise them too highly.

We were very fortunate to be the first group to see pups emerge at the wild dog dens, and our guides were as excited as we were.

Camp very well run, we felt very welcome and the staff entertained us with singing and dancing in the evenings - and very good they were too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"First visit to the Okavanga"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2014
"It was interesting to stay in a different terrain from the other Kwando Camps. The highlight was the visit to the newly discovered wild dog den with sixteen pups, and we also saw around a hundred elephants on one evening drive.

Like Lagoon, the emphasis seemed to be on predators and we spent several hours on abortive hunts for lions.

The evening river boat trip was very enjoyable, as was the Makoro on the lagoon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

3-week self-drive of Namibia in June 2012

Namibia between 11 Jun 2012 and 1 Jul 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"It exceeded all expectations. Namibia is a beautiful, if sometimes stark, country and we found the people we met most friendly. Without exception, the various accommodations were very good, and in particular, the full descriptions in Expert Africa's printed and on-line brochures very accurate.

Driving was overall a pleasure with empty roads and those with gravel surfaces mostly very well maintained apart from part of the road between Sesriem and Walvis Bay which is fairly rough, but without potholes. I think we saw graders at work every single day. There were no problems with fuel supply.

June is low season (most lodges said their bookings would be full from late July onwards). As a result, with few guests, we received very personal service. Day time temperatures were in the low to mid-tweties C, which was very pleasant, but evenings and nights were cold and many lodges provided hot-water bottles. We were glad that we had taken layered clothing.

Meals seem to have received criticism from other visitors for being boring. We have never experienced such tender and tasty meat (mainly beef fillet, kudu and oryx) although a three-week diet of red meat is not nutritionally recommended! Vegetables were varied, soups delicious and some of the desserts imaginative so we have no complaints.

The standard of the guiding, where we used it, was very high and our experience at Mundulea exceptional.

We never felt unsafe, which can't be said for many other African countries.

So, a perfect holiday - just 1400 photographs to sort through.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I think you are already way ahead of the competition.

Coming to your office to meet with Gwynneth was well worthwhile to get her views, as a Namibian, on our plans. Communication between booking and our departure was good, and as we have found in the past, you actually take note of feedback unlike most other companies.

Please keep up the good work and we shall certainly travel with you again. Thank you or arranging a wonderful holiday."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"A very good overnight stay at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 12 Jun 2012
"Easy to find. Very pleasant welcome and a huge room, quiet and very comfortable. We also had a good dinner here at a reasonable price.

We would recommend this guest house for an overnight stay at the beginning or end of a trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"A very peaceful camp inside the National Park"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2012
"Although there are 24 rooms, there were only four occupied during our three night stay, which meant it was very peaceful.

Comfortable large room with great views towards the dunes. Food was good and cheerfully presented. We felt that a bit more attention to detail would have made our stay even better."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"A very comfortable B&B in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2012
"Easy to find. A very welcoming team, simple but tasteful room and an excellent breakfast.

A good base for activities, choice of restaurants and a short walk to the centre of town or the beach.

We organised a Sandwich Harbour Day Trip from Swakopmund for these travellers. They commented:

"Excellent.

A fascinating day-trip to a beautiful spot.

Our guide, Ernst of Turnstone Tours, gave us a wonderful experience, with a lot of the history of the area, geological factors and the natural history of the sea and the dunes. It was an exhilarating drive along the beach at high tide and we were the only people at our destination. We waded through lagoons and climbed the dunes for a fantastic view. Thoroughly recommended!""
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"A fascinating day-trip to a beautiful spot"

17 Jun 2012 • All-day excursion

Our guide, Ernst of Turnstone Tours, gave us a wonderful experience, with a lot of the history of the area, geological factors and the natural history of the sea and the dunes. It was an exhilarating drive along the beach at high tide and we were the only people at our destination. We waded through lagoons and climbed the dunes for a fantastic view. Thoroughly recommended!
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2012
"We were "upgraded" to Mowani Mountain Camp 5km away along with other guests, because of a fire at Camp Kipwe a few weeks before our visit. As a result, we had expected Mowani to be busy but it was not full by any means. Our thatched "tent" was brand new and very comfortable and well equipped with a gorgeous view. Dining was a pleasure, even if we needed blankets over our knees for dinner as the temperature dropped close to zero at night.

We tracked desert-adapted elephants for hours in a wet mist until the sun broke through and we found around 30 animals in two groups - a wonderful experience. The situation of the camp is extraordinary and a great place to stay in Damaraland.

We organised a morning game drive searching for desert adapted elephants for these travellers. They commented:

"Excellent.

From the Camp, we could see that the valley of the Huab river was shrouded by thick mist. Once we reached the river, visibility was only a few yards and we wondered if our guide would be able to find anything! However, once the sun broke through it was a glorious day and we eventually found two groups of elephants, totalling around 30 animals, which we were able to observe from close quarters.

Much of the journey was along dry and bumpy river bed, and might not be appropriate for guests with back problems. It was also extremely cold for the first hour or so, and good insulating layers are recommended (June)""
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A convenient lodge south of Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2012
"There aren't many placed where your arrival is greeted by a rare black rhino!

A waterhole just in front of the lounge/dining area was always busy with game and birds. Our tent looked straight over the reserve and was simple, with the use of recycled materials in keeping with the camp's green aspirations. Like many of the places we stayed, there were only 2-3 tents occupied which meant we received very personal service. The meals were excellent and varied.

We did not experience the Camp's own activities as we drove ourselves through Etosha, for which the camp, just 5km from the main park gate, was very convenient."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"A comfortable camp for eastern Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2012
"This was another camp with very few guests. A delightful setting in front of a large and frequently visited waterhole, there was lots of comfortable seating from which to watch. Meals were very good and service excellent. The track to the eastern park gate is rough in places but we saw a lot of game on the way including a caracal at close quarters.

Our room was large, simply furnished and with comfortable beds. It being June, we didn't sample the swimming pool, right next to the waterhole."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"An unforgettable experience"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2012
"Previous guests have expounded on the wonders of Mundulea, and we can only add our admiration for what Bruno is succeeding in doing on this vast reserve.

Yes, the tents are simple, but not basic, the beds are very comfortable, the night-sky view from the loo extraordinary, and the wake up calls of the francolins and the babblers something to be experienced. We even had a leopard calling metres from our tent in the night. Bruno's home cooking was the best food we had on the whole trip (and that is saying something). We were the only guests so we had two days of gentle trailing with Bruno and his son, during which we learnt so much about the animals, plants and the exceptional geology of the area, not to mention history and politics! Like many other guests, we have become "poo" experts and we now have to find a use for all our knowledge in rural Sussex!

This is a true bush-camp but with enough of the creature-comforts to make it a wonderful experience for all ages. We could not recommend it too highly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great big-cat experience"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2012
"When we booked this camp as our last stop on a 3-week circuit, we thought it might be the most commercialised and therefore perhaps less enjoyable. Were we wrong! Although the budget end of the Okonjima set-up, it was a beautiful setting and our large view-room with its picture window looking on to the veldt was perfect.

The included activities (cheetah tracking on foot, leopard tracking by vehicle) were extraordinary experiences, and our guides Jonas and Angela thoughtful and knowledgeable. And the night hide gave us wonderful views of elusive honey-badgers and porcupines, including a dramatic fight in which the badger came off worse!

Dinner, although a set menu with no choices, was excellent in all respects.

Okonjima was a perfect end to an amazing holiday"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Unforgettable, unbelievable - unrepeatable

Zambia between 16 Jun 2010 and 28 Jun 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"From our first enquiry (taken by Anna) to our return home, your company's arrangement were faultless and comprehensive. Our bush camp experience exceeded all possible expectations and we would recommend the Bushcamp Company without reservation.
We appreciate that BA is the only airline serving Lusaka, but we would have reservations about flying with them again.

As we have said in the feedback, the Pioneer Camp was disappointing - perhaps there are better alternatives.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We think this feedback form is fantastic. Many times we have taken the trouble to write to other comapanies after a trip, and we never get evan an acknowledgement, and get the feeling they don't really want it. You obviously do. We shall certainly consider travelling with you again, and have no hesitation in recommending you to our friends."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

"Good place to have our first night"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2010
"Very much enjoyed our one night at the Lodge after a long journey. Very comfortable room and great bathroom complete with water monitor lizard!

We enjoyed the informal dining with our guide and manager Ollie, and had a very good first game drive with 12 lions. All the staff were very welcoming and interested in their guests. When we passed through on our last day, we were welcomed back like old friends."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

"An amazing experience"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2010
"Our first experience of a bush camp, and what an experience! Zilla, the acting manager was hospitality itself, and all of the staff were most helpful.

Our room was perfect and we loved the great bath! Our guide Fanuel was fantastic, so knowledgeable and passionate about his subject - we learned such a lot from him. We were the only guests for two of our three days and we really felt we were on a very private safari. Food was fantastic - how do they do it with the logistical problems. Returning one evening to a darkened camp, we were dined on our own terrace under the moonlight - wonderful.

Game a little sparse at this time of the year, but made up for by the wide range of other things we learnt about tracking, plants and poo!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chindeni

Chindeni

"A beautiful situation and very smart bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2010
"We hadn't expected such luxurious accommodation, but we enjoyed every minute of it!

Manager James was a good host, our walks well led by Peter, and all the staff were most friendly. We really enjoyed the special touch of an intimate dining experience on our own deck. The food was excellent, varied and imaginative.

The lack of screening of the bathroom did not trouble us, but it could be a problem with others sharing a room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

"What a magical place!"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2010
"To finish our safari here was perfect. Phil & Babette were charming hosts, and their staff great.

The situation of the camp, its simplicity and the presence of elephant and buffalo within feet of our window at night was unforgettable. We were lucky enough to have Phil guide us on two walks and one drive and it was the highlight of our trip.

Babette's menus were extraordinarily good. The surrounding bush was the most beautiful we had seen and the game amazing - a true Garden of Eden."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"OK as an overnight stop before flying home"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2010
"We had been undoubtedly spoilt with the four previous accomodations, and the Pioneer Camp was a bit of a disappointment. The "luxury" chalets are in need of renovation and refurbishment (damaged blinds, scruffy bedding and towels). Paul the manager was helpful in doing our BA check-in.

The evening meal was more pub than restaurant. It was a bit of a disappointment all round at the end of an otherwise perfect holiday. In its favour it was nearer the airport than the hotels of Lusaka. It is a campsite and looks like one."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team