This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek


33°54’29.4"S 19°7’3.2"E

Reviews of The Franschhoek

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Franschhoek and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

3 nights Arrived 12 May 2017
"Absolutely stunning place. Lovely place. It's a bit close to it's neighbours but overall it's a great place to stay.

You do get away from everything there and the level of comfort well...... You can walk out to most restaurants. They will book whatever you want to do.

Would definitely recommend this as the place to stay." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr V
Birmingham

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2017
"Thought this was an excellent place to stay, with free alcohol and faculties to use (swimming pool). The decor and general maintenance was of a high standard." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Glos

"Convenient but not a great location"

2 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2017
"Our stay at The Last Word was pleasant, it's location in the centre of Franschoek is close to the local restaurants, shops and galleries. Unfortunately the convenience of the location means that there is quite a lot of noise (and at certain times, cooking smells from neighbouring establishments!) and although our room was a Pool Suite, sitting by the pool was not a relaxing experience.

The public areas of the hotel are all very smart and well decorated but unfortunately we found the overall atmosphere of the hotel quite claustraphobic!" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"Franschoek"

2 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2017
"Another 'Last Word' in relaxed luxury in a tremendous location. We will return again if possible!" See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mrs M
Newmarke

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2017
"We were really spoilt here - a luxury room, with our own swimming pool, and turn-down treats, accompanied by the sound of falling acorns bouncing off the tin roof and sploshing into the pool! The breakfasts were particularly wonderful.

Although Franschhoek is a busy little town, the hotel's location was very peaceful - and handy for the charming pizza restaurant next door! A perfect base for walking into the town, and for exploring the many local wineries." See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Room 1 has its own patio!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2016
"Perfect for exploring the the tourist traps of the Franchhoek vinyards.

Another super little hotel where the staff couldn't do enough for you - even sent out for craft beer when I said I couldn't face another ghastly lager!

Be warned - book well in advance for the best restaurants! Eat at Foliage - undoubtedly the best food we ate in 3 weeks, and there was some stiff competition." See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family A
Scarborough

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2016
"Another gem. Will definitely stay there again." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2016
"The Last Word was a little difficult to find but once we got there we were warmly welcomed by Conrad who commented that we travelled very light – with three bags between the two of us we had brought far too much but we weren’t going to contradict him!

The room was huge, with absolutely everything we needed and bathroom enormous. It was extremely comfortable, though we weren’t quite sure about returning from dinner to find pots of crème brulee waiting for us! Breakfast was an extensive spread with cooked available if required.

Franschhoek gets very busy in the South African summer so it is well worth investigating and booking restaurants and/or the Wine Tram beforehand. It’s a lovely little town but there are a lot of tourists so be prepared for queues if you haven’t pre-booked.

This is another place we’re returning to next year!" See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Like The Tardis!"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2015
"The entrance straight off the street was unpromising, but a walk along a flower lined path soon put our minds at rest. The public areas opened out, a lovely lounge in a subtle palette of colours and a swimming pool beyond. Our room was large, well-appointed, comfortable and airy with our own private patio (no views, just a Cape Robin tending its nest!).

Breakfast was lovely and the nightly 'treats' a self indulgent end to the day. The provision of complementary drinks in the room and lounge were a real bonus. The staff were very friendly and helpful with the evening restaurant bookings. There was an excellent map in the room showing the wineries and eateries in the surrounding area.

Franschhoek is very safe to wander and it is a lovely little town with plenty to offer. We enjoyed The Huguenot Museum and the one at Solms Delta where we also had a delicious lunch." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
W Midlands

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2014
"What a little gem!

We loved both the hotel and Franschhoek. Conrad is an excellent host and concierge, booking exactly the kind of restaurants That we like for us for both evenings.

Our room was spacious and comfortable. The only slightly negative comment was the open plan bathroom, with the bath directly opposite the door to the room. I had to remind my husband to keep the door shut on a couple of occasions!" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 24
95%
24 reviews of The Franschhoek by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Winelands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Français is a boutique hotel with beautiful rooms and a great restaurant conveniently located on Franschhoek’s main street.


95% (13 reviews)
La Petite Ferme

La Petite Ferme

A comfortable, elegant guesthouse, La Petite Ferme offers a broad range of accommodation in a stunning vineyard setting.


98% (9 reviews)
Babylonstoren

Babylonstoren

Babylonstoren is beautiful property located on a stunning working wine farm between Franschhoek and Paarl, and is surrounded by vineyards and the Drakenstein Mountains.


96% (5 reviews)
Oude Werf

Oude Werf

Located in the historic heart of Stellenbosch, the Oude Werf is a lovely hotel and a good base for exploring the South Africa’s Winelands.


75% (4 reviews)
Angala Boutique Hotel

Angala Boutique Hotel

Angala Boutique Hotel is a luxurious, contemporary guesthouse in the heart of the Cape Winelands – between Franschhoek, Paarl and Stellenbosch.


100% (2 reviews)
Lanzerac Hotel

Lanzerac Hotel

The Lanzerac Hotel is a historic Cape Dutch manor house and winery that has been turned into an opulent hotel offering some of the regions finest accommodation and first-rate cuisine.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa