This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing

Reviews of River Crossing

Wildlife sightings and reviews

114 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited River Crossing and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 114
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G
Alstonville

"Better than a hotel in Windhoek city?"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2018
"A pleasant spot, just outside and overlooking Windhoek. Nice outlook from the rooms and some wildlife around. Dining was good. No real activities available at the Lodge." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"River Crossing review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2018
"Our first visit here was very pleasant. We enjoyed the location and the food and service. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
CathyO
Glasgow

"Convenient for the airport"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2018
"Great views and handy enough for the airport. food was poor" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs P
Cheltenham

"Great location near the airport."

1 night Arrived 19 Jun 2018
"Lovely staff and they definitely helped us enjoy the last night of our celebratory holiday.

A great location if you're needing a short journey time to the airport too." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
TansySue
UK

"Ideal location near Windhoek airport"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2018
"River Crossing was ideally situated for our last night near Windhoek (and in our view would have been a better starting point for our tour too). It was far less claustrophobic than Galton House. All the staff here were so very friendly and the lady manager even made herself known on our arrival and enquired about dietary requirements which were very well catered for - very impressed.

Our chalet had a small terrace with seating and great views looking out over the bush towards Windhoek in the distance. The room was spacious and comfortable with kettle and tea and coffee. However the bathroom was badly in need of a refurb and whilst the shower was very powerful, the cubicle was in need of a deep clean. It was great to be able to catch up on TV once again but a shame there was no mirror in the bedroom or spare electric sockets which meant hair drying couldn't be carried out adequately.

Food was excellent with Oryx beautifully cooked. At breakfast we ate the best scrambled eggs we had tasted during our time in Namibia. It was also welcoming to find that tea and great coffee was freely available in the restaurant area at any time of day.

With the addition of a mirror in the bedroom and a refurb bathroom I would class this experience as excellent " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
The Rolling Crones
UK

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 31 Jan 2018
"A good final stop in the right place for exploring Windhoek and getting to the airport. The location of the pool was not ideal. There was a large conference going on, which meant that there were lots of people around the pool area, which doubles as a bar area. They were happy to keep our bags and let us change after we had been to Windhoek in the morning and prior to driving to the airport" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Piotr & Glen
London

"Great place to rest after long flights"

1 night Arrived 25 Nov 2017
"River Crossing was a really nice, quiet and friendly place to stop for one night and a good rest after a long flight from Heathrow to Johannesburg and then onto Windhoek.

The cottage was really nice, secluded and thus quiet, and the bed super comfortable, the shower had lots of hot water and the swimming pool in the main house an extra comfort.

The dinner was very tasty indeed and staff very friendly. " See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
W Lothian

"river crossing"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2017
"Perfectly satisfactory.

At last met up with Sabina and her husband Nessa. A delightful couple." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
D & P
Lavenham

"The birds were a wonderful surprise!"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"Great for a one night stopover. Lots of birds.

They now do meals, which were very good, and meant that we could relax rather than going into Windhoek " See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms A & Mr M
Lagos

"Excellent option for first or last night stay"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2017
"We felt this was an excellent option as our first night introduction to Namibia.

I will preface my review (as I will for most) by saying that we had a fantastic trip and therefore almost all ratings from us will be excellent, despite any comments and observations I note that might indicate otherwise. They are simply comments that we felt might improve the experience for future guests or be somehow noteworthy. We were in Africa and there are therefore some challenges and allowances have been made for this.

Almost all were excellent in our opinion, some were outstanding and some other small things we feel could enhance the guest experience.

To River Crossing: Beautiful location, warm welcome, stunning deck with superb views for sunset drinks and morning breakfast.

Personally we had no issue at all with the choice or quality of food (both dinner and breakfast), and found all staff that we interacted with to be personable, accommodating, relaxed and comfortable in their work and around guests. Nicely designed communal area with pool.

Rooms were not on a level with some of the more specialist lodges that we stayed in, however our room was clean and everything provided that we needed for a one night stay.

Wi-fi would not connect for us in the room and was sporadic in the main communal areas. There was a television mounted on the wall in the room but no channels seemed to be programmed. This was not an issue for us as we had no interest in watching television, but in such a beautiful location are they really necessary (maybe for the radio channels?).

We would happily revisit.
" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 114
82%
114 reviews of River Crossing by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
39
52
18
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa