This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing

Reviews of River Crossing

Wildlife sightings and reviews

114 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited River Crossing and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 114
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs G
Northumberland

"Sunset at River Crossing"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2017
"River Crossing was a beautiful and luxurious place to refresh for our last night. It is easy to get to from Windhoek and about 40 minutes from the airport. We were greeted with iced tea and once they had sorted out a tiny mix up with our rooms we were very happy with this lodge. Beautiful rooms, delicious food and the children were all offered an alternative if they didn't want what was on the menu at children's prices. The hotel did have a pool and the children went into it for about 3 minutes, it was extremely cold!

The setting was spectacular and sitting on the terrace in the evening watching the sunset with a little drink topped off our holiday in style.

We did not use guided trips at this hotel but as our flight was later in the day we went to Dusternbrook farm about 50 minutes North of Windhoek and were able to see leopards and cheetahs in a rescue centre but in a natural habitat. The cats come within feet of you so keep your hands in and no loud noises! This was a good place to spend the morning and had a little cafe and pool that we could have used included in the price of our tour. The farm is about 20 minutes drive on gravel sand and over a few little streams so four wheel drive is advised. They are very welcoming to day visitors." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F
Southampton

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2017
"Nice place and helpfully close to the airport. Great sunset." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
J Family
Washington

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2017
"This was an excellent recommendation from EA.

Just the right place after a long overnight trip, and both the facility and out of town location were very welcome. We even returned there on our departure date for a lunch before heading to the airport.

Friendly, super food, nicely situated, and welcoming." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
New York

"OK place to spend a night"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2017
"River Crossing is a fine place to spend an evening on the way to or from the airport.

Everything was clean and nice. We were disappointed that there really isn't much to do here. Despite expansive grounds there are no walking paths.

We wanted to ride horses the morning of our flight home and were told the stable manager was "down in the South."

In short, there is nothing wrong with River Crossing but its a place to stay en route to elsewhere and there is no particular reason to spend more time here than necessary." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2017
"this feels like a lodge miles from anywhere despite its close proximity to Windhoek. An ideal place if you wish to avoid staying in a city environment" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Exeter

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 23 May 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs J
Exeter

"Perfect for arrivals and departures "

1 night Arrived 21 May 2017
"A good spot for watching the sun go down over Windhoek and passing relaxing hours before departure" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"See previous"

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"Good Stop Over"

1 night Arrived 22 Apr 2017
"Lovely setting. Calm after travelling.

Food and dining staff excellent. Other staff what you'd expect from a conference venue.

A really good choice for a 1 night in or out of Windhoek as you don't have to go into town.

Pool is in the middle of the dining area so not very private." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms M & Mr S
USA

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 14 Apr 2017
"Far from the city, so when we wanted to go to Windhoek to walk around, we had to pay an expensive cab fare.

There were also no activities available for us to book to occupy our time. However, hospitality was very good.

The dinner was delicious. The sunset was very pretty. I'm glad we only stayed one night, though." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 114
82%
114 reviews of River Crossing by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
39
52
18
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (100 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


92% (5 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa