This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
River Crossing
River Crossing
River Crossing

Reviews of River Crossing

Wildlife sightings and reviews

114 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited River Crossing and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 114
Duration
Arrival date
A&A
Portland

"River Crossing"

1 night Arrived 26 Mar 2017
"The location is beautiful.

This lodge was chosen because it was closer to the airport than other Windhoek locations.

Staff was very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Swindon

"River Crossing."

1 night Arrived 3 Mar 2017
"If a few things are wrong with a lodge or hotel it sensitises one to yet more problems. This sadly was the case with River Crossing. No help was given or offered to get our bags from the car up the steep steps into the hotel in pouring rain. There were no umbrellas provided so we had to sit and wait for the rain to abate before we could go to our rooms. The paved path stopped at my sons room no.5. A grit path continued towards our room no.6 but the descent to the room was over uneven bedrock, definitely sub standard even for a one night stay. The room itself was fine. The main pathway to the rooms had quite a few small branches (thorny) growing out from the surrounding acacias into the path. So one had to duck and weave ones way along. A man with secateurs could deal with the problem in minutes. The swimming pool was notable for the rich green growth of algae growing on the sides. Oh dear! There was a mini bar fridge in our room. It had a list of it's contents and the prices, why should one have to pay for bottled water? As I was going to bed I wanted some water. Imagine my surprise to find the fridge had no bottles of anything in it, and my total amazement that it's only content was an insulin injection pen for a diabetic! I reported this to the management in the morning they looked shocked and did apologise. The fridge in my sons room turned out to contain one bottle of water. Your website describes the food as fair I think that's about right. I should add that the manageress was very helpful in phoning Wilderness several times to try and find out what time we were going to be collected. And that the staff were friendly and helpful except over our arrival." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Prof B & Mr K
Delhi

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2017
"A superb location with a great view.

The staff stood out for their warmth and humour and helpfulness." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Bucks

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 25 Nov 2016
"Spent an evening there as it is reasonably close to the airport. Pleasant without being very luxurious. Very nice verandah and we had a lovely sunset.

NO real "wow" factor (certainly compared to the safari lodges that we stayed in later)." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs M
Egham

"Good for last night"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2016
"Good for the day before you fly home, there is a nice pool and the views across the hills are wonderful.

Although the staff were friendly, there seemed to be a bit confused at times. Although we didn't want to do any activities, we weren't offered any either.

We had a 5 course tasting dinner with wine - the wine was very nice, but the food was very disappointing, shame as it was our last night." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Ms J from
UK

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2016
"River Crossing could be a great view and location, but it lacked atmosphere.

It was the only place that did not offer a welcome drink, an important touch after a long drive.

I did not feel that we really met anyone in charge and just seemed to exist on the periphery of a conference that was being held there on the day we left." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
buckets
UK

"The River Crossing"

1 night Arrived 11 Nov 2016
"As this guest house was located near the airport, it suited our purpose and was OK." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Dr N
King's Lynn

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Miss M
Margate

"A brief but convenient stay near the airport"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"We only spent one night here on arrival in Namibia - it's location made it a perfect place as it's only a short drive from the airport - the room was beautiful and the setting very peaceful.

Breakfast was great the following morning and then unfortunately we had to head off to our next location" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J
Hants

"River Crossing Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2016
"Not the most pretty set of buildings, but the location is great.

An excellent one-night stop-over before continuing your holiday in Namibia.

Baboons roam freely around the site." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 114
82%
114 reviews of River Crossing by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
39
52
18
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (100 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


92% (5 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa