This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Cheltenham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

Holiday of a lifetime.

Namibia between 5 Jun 2018 and 21 Jun 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was the most special holiday. We cannot thank Josh enough for arranging such a fantastic itinerary enabling us to get a real feel for the country.

His knowledge and the fact that he had experienced places first hand meant that he could really tailor our trip to our needs.

We would definitely recommend a visit to Namibia and our only regret is that we only had two weeks. Driving was very easy, although you're covering large distances, there is always something new around the next corner.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Nothing to improve on!"

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Great starting place for our trip. "

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2018
"Would thoroughly recommend.

Excellent rooms - one of the biggest beds we've ever had.

Lovely food and a blanket provided to keep you warm was a welcome addition."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2018
"Lovely introduction to Namibia as it was our first stop out of Windhoek.

Simple but comfortable accommodation. Very friendly owners and helpers. Great home cooked food.
We saw the mountain zebra on one of our walks but only through binoculars.

Our stay wasn't long enough to do any of the guided activities. We did borrow mountain bikes to ride round one of the flat trails which were all well marked."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert Homestead Outpost

"Fabulous place and in easy reach of the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2018
"Such an incredible place. We LOVED it. Such a peaceful setting and within easy reach of the dunes but a wonderful haven to return to. We wish we could have stayed longer.

The couple managing here were genuine and very helpful. We did have a problem with the windows in one of the rooms which was a shame. They were waiting for material to replace them but it meant that the window was fixed closed which stopped the air flow. The manager sadly thought he'd mended it but it was the wrong room!

We did the trip to Sussessvlei from here with Simon. He was very knowledgable, pointing out lots we would have missed if we'd tried to do the trip on our own and we were very well looked after. The trip even included a picnic on a table at the dunes.

We also went to Desert Homestead to do a sundowner ride. (We were glad we chose "Outpost" even though it was a 7km drive off the main road). The horses were well looked after and the guides who accompanied us good fun. We were glad we chose to do the riding here, as the scenery was lovely and we wouldn't have had the opportunity later in our stay. It did mean we had a busy day, Sussessvlei early and a late ride!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Great place to stay."

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2018
"The accommodation was on the edge of the town. The garden was well kept and it was a lovely quiet spot but easy to walk into the centre from. Friendly and helpful staff. Parking off road but a tight squeeze!

The restaurants in Swakopmund were plentiful. We were pleased that we had pre-booked the Tug which had a great ambiance. We had a drink at the Jetty but it's closed on a Monday, so couldn't go there for our second night. We went to the Ocean Cellar instead which was a lovely upmarket place with fun staff, thoroughly recommended.

Swakopmund had interesting buildings and good restaurants and the landscape is different from all our other stop overs, as you're by the sea and have the opportunity to see the flamingos but there's not much else here. The main reason for our visit was to kayak with seals and that's not to be missed!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"What an incredible experience."

11 Jun 2018 • Morning excursion

Wow! Jeanne has been running these trips for over twenty years and her wisdom and enthusiasm couldn't have been bettered.

All the equipment was top notch and the little extras, such as neoprene gloves, incase you're nipped, most welcome. All VERY well organised.

Her expert knowledge of the local bird life and other wildlife in the area was an added bonus.

A chance of a lifetime and definitely not to be missed.
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Hidden gem!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2018
"What a wonderful place to stay. Our favourite. Nestled in the rocks with expansive views whether you're relaxing outside your room, chilling in the lounge area, taking a sundowner or sitting by the plunge pool.

Lots of staff and nothing is too much trouble. They even treated us to a special meal for our wedding anniversary and a special thank you must go to Stanley for being so attentive and adding to our stay.

Rosie was our guide to track the dessert elephants and boy did we strike lucky! Such an enthusiastic guide and she really did track them, enabling us to get SO close but equally passing on her wisdom as to how to be around them and to not "out stay" our welcome."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Wow, what a waterhole!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2018
"If you want to be able to go to the best waterhole in Etosha, this is the place to stay. A constant flow of EVERY animal, apart from lions although we heard them but even night visits by rhinos.

The accommodation was not as up market as our others but we had clean sheets both nights and it was certainly much better than we had been led to anticipate. The food was buffet style and considering they were catering for masses of people, it was good.

A great location to explore the numerous waterholes near by and of course the opportunity to watch wildlife easily at night without the need for a guide, was fantastic."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Loved the exclusivity."

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2018
"What an amazing place. You feel very close to nature here. The rooms were open (you could have them closed) and the shower outside. With only four rooms it felt very exclusive. You all eat together, so maybe not the right place if you don't want to mix. We were travelling in a four anyway.

The waterhole isn't big but only spitting distance away. We had twice daily visits from giraffe and impala walking under our accommodation which was raised up. Zebras, wildebeest, jackals and springbok also visited and the chatter of birds was constant.

We also visited the waterholes on the Eastern side of Etosha easily from here.

We did a guided night drive around Onguma reserve and felt very privalidged to see cheetah and her five cubs who walked straight towards and around the vehicle! Definitely a highlight to treasure."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Wish we could have stayed longer!"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2018
"What a wonderful camouflaged setting amongst the rocks.

Sadly we couldn't stay longer here as our flights were changed. The food was excellent. The staff very friendly and there are some great walks with super views of the surrounding area.

We didn't see much wildlife apart from the rock hyrax (dassie) which live around the camp but we hadn't seen them elsewhere, so another animal to tick off the list.

Couli took us on a sundowner walk which was included with our trip and as before, a fountain of knowledge, having lived in the area for most of his life."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"Great location near the airport."

1 night Arrived 19 Jun 2018
"Lovely staff and they definitely helped us enjoy the last night of our celebratory holiday.

A great location if you're needing a short journey time to the airport too."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team