This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe

Reviews of Camp Kipwe

Wildlife sightings and reviews

103 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kipwe and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kipwe.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

71% success

Oryx

67% success

Giraffe

36% success

Zebra

33% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 103
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs K
Andover

"Unique, wonderful Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2018
"Our 2 night stay at Camp Kipwe was the highlight of our Namibia trip. Unique accommodation cleverly blending into the rocks; loved the outside bathroom! All the staff were so helpful - a special thanks to Rosie our guide who took us on a magical trip tracking desert adapted elephants.

To be amongst a herd of these magnificent creatures was a dream come true for me. A sundowner atop the kopje watching the setting sun was a truly special experience. Dinner followed outdoors on the wooden terraces and was sublime.

Two members of our group are vegetarians and were catered for superbly. Fantastic stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Cheltenham

"Hidden gem!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2018
"What a wonderful place to stay. Our favourite. Nestled in the rocks with expansive views whether you're relaxing outside your room, chilling in the lounge area, taking a sundowner or sitting by the plunge pool.

Lots of staff and nothing is too much trouble. They even treated us to a special meal for our wedding anniversary and a special thank you must go to Stanley for being so attentive and adding to our stay.

Rosie was our guide to track the dessert elephants and boy did we strike lucky! Such an enthusiastic guide and she really did track them, enabling us to get SO close but equally passing on her wisdom as to how to be around them and to not "out stay" our welcome." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Mr I P
Uk

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2018
"Camp Kipwe is very relaxing venue with a lovely small pool set amongst the rocks. Our room was like a large round hobbit home with a brilliant outside shower and bathroom.

The staff were all superb and we thoroughly enjoyed quality of the food in a super elevated dining room. The bar area and lounge area had a variety of very comfy chairs to while away a few hours. This was one of the best venues for sundowners on our trip and it is definitely worthwhile walking to the top (5 mins) where you will be greeted by the most amazing views.....as well as a bar and staff serving canapés.

The only thing that we feel detracts from this venue is the occasional smell of burnt wood from the wood burners that heat the water for each of the rooms." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Farnham

"A great stay in the great outdoors."

2 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2018
"Everything is geared towards ensuring you have a great stay and nothing is too much for the extremely friendly and helpful staff. The the rooms are perfectly situated but can leave you feeling that you are in pizza oven, even though they have air-con. Nevertheless, the game drive we went on (with the local guide, Willy) was one of the best we have ever experienced!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs E
UK

"Wonderful environment and cam"

3 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2017
"The camp was exquisite, the situation amazing and the staff so friendly and interested. Rooms delightful and we all loved our semi outdoor bathrooms. Public areas were beautiful and comfortable , the sundowner spot amazing and the pool for afternoon siestas really special.

The food was fantastic and service impeccable.

We all really loved our time here and could have stayed longer just to enjoy the beauty of it." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Herts

"Great sunsets from the hilltop viewpoint"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"The accommodation in huts with outside bathroom facilities need to be experienced along with the views and sunsets from the camp.

Great guide for the visits to see the Desert Elephants and Petroglyphs. The visit to the elephants was particularly memorable and during this we had an opportunity to see the magnificent landscape of Damaraland finishing up with a drive up a dried up riverbed where we saw this magnificent Kudu bull.

Just a quick point the C35 was particularly rough, not just because of our problem on that road, the guide at Kipwe commented on it as well." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J & K
London

"We loved Camp Kipwe"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"What a fantastic lodge, cleverly built into the rocks. We were upgraded to the only suite for the one night we were there, which was a wonderful treat. Elevated accommodation with a vast bedroom and lounge area, outside bath with a private view and large decking area. We were hot and tired after a long drive and decided to postpone sightseeing to make the most of it (plus the all inclusive bar) .

The food was delicious, as we found throughout our visit to Namibia. The only thing we would have liked in hindsight was a mosquito net. The mosquitos were a bit pesky despite the insect repellant and 'Doom' spray, and I got quite badly bitten. That aside we would have loved to have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Muz
Colchester

"Camp Kipwe is our favourite place in Namibia"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"a dream location, outstanding food, we want to return as soon as possible" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Camp Kipwe review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2017
"Fantastic lodge amongst photogenic boulders. Room spacious, very helpful and friendly staff" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Cambridge

"Camp Kipwe review"

1 night Arrived 23 May 2017
"Beautiful location and could be great but significant issues with management, staff and service.

I would not recommend visiting until issues are sorted.

I have contacted Expert Africa about the issues." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Showing 21-30 of 103
95%
103 reviews of Camp Kipwe by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
84
16
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (438 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (133 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (116 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (111 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (91 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (51 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (25 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa