This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe

Reviews of Camp Kipwe

Wildlife sightings and reviews

101 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kipwe and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kipwe.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

67% success

Oryx

60% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

30% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 101
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
Seattle

"Wonderful property and people in Damaraland!"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2017
"We stayed for two nights at Camp Kipwe, which is a beautiful property located in Damaraland. First things first, the food was deliciously innovative. The chef curated a menu for each meal that featured unique flavor combinations with local proteins using elements from the on-site garden. For two food-lovers from Seattle, Washington, this really scratched all of the itches we have when it comes to food.

The guide staff were top class, particularly Tafe, who took us on a drive tracking desert-adapted elephants. His knowledge and patience lead to wonderful, close encounters with the elephants. Despite being in the middle of a pack of other tourist groups, he seemed to know when and where to move that kept us away from the herd of tourists and at the forefront of the movement of the herd of elephants. We also went on an afternoon drive with Willy to the Organ Pipers, Burnt Mountain, and Twyfelfontein; he was a knowledgeable guide and was great in assisting our group with any questions or needs along the way.

The rooms were very appropriate for the setting and pretty simple in design. There was an air-conditioning unit in our room, which was essential as it is very hot and there's not much ventilation through the stone room. As hard as it tried, the A/C unit couldn't get the room too cool, making sleep a bit difficult. The outdoor bathrooms are a great touch! However, they didn't feel completely private and the amount of bugs/lizards around made any late night trips to the toilet mildly unsettling. An enclosed shower/toilet option would be a fine addition in the future.

Overall, we had an excellent stay at Camp Kipwe with friendly staff and a sundowner location that is spectacular. Make sure to go up for a tasty drink at the end of each day that you're there!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A&A
Portland

"Camp Kipwe"

1 night Arrived 21 Mar 2017
"The location was beautiful and the buildings were unique. However, we found the rooms to be dark and dreary.

The air conditioning was very underpowered and took many hours to cool the room. A staff member came to look at but told us the air conditioning would cool down much quicker than it did. We didn't like the outside bathroom at all. The door to the bathroom was warped and difficult and noisy to open. Lots of bugs in the outside bathroom, especially when the lights were on in the evening, so it was very unpleasant to use the bathroom. The bugs were still there in the morning.

We suggest that visitors know ahead of time about the outside facilities before booking Camp Kipwe." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C-J
BC

"Camp Kipwe review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2017
"This Camp blends into the rock kopjes perfectly. The plunge pool and loungers are surrounded by kopjes and stunning views. The circular stone accommodations were clean, cool, and unique with an outdoor bathroom which included an amazing view from the shower.

The dining area of the Lodge had outdoor tables with panoramic views and superb food - on par with any top rated cuisine. Considering you are in the middle of Damaraland this is amazing!

We went on both tours. The guide who took us to see the Geological Features, Rock Engravings and the Desert Adapted Elephants was extremely knowledgeable and eager and able to explain and answer all our questions. We were so glad we took the Tours rather than go ourselves. To top everything off we climbed to the summit of Camp Kipwe for the Sundowners to end three magnificent days." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2017
"Superb room and camp. Good food in lovely setting.

One day there seemed to be too many staff standing around doing nothing. The next day there were not enough.

We did not want to see the desert elephants, so there was not much to see or do. However we did go on the excursion to see the rock carvings." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr K
Cinderford

"Camp Kipwe review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2017
"So stunningly beautiful it made you cry. The suite was exquisite. the best accommodation of the whole trip. Beautiful 4x4 desert drives. Desert elephants, bushman art ++. Very hard to tear yourself away from. Whatever pictures you see of this place do not do justice to the reality. I would give the room more than excellent if I could" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Huntingdon

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2017
"I was disappointed there were no guided walks available but took the opportunity to just relax with the lovely views and friendly service. Game drives were available at extra cost but I didn't want more time in a vehicle.

The iigloo style room was very hot and we needed to use the air conditioning (the only time during the entire trip).

The chef was trying a bit too hard to be creative - amuse bouche cold soups were rather odd!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr C & Mr A
London

"Quirky and excellent"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2016
"We loved Camp Kipwe. It was quite a long drive from our previous lodge and some of the roads weren't great but it was a very nice surprise to arrive in such a starkly beautiful location/setting. The rooms/huts are quirky and lovely. The plunge pool is great on a hot afternoon. The sunset from the top of the hill as also lovely.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We went to see the desert adapted elephants with Taffy, who is an excellent guide. He really went out of his way to talk to us about the environment and how things work for the elephants and other wildlife but also for the people living in the area. Kipwe is a great place to spend a few days. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J from
UK

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2016
"Camp Kipwe is an oasis in Damaraland. We loved the camp being within a mound of rocks and the rooms were beautiful.

The bar at the top for a sundowner was also a real treat. the staff were so kind and the food was lovely, particularly the breakfast. It was also nice to have free access to the kitchen and talk with the chefs.

Our trips out with Tafty were a treat. Exploring Damaraland is a an excellent experience as the landscape is so varied and discovering any wildlife in their natural setting seemed a privilege.

One note is that the 'Nature walks' are no longer free." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O
N London

"Camp Kipwe review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2016
"Very comfortable chalets kept beautifully cool in the desert sun. Outdoor bathrooms with breathtaking views of the night sky. Great service and best food that we experienced in lodges across Namibia. Wonderful rock plunge pool." See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
Kornhall

"Blessed with good guides"

1 night Arrived 10 Apr 2016
"Beautifully designed, intimate, well maintained luxury camp, an oasis in the desert among the boulders. Excellent in every way.

Especially noteworthy is our guide on the nature drive, Taffy (not sure about spelling his name). Not only knowledgeable but wonderfully passionate about the area, eloquent and a person fun to be with. Taffy shows and teaches (!) love and respect for the desert adopted Elephants and we are glad vi had the privilege to visit the Elephants with him.

There is just one little remark; When we arrived in the afternoon it was 40 deg. Celsius and not long after there was fire burning by every room. There should be another, cheaper environment friendly alternative to fire to heat the water for showers in the summer; just a black container and/or pipes with water in and the sun would do rest." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 101
95%
101 reviews of Camp Kipwe by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
82
16
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa