This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr H from California

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

1

Perfect

Namibia and 1 other country between 5 Nov 2018 and 26 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"NOTHING WENT WRONG! NOTHING! IT WAS LIKE WE WEREN'T EVEN TRAVELING IN AFRICA!

Seriously! Our itinerary was a bit hectic and a million things could have gone wrong and didn't.
The information you gave us before we left was a God send and prepared us for everything.

Really well done, would recommend your company to everyone.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Nope, just keep doing what you are doing.

Oh, maybe ask if customer wants shared or private safari. I didn't think to ask myself as we are always on a private safari so it never came up in my mind.

Tracy - really stellar job, thank you."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

"Botswana was in the middle of a heatwave"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2018
"Hyena Pan was lovely. Botswana was in the middle of a heatwave that made the tents impossible to be in but thank God for the swimming pool!

Con- Far from game viewing, not sure it was worth it but we got to see wild dogs! All of our drives were outside of the private reserve so quite long to get to and from.

Pro- The staff was amazing and went out of their way to accomodate our requests. We had Russel who was the most amazing guide and really added to our trip. We do hope to keep in touch with him.

Con/ Pro- I think it would have been great if Expert Africa asked if we wanted a private or group safari. This was our first group safari so the time table was dictated to us. That being said we met amazing people, obnoxious people, and hilarious people we otherwise would not have met. Tons of stories to tell :)

Pro- The watering hold at hyena pan bringing the elephants up close and personal.

Pro- We felt away from it all which was nice."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

"Beautiful setting."

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2018
"The managers were present, friendly but not intrusive.

Our guide was not fun at all. Very serious, couldn't joke around, woke us up an hour early for no reason (he forgot we were not going with the others despite telling us our new wake up time).

Absolutely stunningly gorgeous beautiful room! Over the top! Made you want to stay all day!

Again, we were on a shared safari and the folks were very nice but NEVER stopped talking :)

The guides on the boat were awesome, fun and knowledgeable. Very reassuring! Even chased off a hippo!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"hmph"

1 night Arrived 17 Nov 2018
"I am not sure how relevant our feedback is as there was someone standing in for the owners/ managers during our stay. She was very unwelcoming, made us stand in the hallway and just stared at us, then walked into the office and got her key and showed us to the room. Told us not to move the bucket while we shower, so we actually had to straddle a bucket right where you would normally stand?

She was not warm at all, and we did not really feel welcome. She did give us some pointers about our drive and a small quip on where to eat, but the minute we got there we just wanted to leave.

During breakfast, we wanted to sit by the pool and enjoy the view (hence the hilltop). However, they said we could not sit there and sat us at a table on the sidewalk right in front of our door."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Awesome!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2018
"WE loved it! Everyone was so helpful, welcoming, full of smiles. The room was delicious and I personally loved the outdoor bathroom.

They badgered Bidvest to hurry with the flat tire (which was very fast) and continued to follow up and make sure everything was taken care of."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Excellent"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2018
"The owner was no nonsense but thought of everything!

He was very helpful and was always around when needed.

Beethoven is a must and added a lot of character."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2018
"We loved this place! The all day activity was great, our guide was good not excellent. We asked for a wake up call and never got one so were running late. The guide told the staff we were lying? Not a big deal but surprising. By the end of the day, the guide started to smile and laugh but it really took some effort.
The folks we shared a vehicle with really made our stay! So glad we did not have a private tour!
The food was good
The lodge was impeccable
The service was attentive and amazing despite no obvious manager around.
Our guide did an AWESOME job finding a white dancing lady spider and scorpion :). He made us a beautiful lunch too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

23 Nov 2018 • All-day excursion

Awesome! See previous review.
Guide did great with the spider and scorpion
We climbed big daddy
Guide had cold towels and drinks for us at the end.
Did not torture us in 40degree heat to go way down into canyon
Beautiful lunch
Excellent driving
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team