This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

447 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 47 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

51% success

Giraffe

42% success

Zebra

21% success

Brown Hyena

9% success

Wildebeest

6% success

Black Rhino

3% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 447
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs OC
Sheffield

"Beautiful scenery "

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"After the excitement of Etosha, we really enjoyed the slightly slower pace of our time at Doro Nawas, which is .. We really supported the ethos behind Doro Nawas and the ownership model.

The bush dinner was a real highlight. After a number of evenings sat at a table for two, it was actually really enjoyable to sit at a long table and chat to other guests and our hosts. The food was excellent and it was a really atmospheric evening.

We decided to drive ourselves around rather than join the excursion. We thoroughly enjoyed the rock carvings at Twyfelfontein, despite the drive there being one of the bumpiest of the trip. The organ pipes, burnt mountain and petrified forest were a little underwhelming, and the entrance prices for these did feel comparatively a bit high. These attractions cumulatively only took us a morning to see, so we spent the afternoon relaxing and reading. This area could potentially benefit from some walking trails, or Doro Nawas could potentially run some guided walks, just to increase the variety of activities on offer and enable visitors to immerse themselves in the beautiful scenery. Overall we would say there was just enough to justify a two night stay.

This was also the only place where we encountered a large group (20+ Spanish people led by quite a vocal tour guide). They were all very pleasant, but it did change the dynamic slightly as their comings and goings rather dominated the place! It made us realise that the absence of large groups at the other places we stayed was a real positive." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Sussex

"Loved Doro! Nawas"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"This was our first experience of a Namibian lodge and what a fabulous introduction.

The staff were just lovely and very talented singers and dancers too. Arriving at the same time as an American bus tour, we had to manoeuvre for lounger space at the narrow pool, however the chance to cool off was blissful. We stayed only one night but the evening meal in this very special desert environment was a highlight of our trip and never-to-be-forgotten.

In the morning we were up at 6am to pack the car and have breakfast, since we were checking out before going on the Desert Elephant safari with our friendly guide Geraldo. We saw plenty of close-up elephants, ostrich, chacma baboons, giraffes and some distant zebra. A fun first jeep adventure. I also loved seeing a glimpse of the village where Geraldo's little son went to school." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr K
Channel Islands

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2019
"My first time here and well worth the visit.

Just getting the opportunity to see desert elephants up close was worth the trip (possibly some of the worse gravel roads of the trip to get here).

The rooms a big and airy and really clean. The pool was well utilised and the location is excellent for the local gems to be found in this area." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Dr CB & Dr MB
Tring

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"Really nice lodge with great staff and an amazing view.

I'd like to stay there again and again!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

P & B,
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2019
"Absolutely wonderful.

Our guide, Immanuel, was brilliant and such a lovely person.

We loved the singing and dancing by the staff and still have the bye-bye song running through our heads." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Mrs C.
Blauzac

"A stunning position, and great experiences"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Another wonderful lodge.

Rooms were fantastic with great views. Spacious, good showers - indoor and out. Staff were lovely greeting us with a song. We were taken to dinner out in the dessert which was totally unexpected. The table was beautifully set with candles everywhere - totally magic. We loved drinks round the fire in the lodge in the courtyard.

The guided drives were amazing with the guide doing everything to find us éléphants. We could get really close. He found the most wonderful spot for our sundowner.

One of the highlights of our trip." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Mr D.
Hartfield

"Really good"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Great location, slept under the stars, found those elephant So!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Eve& Reuben
Bozeman

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
"An interesting lodge perched like a Scottish castle on the rocks. The food varied between as good as we experienced anywhere on our trip to better than just OK.

Seeing the desert elephants was interesting, but seeing how the locals were dealing with the drought was for us even more interesting.

A high point here was the singing as we arrived, as we were finishing our dinner and again as we were leaving. Could have wished more lodges did this.

(An afterthought. On our way to Doro Nawas you directed us to take route D2612. This road at the time was the worst by far of the roads of our entire trip, courduroy reduced our advance to a crawl. Later we found C35 no less scenic and much better. We found the Twyfelontein rock carvings most interesting and guide so well informed. Strongly recommend this to certain clients. The bing museum of Damara was good, the petrified forest and burnt mountain much less so.)" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mike
Oxford

"Fortress on the hill"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"After some fairly exciting gravel driving the fortress like Doro Nawas suddenly appeared perched on a hill ahead. We were welcomed by the staff/team singing a lovely song in reception - very memorable. Another huge room with stunning views over the surrounding landscape.

The first meal was the 'bush-dinner' involving a walk out to a hidden area lit with dozens of candles and a couple of flaming fire pits (very welcome as it was cold)!! Singing and dancing by the team was most enjoyable. Then back to find we had hot-water bottles in our beds!!

Elephant Safari - the desert elephants were fantastic. Having the time to watch them roaming along the valley and eating Acacia was brilliant. For huge animals they can be very delicate. Coffee and cookies was very welcome. Bernard told us about the dangers of Euphorbia and showed us how to make a whistle from the Mopane leaf. Giraffe and Ostrich also spotted.

Whole staff team lovely and before we knew it we were listening to the farewell song!!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Mrs L.
Leatherhead

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Showing 21-30 of 447
93%
447 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
326
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (139 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (117 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (110 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (93 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (31 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa