This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge

Reviews of Grootberg Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

97 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Grootberg Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Grootberg Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

85% success

Giraffe

62% success

Oryx

58% success

Black Rhino

50% success

Elephant

18% success

Spotted Hyena

13% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 91-97 of 97
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Erin

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2008
"We adored Grootberg Lodge. The setting is stunning, the chalets are full of character and the atmosphere relaxed. The range of activities was impressive, as was our guide Tobias. Given the remoteness of the location and the time needed to get there, we would recommend three nights here. You will not be disappointed!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sparrowhawks
London

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2008
"We really enjoyed this place immensely.

The setting is breathtaking, the staff were extremely friendly and the food was excellent.

We spent a great day elephant and rhino trekking (with success!) and would definitely recommend this.

The view from our room and from the main lodge building is stupendous, and will forever be etched in our memories." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Mrs V
Kent

"Staring down the valley at Grootberg"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2007
"We fel privileged to have stayed at this location. Everything from the 4x4 service up to the lodge, the accomodation, the view from the room, the service provided by the staff, food and drink cannot be faulted.

Elephant tracking in the morning was good fun, well-handled and very informative but we would reccomend anyone to take the afternoon drive into the valley where abundant game is on display { we understand the area has/is being gradually restocked both in the valley and the neighbouring conservation area}. Again the guide was very professional and informative.

A place we would be happy to revisit." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Norman

"grootberg lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2007
"does the road up from the pass really need to be that bad? - a bit unnerving even when driven by the staff.

extremely friendly and willing staff ( the entertainment by them was really nice ) , and the villa and facilites were very good. food good ( though perhaps someone should mention to the waitresses that carrying the plates horizontally might stop the food sliding to one half of the plate on the way to the table !)

went on guided walk into valley which was good.

only negative for us was the misfortune to be in a villa next door to a family with two children on the second day. as the lodge is so peaceful and quiet, the noise was very intrusive.
lovely dog." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Suffolk

"A real highlight"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2007
"A wonderfully positioned and interesting lodge with a warm welcome. We hope there will be many more commmunity enterprises like this in the future. We learned much more about contemporary Namibia by speaking with the local staff and guides than in any place we have stayed before and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience in terms of the hospitality and interaction with the local community as well as the natural delights on offer.

Good opportunities for walking and an excellent guided walk to the Klip Springs in the valley was a highlight. Informative and helpful guide made for a fulfiling experience and all in all we didn't want to leave!

The food was excellent and charmingly served. A truly memorable stay all round." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Heathfield

"EXCELLENT HOSPITALITY AND FACILITIES"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2007
"WE WERE TREATED AS GUESTS AT SOMEONE'S HOME. THERE WERE HOME-MADE BISCUITS TO HELP YOURSELF TO AND STAFF TO CHAT TO.

THE SCENERY AND LOCATION WAS WAS BREATH-TAKING, ACCOMODATION PROBABLY ONE OF THE BEST WE HAD. SO MANY SMALL ATTENTIONS TO DETAIL AND PERSONAL TOUCHES IN THE ROOMS THAT MADE OUR STAY SPECIAL.

WE NEED LONGER THERE.

WE WEREN'T SURE ABOUT LEAVING THE CAR AND BEING TRANSPORTED IN THE LODGE VEHICLE TO THE LODGE, BUT OUR CAR WAS WELL LOOKED- AFTER AND WASHED!!

THE STAFF SEEMED GENUINELY TO ENJOY BEING THERE.DOMINIC WAS A GREAT MANAGER." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
London

"What a delight"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2007
"From the moment the staff at the foot of the mountain met us we sensed we were onto something special.

They started by fixing our tyre then swept us up to the lodge where Domonic and his team gave us a very warm greeting.

The location is stunning and the little stone bungalows with their wood fire water heating systems charming. Above all the staff, mainly drawn from the local community, glowed with the pleasure of their work. Our disappointment was that we only had one night with them. Two or three nights should be suggested.

It's a great initiative and we wish it every success.

It will be one of the first places we will recommend to friends." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 91-97 of 97
92%
97 reviews of Grootberg Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
66
22
9
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (470 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (152 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (122 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (116 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (115 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (115 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


83% (54 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (38 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (36 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


82% (9 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


97% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


95% (4 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa