This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D from Norman

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

namibia in 10 nights

Namibia between 12 Oct 2007 and 24 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Good
"namibia is a great country , lots to see and with lovely people. standards are pretty high and services are reliable. as a place to go in africa it has to be one of the best overall in terms of sights ( and animals ) coupled with being very safe and easy .
highlights were of course etosha damaraland and the desert , but we were happy to visit swakopmund along the way , despite watching the rugby world cup final with 200 springbok fans !!

we had only limited time available , and 10 days was possibly a bit short for the travelling involved , and also because much of the accomodation is so good that the odd day of doing nothing would work well in the midst of taking in the sights.
we enjoyed it and would definitely go again - and recommend it to friends.

we do think you need to look at the car hire advice . accepting that the car chosen did the job without any problems as such ( and we saw a lot of people using similar cars ) , it would improve the trip to be in a bigger car or possibly a 4x4- as long as it is driven no quicker or differently. there is clearly a cost implication , but relative to the overall cost , this would be good value. on reflection , should have spent more time discussing this issue with Tracy beforehand .

the issue is really one of comfort and relaxation. we are experienced travellers who have driven in south america for example , and where you are so far from the next garage / farm / person , there is a sense of vulnerability - even if this is a little misplaced in reality. a more substantial vehicle would reduce this. also , the roads are variable - mostly good , but then very rutted for say 10 / 20 km. this makes the ride uncomfortable and also makes timings a little difficult. we found C roads were better than D , but not consistently so.

your experience is of course greater than mine , but my advice to friends will be to go down the suv or 4x4 route where driving more than 3 hours per day.

not to end on a negative note , however , we loved namibia and received excellent service from everyone - including of course Tracy."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"waterberg wilderness"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2007
"good first night stop. decided against organised activity and went for local walk instead, which was ideal after flight / drive.

freindly welcome. good room.

communal food was some of the best we had on trip.

after dinner drinks on terrace for another hour would have been nice and appreciated by others as bar in resturant not so good. good advice from staff on routes for next day."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"onguma plains"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2007
"one of the most stylish hotels we have stayed at - particularly villa. air conditioning a very welcome indulgence.

room and communal areas excellent. good welcome, and staff - whilst still training in some cases - pleasant. food well presented, but only average compared to other lodges.

activities a little disappointing in terms of animals seen, although not for lack of effort by guides . the afternoon drive was too late, arriving back just before dinner . needs to be shorter or start earlier.

separate email sent concerning these activities as confusion over whether or not included in the package."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"okaukuejo restcamp"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2007
"better than expected - the villa was very good , and the waterhole such a big plus that this outweighs what the restcamp may lack in comparison with private lodges. food options and quality average at best , but staff friendly.

if travelling from lodge to lodge as we did, having one night in a much more touristy environment is quite a good contrast. would recommend this stop in any itinerary."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"grootberg lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2007
"does the road up from the pass really need to be that bad? - a bit unnerving even when driven by the staff.

extremely friendly and willing staff ( the entertainment by them was really nice ) , and the villa and facilites were very good. food good ( though perhaps someone should mention to the waitresses that carrying the plates horizontally might stop the food sliding to one half of the plate on the way to the table !)

went on guided walk into valley which was good.

only negative for us was the misfortune to be in a villa next door to a family with two children on the second day. as the lodge is so peaceful and quiet, the noise was very intrusive.
lovely dog."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze Guesthouse

"sea breeze"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2007
"we have stayed in more upmarket hotels than this one, and have rarely received the help and service provided by Heike ,who sorted out taxis and resturant bookings for us.

room and facilities good - having a bath was a real bonus. breakfast OK"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"desert homestead"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2007
"sister to grootberg lodge and similar experience - this was a bit more polished, but also slightly less charming - if you do not ride , then you get less attention from management. villa very good and communal areas and food excellent.

received good advice on making our own trip .

two lovely dogs."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team